Old 20th January 2002, 01:20   #1
lessthanjakeguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to lessthanjakeguy
Checkered room......my first good 3d

Heres a really simple preset i made.....my first one thats actually even alittle bit 3d.....please tell me what you think...and if anyone has any ideas on how to make it slow down some when it gets really blury then please tell me cause i've tried alot of stuff and it didnt work.....oh well just tell me what ya think i guess lol.....see yas
Attached Files
File Type: zip checkeredroom.zip (527 Bytes, 109 views)
lessthanjakeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2002, 02:02   #2
aaron595
Senior Member
 
aaron595's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 183
Jake, that preset gives me nothing but a black screen.
aaron595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2002, 02:28   #3
lessthanjakeguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to lessthanjakeguy
goodness....i keep forgetting stuff

sorry about that its supposed to have an image with it but the image size is to large(515kb) does anyone have any idea on how to compress it?
lessthanjakeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2002, 02:44   #4
lessthanjakeguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to lessthanjakeguy
ok never mind my last post i got it all the way down to 7 kb so here it is
Attached Images
File Type: bmp checker.bmp (6.1 KB, 105 views)
lessthanjakeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2002, 03:24   #5
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Color-depth and RLE

If you really have to include bitmaps in your preset, here are a few guides:

- Winamp scales the picture for you, so you can leave it at the minimum size.

- Less colors = smaller size. Never use a 24-bit/32-bit bitmap (except for tiny ones, but then the difference between 200bytes and 400bytes is insignificant), but rather a 256 colour image or lower. The reason is that 256-colour images or lower use a pallette: each color used is given a number. The image contains a lookup table to match a number to a colour. Then instead of the actual colour values, only the numbers are used. Compare an 8-bit number to a 24-bit colour value, and you'll soon understand the difference. Use the lowest possible amount of colours, but if your image is small enough (< 40KB?), you don't need to bother.

- Compress it. Contrary to popular belief, .bmp's do have a built-in compression system. It's a simple Run-Length Encoding (RLE) system. It will work nicely on images with lots of uni-coloured areas (screenshots of windows for example), but will totally suck on images that vary a lot (renders, photographs, etc). RLE is inferior to basically any other compression system for images, but you have to use the tools you're given. RLE only works on 4-bit or 8-bit images and not all programs can export it (it's still a .bmp, but with a special mode). Consult your graphics program's manual or help to find out if it's supported.
UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2002, 03:35   #6
lessthanjakeguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to lessthanjakeguy
thanks for the help even tho i figured out most of it already im sure other people will be able to use it......but anyway thanks again...and also your posts about dyn. movements and superscope are great thanks alot....well see ya



p.s......if you downloaded my preset what did you think?any pointers on getting it to slow down?
lessthanjakeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2002, 12:43   #7
Montana
Major Dude
 
Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Södertälje, Sweden
Posts: 1,058
Send a message via ICQ to Montana Send a message via AIM to Montana Send a message via Yahoo to Montana
ok jake, i liked ur preseta lot but it can be changed
so i made a little remix

grade on the original: 4 's outta 5 's
Attached Files
File Type: zip check.zip (516 Bytes, 103 views)

batman
Montana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2002, 12:53   #8
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Slow-down?

I'm not sure what you mean by slow-down, but as it accelerates, the speed goes to positive infinity, switches over to negative infinity and goes back to zero. This is because you add tan(t) to your x-coordinate. If you don't know what tan(x) (=sin(x)/cos(x)) is or looks like, take a look at the following applets I found:

http://119math.com/height/graph/graphSinX.htm
http://119math.com/height/graph/graphCosX.htm
http://119math.com/height/graph/graphTanX.htm
UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2002, 15:43   #9
lessthanjakeguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to lessthanjakeguy
ok first of all......great remix montana i liked it alot.....thanks alot UnConed i didnt even relize i was using tan i guess i was just experimenting with it so much i didnt know what i was doing.....but anyways i fixed it and it runs alot smoother...well here it is....thanks again for the input.....see ya
Attached Files
File Type: zip checkeredroom.zip (731 Bytes, 97 views)
lessthanjakeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump