Old 3rd May 2003, 01:55   #41
667
Member
 
667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to 667
Mine sucks major ass, but if you must know...

Old one: PII 233 mHz 2GB (skinning computer)
New one: PIII 550 mHz 20 GB (internet computer)
My father's house: PIII 650 mHz 9 GB

Now, a few questions...
1) Bilbo, is that Calvin in your avatar?
2) Gotta love your avatar, Gogitta.
667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2003, 03:31   #42
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
Quote:
Originally posted by Merlin
... Damn, what a tragic name.
LOL!
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2003, 08:43   #43
Neksus
Senior Member
 
Neksus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 250
Here goes my laptop is:
AMD Athlon XP Mobile 2000+
Radeon IGP Onboard with 16/32/64/128 MB
512 MB Ram
30 GB Harddrive
It is a Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo A!
My other PC is in my sig!!
Neksus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2003, 09:24   #44
EnDurA
Major Dude
 
EnDurA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: East Coast of Aus
Posts: 1,467
ok i got a

AutenticAMD
AMD Athlon XP 1800+
256MB RAM
55.8 GB hard drive, i've used 11.8 GB
1 CD ROM 52x max
2 floppy drives to make it look pro
EnDurA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2003, 12:06   #45
ertmann|CPH
Forum Viking
(Forum King)
 
ertmann|CPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The North
Posts: 3,541
AMD Athlon 1GHz
MSI K7T Turbo 2 Mobo
512 MB PC133 SDRAM
2 x 15 GB Maxtor Diamond Maxx 60 in Raid
Seagate Barracuda IV 40 GB
Asus Geforce 2 MX-400 (32 MB) tv out
Realtek Network card
Real MPEG decoder, Sigma Hollywood +
8x Pioneer DVD - slot in
32x/2x Sony CD-R (caddy)

Sony HMD-400 17" Trinitron Monitor

Dual boot: WinXP Pro UK SP1/Linux Redhat 9.0

2mbit DSL
ertmann|CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2003, 14:24   #46
Bingo hanZ
Registered User
 
Bingo hanZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to Bingo hanZ Send a message via Yahoo to Bingo hanZ
AMD

Used my AMD 450 MHz 128 MB PC-100 RAM machine 'till it began shutting down every 2 minutes.

Went out and bought an AMD 2000+ and a piece of DDR RAM the next day. So now WinAmp3 runs much better!

What happened to my old PC?

Boycott Intel! They are evil!

BTW: I still use my Voodoo3 gfx-card, my Hauppauge TV-card and SoundBlaster Live! card... why not?
Bingo hanZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2003, 15:03   #47
cooky560
Major Dude
 
cooky560's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Around
Posts: 1,181
Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560 Send a message via Skype™ to cooky560
1600 AMD Thunderbird
512Mb DDR Ram
3x 80GB Harddisks (lots of storage)
Nvidia Geefore 2
On board sound
20x DVD
24x12x24 CD-rw
Win Xp pro
cooky560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2003, 05:16   #48
BMWboy
Registered User
 
BMWboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: next the the guy that lives over there
Posts: 1,360
1200 AMD overclocked to 1333Mhz
768 MB PC133(3x256)
GeForce MX200 32MB
120GB HDD and 40GB HDD
12x CD-R/RW, and a DVD drive(forgot the speed)
15.1" Compaq TFT5010 flatscreen monitor (mmmm...no screen flicker)

when I put it inside of my dad's car, It will do 0-60 in 6.3 sec, and top out at 138mph(damn limiter)
BMWboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2003, 06:20   #49
Shock Value
Senior Member
 
Shock Value's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 158
Quick specs:

Dell 8250
Intel P4 2.4Ghz
512MB RDRAM
ATI Radeon 9700 Video Card
Creative Audigy 2 Sound Card
60GB HD
DVD/CDRW 48x

Great for playing games on. Got an awesome deal on it too (it's refurbished).
Shock Value is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2003, 08:40   #50
nierke
Senior Member
 
nierke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 295
PIII 533
256MB RAM
nVidia GeForce 4 MX420 64MB
some kind of sound card I'm not sure (4 channels output)
20GB HDD
Lite-ON CD-RW 48x24x48x
LAN card 100MB/s

...:::nierke:::...
nierke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2003, 03:45   #51
DEATHTRON
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
My machine

Heres what i use, i built it myself, it allows for complete custimazation for alot less
antec case with window and metallic blue
p4 2.4
seagate 17 gig (ya i know, only 17 gig)
512 ram
disket drive
internal zip
dvd
cdr
geforce 4
and of course, what makes my machine good is the twin neon light tubes and 3 led fans, makes for a wicked glow.
DEATHTRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2003, 14:27   #52
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
im gettin me a shuttle small form a factor pc at christmas!
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2003, 17:03   #53
mepossy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 122
so whats better AMD chips or Pentium chips?
mepossy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2003, 17:06   #54
mepossy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 122
Are AMD chips bought because of its OverClocking capability?
mepossy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2003, 17:24   #55
m0e
This Space For Rent
(Major Dude)
 
m0e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The great north wasteland of the States
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via ICQ to m0e Send a message via AIM to m0e Send a message via Yahoo to m0e
Quote:
Originally posted by mepossy
so whats better AMD chips or Pentium chips?
Depends on what day it is.
m0e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2003, 20:25   #56
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD AMD



!!!!!FACT!!!!!!


an athalon xp 3000 beats a pentium 4 3ghz even though it has a lower clock speed!
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 21:52   #57
matthewtwood
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 60
AMD Athlon Palomino 2100 @ 1733Mhz (133Mhz FSB)
512MB DDR RAM @ 266Mhz
40GB HD but upgrading soon due to insatiable appetite for MP3s and ... um ... other stuff I got from the net
Pioneer DVDROM
LiteOn 48/40/12 CDRW
NVidia Geforce2 MX400 with 64MB RAM, so SLOW! Must UPGRADE! Want GeforceFX or whatever its called.
Crappy crappy Via motherboard which makes just about any hardware look crappy anyway

Does a SETI unit in 3hr 20min, all attempts at overclocking have so far failed miserably. It ain't stable with FSB over about 138, thats only about 60Mhz increase, aint worth it!

(edit)Your machine gonna rock SNYder! 3+Ghz! 256MB graphics! 800Mhz FSB!!! I want! (/edit)
matthewtwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 21:55   #58
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
why the hell did you revive this

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 22:01   #59
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
Quote:
Originally posted by Merlin
... Damn, what a tragic name.

ROFL, gimme one of those piggies please
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 22:04   #60
neversun
Banned
 
neversun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: 12 inches from the monitor
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally posted by mepossy
How Fast is Your Computer???
That depends on if i'm running winamp 3 or not.
neversun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 22:05   #61
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
3.06 GHZ Pent. 4
1024 mb
250 gb
128 mb DDR-SDRAM
with Dvd-CD RW
On DSL 488 Mb. Currently!!!
Audigy 2 soundcard!
*whew*
Thank God, someone else paid for it!
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 22:11   #62
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
I'm bottlenecked by my video card nowdays.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6585416

Time for a radeon 9800pro or an FX5900ultra.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 22:12   #63
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
OS: Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 1
Memory: 256MB DDR PC2700 (I need more )
Monitor: 19" Hansol at 1600x1200 32bit 75Hz
CPU: AMD Athlon XP Thoroughbred 2400+
HDD: 80GB Maxtor
Sound: Audigy 2
GFX: Geforce 4 Ti 4200
DVD Drive: Liteon 16x
CDRW: 48x12x48
Keyboard: Windows Office Keyobard
Mouse: Wireless optical
Speakers: 4.1 system
Webcam: Dexxa something or another (Logitech basically)
Mouse mat: Blue and big
Dirt on mouse mat: yes

Last edited by apollos; 10th June 2003 at 23:10.
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 22:15   #64
neversun
Banned
 
neversun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: 12 inches from the monitor
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally posted by Apollos
Dirt on mouse mat: yes
O_o... what kinda 'dirt'?
neversun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 22:35   #65
dylman
Forum King
 
dylman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawarden
Posts: 2,115
Quote:
Originally posted by matthewtwood
AMD Athlon Palomino 2100 @ 1733Mhz...
all attempts at overclocking have so far failed miserably. It ain't stable with FSB over about 138, thats only about 60Mhz increase, aint worth it!
The Palomino core was maxed out with the 2100+. It's practically impossible to get a meaningful overclock with it, so don't feel bad.

There's no need to tell me when I'm right;
I operate on that principle exclusively and with absolute certainty
dylman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 23:01   #66
Merlin
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
(Forum King)
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,209
Well, if you wanted the whole specs, you should have said.

Asus A7v8x mobo (with the extra firewire and usb2.0 ports bracket, and the gigabit lan ())
XP 2200+
256MB DDR-2 (I'll get me a second, identical, stick sometime)
80GB Maxtor Plus9 (free space: 49GB, 62%)
MS Internet keyboard
Logitech optical wheel mouse (sucks, the wheel is too light so it flicks back up in a really irritating way. The packard bell one I use with my laptop is perfectly balanced)
17" Samsung monitor, dot pitch 0.23
cheap Geforce2 MX graphics card
Hercules Fortissimo III 7.1 sound card
Sony 48x24x48x CDRW.


as he faced the sun, he cast no shadow
Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 23:06   #67
prodangle
Major Dude
 
prodangle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Scotland
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally posted by s0be

Feckin' physicists!!! Always have to complicate things. It's easier for me to believe the world is flat. I like it that way, now shaddap!!


My computer is a billion and two hundred million hertz fast!!
It has two billion, one hundred and forty-seven million, four hundred and eighty-three thousand, six hundred and forty-eight bits of memoryness in it!!!!
I've also got just under 3 trillion arrangements of iron filing on my hard disk, I cunningly use each one of them to represent a single bit of memory. They all spin round really quickly too
prodangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2003, 23:08   #68
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
Quote:
Originally posted by neversun
O_o... what kinda 'dirt'?
dunno, probably a few crumbs from the sandwich I had earlier
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 03:17   #69
oNaMiSsIo
Major Dude
 
oNaMiSsIo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The box they keep me in
Posts: 1,115
Send a message via AIM to oNaMiSsIo
am i going to have to post the pic again? [edit] sigh.[/edit]

My advice is to start drinking heavily. - John Belushi, Animal House

Last edited by oNaMiSsIo; 11th June 2003 at 04:06.
oNaMiSsIo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 04:01   #70
Viper007Bond
Major Dude
 
Viper007Bond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland, OR Life: None
Posts: 1,054
Send a message via ICQ to Viper007Bond Send a message via AIM to Viper007Bond Send a message via Yahoo to Viper007Bond
Got this back in August, so it's starting to kinda be a slow system.

Pentium 4 2.4 GHz w/ 533 MHz Bus
768 MB DDR SDRAM @ 266 MHz
64 MB (WAY too small!) nVidia GeForce 4 TI 4200 w/ TV Out
80 GB (also way too small) Wester Digital HD @ 7200 RPM
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Audio Card
40x/10x/40x CD-RW Drive
16x or something like that DVD-ROM

and a bunch of other crap.

It cost me around $1700 at the time. (I could spent about $1200 to build the same system, but I wanted to be 100% it wouldn't fuck up and not work for collge. I'll build my next one now that I have this to fall back on.)

- Viper007Bond | Viper007Bond.com

Last edited by Viper007Bond; 11th June 2003 at 05:56.
Viper007Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 05:32   #71
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
Eh... quick specs:

Hewlett Packard Pavilion 504n
2ghz Intel Celeron
512megs DDR
Samsung 40gig master HDD
Western Digital 80gig slave HDD
Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2
Generic CD-RW drive
Generic CD-ROM drive
External USB Zip250 disk drive

And of course the usual... Floppy drive, six USB 2.0 ports, integrated 10/100 Ethernet port, integrated video*, MS Intellimouse Optical, HP multimedia keyboard, 17" CTX monitor.


*That is, until I can find a good PCI video card. This machine doesn't have an AGP slot.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 05:37   #72
DragonSon
Fears the boots
Forum King
 
DragonSon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,445
Pentium 4 2.4 GHz
512 MB of Ram
DVD-R
CD-R

That's about all I can remember. Cost me about 2300. It's fucking FAST.
DragonSon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 11:26   #73
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
Quote:
Originally posted by prodangle
Feckin' physicists!!! Always have to complicate things. It's easier for me to believe the world is flat. I like it that way, now shaddap!!


My computer is a billion and two hundred million hertz fast!!
It has two billion, one hundred and forty-seven million, four hundred and eighty-three thousand, six hundred and forty-eight bits of memoryness in it!!!!
I've also got just under 3 trillion arrangements of iron filing on my hard disk, I cunningly use each one of them to represent a single bit of memory. They all spin round really quickly too

THE BEST ya' gotta' love this! Half the stuff posted
I don't understand...(but I will) This I understand!
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 11:38   #74
Bizznatch
Forum King
 
Bizznatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,174
Send a message via AIM to Bizznatch
[03:42] <Bizznatch> OS:(Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 1 (5.1 - 2600)) ¤ CPU:(1-AMD , 1829MHz, 512KB (0% Load)) ¤ Mem:(Usage: 337/1024MB (32.91%)) ¤ Up:(6h 3m 35s)
[03:42] <Bizznatch> RecUP:(1day 14hrs 6mins 12secs(Set on 07/06/03 using XP)) ¤ HD:(Total/Free: 130.4/88.63GB) ¤ VidCard:(Nvidia Geforce2 MX400) ¤ Disp:(1280x1024 32bit 85Hz)
[03:42] <Bizznatch> Moni:(Dell P1110) ¤ Sound:(M-Audio Revolution 7.1) ¤ Network Interfaces:(#1 (MAC Bridge Miniport - Packet Scheduler Miniport (400Mb/s) 0.39MB In, 0.00MB Out) #2(Microsoft TV/Video Connection (30Mb/s) 0.00MB In, 0.00MB Out) #3(3Com 3C920B-EMB Integrated Fast Ethernet Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport (10Mb/s) 95.76MB In, 29.31MB Out))

that drunken ramble means I have an Athlon XP 2500+, 1GB of PC3200 DDR Ram by Micron, a Seagate 80GB Serial ATA Drive, a Maxtor 60GB drive with Serial ATA adapter, Geforce2 MX (right now my Gainward GF4 ti4800 is in RMA), Dell P1110 21" Flat Screen Monitor, M-Audio Revolution 7.1, Asus A7N8X motherboard, 52x24x52x CDR drive, HP 100i DVD+RW Drive, 6 in 1 memory card reader, Floppy drive, Fusion HDTV Tuner Card, NewQ Platinum, Dell Altec Lansing THX Certified 5.1 Speakers, MS Natural Keyboard Pro, MS Wireless Intellimouse Explorer, and a few other goodies =)
Bizznatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 15:22   #75
ShyShy
Amazon Bush Woman
Forum Queen
 
ShyShy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Sticks, Queensland
Posts: 8,067
"Dude, I got a Dell"

Dell DIMENSION DIM4550
INTELL [R]
PENTIUM [R[ 4CPU 2.40 GHz
2.39GHz
256 MB of RAM

..... all I really care about is that it runs slightly faster than the rugrat.
ShyShy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 15:26   #76
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
Quote:
Originally posted by ShyShy
"Dude, I got a Dell"

Dell DIMENSION DIM4550
INTELL [R]
PENTIUM [R[ 4CPU 2.40 GHz
2.39GHz
256 MB of RAM

..... all I really care about is that it runs slightly faster than the rugrat.
If young is between 2yrs and 6yrs....impossible!
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 16:29   #77
prodangle
Major Dude
 
prodangle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Scotland
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally posted by Bizznatch

that drunken ramble means I have an Athlon XP 2500+, 1GB of PC3200 DDR Ram by Micron, a Seagate 80GB Serial ATA Drive, a Maxtor 60GB drive with Serial ATA adapter, Geforce2 MX (right now my Gainward GF4 ti4800 is in RMA), Dell P1110 21" Flat Screen Monitor, M-Audio Revolution 7.1, Asus A7N8X motherboard, 52x24x52x CDR drive, HP 100i DVD+RW Drive, 6 in 1 memory card reader, Floppy drive, Fusion HDTV Tuner Card, NewQ Platinum, Dell Altec Lansing THX Certified 5.1 Speakers, MS Natural Keyboard Pro, MS Wireless Intellimouse Explorer, and a few other goodies =)
So what does that ^ drunken ramble mean?
prodangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 17:07   #78
Viper007Bond
Major Dude
 
Viper007Bond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland, OR Life: None
Posts: 1,054
Send a message via ICQ to Viper007Bond Send a message via AIM to Viper007Bond Send a message via Yahoo to Viper007Bond
Quote:
Originally posted by prodangle
So what does that ^ drunken ramble mean?
He's got a pretty good computer. Nothing jaw dropping, but above average for sure.

- Viper007Bond | Viper007Bond.com
Viper007Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 19:17   #79
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,583
PVIII 5000GHz = 5THz

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2003, 19:19   #80
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,583
...I clocked it myself

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump