Old 31st October 2007, 14:08   #1
Koogle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 258
avs album cover

any way of using avs to grab the currently playing songs album cover and do stuff with it

here take a look at this screenshot

http://img487.imageshack.us/img487/2821/fooavaja3.jpg

see the top two pictures with the album cover, and beat detection vis built onto the bottom... .that would be pretty cool in winamp.. is it possible?

My signature was just too damn good to be seen here..
Koogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 14:12   #2
QOAL
[STILL a retard!]
 
QOAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,168
Unless you feel like updating AVS, no.

count!last.fmdastylishplanner
QOAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 14:20   #3
Koogle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 258
thats a bit crap then oh well

My signature was just too damn good to be seen here..
Koogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 20:29   #4
Nanakiwurkz
Senior Member
 
Nanakiwurkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Shintovia
Posts: 383
hmm Interesting

Sadly that sort of plugin is interesting but avs is not designed to do that sort of stuff.

Reasons:
1 avs is for visualization purposes only
2 a connection through the internet to retrieve a covers image would make avs slower then crap.
3 if you want the cover image on the avs screen i suggest you scan it then use picture.ape to render it then do whatever you like to it.

As far as idiots go i'm not sure.
But as far as genius goes again i'm not sure. Now when it comes to imagination now thats another story.
Nanakiwurkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 20:50   #5
Koogle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 258
no my suggestion wasn't for avs to start downloading album covers.. it was more of a connection to use existing album covers.. much like how winamp now actually has album cover support to check if album covers exist.. the avs could sort of go through winamp to pull in an album cover if it existed, if not.. use default image selected...

other than that is it possible for avs to make those type of beat detection bars like at the bottom of that album cover? if not i guess this is pointless and either needs more developtment or something else to come in a do a better job.

My signature was just too damn good to be seen here..
Koogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 20:52   #6
Nanakiwurkz
Senior Member
 
Nanakiwurkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Shintovia
Posts: 383
on the bars yes.

As far as idiots go i'm not sure.
But as far as genius goes again i'm not sure. Now when it comes to imagination now thats another story.
Nanakiwurkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 21:59   #7
Koogle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 258
well thats good then.. now just AVS to support album covers and then AVS presets doing stuff with album covers to get things started ..and that would be cool

My signature was just too damn good to be seen here..
Koogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2007, 21:33   #8
Nanakiwurkz
Senior Member
 
Nanakiwurkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Shintovia
Posts: 383
??

Question.

The picture you gave us showing the bars.
What music program are you using.

Because somethings are copy righted in the look and the way it reacts. and if i choose to make this sort of effect i need to know i won't get in trouble because the bars have to be on a program that is in the freeware category or i won't try it.

As far as idiots go i'm not sure.
But as far as genius goes again i'm not sure. Now when it comes to imagination now thats another story.
Nanakiwurkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2007, 13:01   #9
Koogle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 258
that skin is for Foobar... its a mod
http://dawxxx666.deviantart.com/art/...1-0-2-54383563

My signature was just too damn good to be seen here..
Koogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2007, 12:29   #10
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Despite all the naysaying it would be very simple to write an APE for this purpose. If you could get ahold of the Picture2.ape source you are 90% done.

Assuming you are not a programmer, the only difficult part is finding a C++ coder willing to help you.

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2007, 22:29   #11
Koogle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 258
Well i'm no C++ programming.. really should be though.

anyway I won't let this thread die.. BUMP BUMP.. common must be someone who could add this..I don't think anyone could say this wouldn't be a bad addition to the AVS plugin. I really want to see it added somehow whether its on the AVS plugin or not ,I don't really care now.

Call to winamp devs perhaps...

My signature was just too damn good to be seen here..
Koogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2007, 07:35   #12
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,363
even if i could help you, that attitude of your's isn't too motivating. to be honest, try looking in a programmer's forum because you won't find practical help here.
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2007, 19:23   #13
Nanakiwurkz
Senior Member
 
Nanakiwurkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Shintovia
Posts: 383
Koogle i'll have to be on Yaths side on this one.
You started out nicely then became hostile when people started turning the idea down. go to a cpp forum and ask there.

As far as idiots go i'm not sure.
But as far as genius goes again i'm not sure. Now when it comes to imagination now thats another story.
Nanakiwurkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2007, 21:16   #14
Koogle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 258
hey look.. you guys pick and choose who ever side you wanna be on.. I couldn't careless, and if this doesn't ever get developed for winamp or AVS doesn't bother me in the slightest.. I won't be asking around for it.. it would have been good however, anyway will let this thread sink into winamps oblivion now.

My signature was just too damn good to be seen here..
Koogle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump