Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th February 2007, 13:27   #1
kenwoods
Member
 
kenwoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
My Media Library was erased after installing Winamp 5.33...

I've backed up the ml directory (that is in plugins directory) and after I've installed Winamp 5.33 the media library didn't exist anymore (it was empty), so I've switched back to 5.32 and copied the backup of ml to the ml directory.

and still the media library doesn't appear!!!

what have I done wrong!?!?

Thanks!
kenwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 14:25   #2
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
What OS are you using?

You might have installed with multi-user support, which means that your database is now stored in c:\document and settings\<your username>\Application Data\Winamp\Plugins\ml
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 14:27   #3
kenwoods
Member
 
kenwoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Vista...
not using the multi user support...
kenwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 16:26   #4
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
Reinstall Winamp, select the Multiple user support option.
Juanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2007, 16:40   #5
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
If you installed 5.33 beta, it uses multi-user settings by default. This is because Vista disables write access to the Program Files folder by default.

You can copy the old metadata library database manually from c:\program files\winamp\plugins\ml to c:\users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Winamp\plugins\ml
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2007, 11:16   #6
kenwoods
Member
 
kenwoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Thanks...

The new winamp also duplicates several songs in the Media Library...
kenwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2007, 15:53   #7
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Do the filenames of these songs have non-English characters in them?
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2007, 16:19   #8
kenwoods
Member
 
kenwoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
All of the filenames are in English
kenwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2007, 16:44   #9
kzuse
Senior Member
 
kzuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: (D)
Posts: 480
Send a message via ICQ to kzuse Send a message via Skype™ to kzuse
Interesting thread.
Quote:
If you installed 5.33 beta, it uses multi-user settings by default. This is because Vista disables write access to the Program Files folder by default.
I don't use (and don't plan to use) Vista. Is it possible to install Winamp 5.33 without multi-user support with the ML in the Program directory (as it was with previous versions)? That would be great!

(I don't want to install the beta to test it, I'll wait for 5.33 final )

Best regards,
kzuse
kzuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2007, 21:01   #10
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
You can still choose in the installer, if you want multi user support or not under Windows XP and below. Just under Vista, the multi user settings are forced, because of compatibility issues with Vista.

So it's all like before.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2007, 22:46   #11
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by kzuse
Interesting thread.


I don't use (and don't plan to use) Vista. Is it possible to install Winamp 5.33 without multi-user support with the ML in the Program directory (as it was with previous versions)? That would be great!

(I don't want to install the beta to test it, I'll wait for 5.33 final )

Best regards,
kzuse
I should have been clearer. It only forces multi-user on Windows Vista.
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2007, 15:29   #12
kzuse
Senior Member
 
kzuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: (D)
Posts: 480
Send a message via ICQ to kzuse Send a message via Skype™ to kzuse
Okay, I see. That's fine
kzuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 01:38   #13
Antaeras
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Antaeras
Is it possible to disable multi-user for Windows Vista, if you enable access to Program Files?

test everything. hold on to the good.
Antaeras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 01:46   #14
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
I guess it's forced to fix compatibility bugs and for being noob friendly.

Vista wants that programs save their settings in the new place, so other applications will be updated to save their settings in the new place too.

You've decided to use vista, so you have to live with multi user settings.

Also it won't make any sense for me to save the settings in the program folder under XP/2000/Vista.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 01:46   #15
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you'd have to remove the paths.ini file in the winamp directory to disable the feature

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 11:39   #16
kzuse
Senior Member
 
kzuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: (D)
Posts: 480
Send a message via ICQ to kzuse Send a message via Skype™ to kzuse
Since I always distribute my Winamp installations over my 4 PC's by installing it only on my main machine and then simply copying the whole Winamp\ folder (including the ML), it really *does* make sense for me that Winamp is able to store its settings and the ML in its on program folder also in the future!

I know that sounds somewhat strange, but that works very good for me for years! (since 2.x or so...) The only thing I have to do is moving the window's to the right place because of different screen resolutions on the PC's but that's all.

So, what I wanted to say is just, it would be great if it could continue to work this way. ^^
And as I understood the previous posts, it does (at least for XP). Thanks!

Best regards,
|<zuse
kzuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 01:01   #17
aperture01
Junior Member
 
aperture01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 45
Send a message via ICQ to aperture01 Send a message via AIM to aperture01
I was using 5.32 without multiuser ability in Vista, so I don't see how it doesen't support it. Although I suppose a mutli-user environment makes a bit more sense though.

EDIT I guess that's what happened to me too I suppose I can just copy my entire folder over. to the user directory.
aperture01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 09:08   #18
kenwoods
Member
 
kenwoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
The duplicate filenames problem is still present even in the final version (I've restored the old Media Library and rescanned the watch folders)
kenwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 18:32   #19
jamesl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to jamesl
Microsoft, Apple, nor the Linux groups want you to do that. Alot of companies have finally started adapting to the application data folders instead of program files, that was added in 2000/ME I believe. If not, I know it's there from the get go in XP. As for Mac and Linux, this has been being done for years. The only downside to the restrictive access, is you probably can't manually install your old apps, like I tend to do. :]
jamesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 18:38   #20
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the appdata feature is sort of available on win9x systems but true support has been part of all of the NT bases OSes i believe (not sure on the level of support in NT4 but it'd have to be better than win9x's since that can handle proper user logons). and yes, since XP there has been a push to make things work more in a per-user manner, just vista is more anal in it's enforcement of the option (which will affect a lot of the older and still a fair few of newer winamp plugins which still don't follow the multi-user apis which is shameful since that's at least a year old now :/ )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 18:41   #21
jamesl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to jamesl
Truth be known, Microsoft should have been smart enough to put a feature that allows a process running in said folder to access that folder freely. Microsoft only gives what the people want, and not the needs behind those wants. "Sure, we'll give you virus protection, but you never said it had to be smart and not annoying".
jamesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 21:37   #22
shaneh
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,193
Another reason to allow use of the program files (or custom) directory is to share the database between users on the same pc. An option to have it in the 'shared documents' or custom directory could be nice. But maybe thats already possible with a bit of .ini hacking and multi-user support.
shaneh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 21:53   #23
jamesl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to jamesl
There's already that setup. Along with the other users, there's an All Users folder, that gets parsed in with the other folders during file operations, or so I believe. If not, support will be there soon.
jamesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 21:55   #24
jamesl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to jamesl
Actually, otherwize, if not, Vista has GUI-Based file linking, doesn't it? (Those blue files/folders that clicking takes you to another place). You could just put a link in EVERY users folder!
jamesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 20:02   #25
toodles
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: orange county
Posts: 26
im curious i run vista and i went to the %appdata% dir then to winamp and such but after i search for my media library and it adds all my songs what does it save the file with the searched songs and library to?
im used to foobar and if i wanted to delete the media library stuff there was a database.fcl file i could delete then all the searched songs could be removed from foobar.
toodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump