Old 24th March 2005, 21:35   #1
dwschoon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Surfernetwork radio stations

I want to stream a local talk radio station, but they use surfernetwork to broadcast their signal. I dont like that player, so is there any way i can stream it via winamp? I cant figure out what format they use, or what exactly the url is for the stream, but this is what i get from the properties of the player window. The station is named WKY

http://rd1.surfernetwork.com/newsurfer4/ wky-at.asp?brand=sn&ver=1.88&speed=24&title=You% 20are%20listening%20to%20&artist=&show=0&call=wky&archive=0

Last edited by dwschoon; 24th March 2005 at 23:33.
dwschoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2005, 23:27   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Sorry, but there's not a hope of you getting anyone here to install any activex plugins, especially that one :/

http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/p...x?id=453060671
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2005, 23:32   #3
dwschoon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
I didnt know it was spyware. neither adaware or spybot pick it up. I just want to know if anyone knows what format they use, and how i could figure out a direct url to open with winamp. I hate the surfernetwork player.

I only showed the link in hopes that someone could decipher what the server is.
dwschoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2005, 23:34   #4
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
I just want to know if anyone knows what format they use, and how i could figure out a direct url to open with winamp.
Well give up on that idea. As Egg said, nobody is gonna touch it to figure anything out for you, and if you're smart, you shouldn't either.

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2005, 00:20   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
You'll need to look in the source code of the html and try to fathom it out from there. It'll probably be an .asx playlist linking to an mms:// wma stream, at a guess...

Alas, that's all the help I can honestly give you.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2005, 16:09   #6
dwschoon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
I managed to find the direct streaming link.
http://64.156.2.22:443/wky/24

windows media player will play the station if i enter the url just like that. winamp says error syncing to mpeg, so i tried adding a .wma to the end of the url and it just says opening, but never opens. any ideas?
dwschoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2005, 16:59   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Yeah, it's a weird one.
WMP9 says it's a 24kbps mp3 stream, not wma.
However, it won't play in any other player (tried WMP6, Winamp, MPC, fb2k, and a couple of others)

Looks like it's encrypted or something weird like that, or possibly a link to an asx playlist. Sorry, but I'm really not sure, heh.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2005, 17:14   #8
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
I managed to get it playing in Winamp, but it's not a very convenient way of doing it.

Prefs(Ctrl+P) > Gen Prefs > Playlist and enter 'wma' in the default for unknown file types box.

Then enter the URL as is, or just drag and drop the link on to Winamp's main window.

Don't forget you may need to reset this back to 'mp3' if you have problems with other files/streams.

[edit]
@Egg - guess it really is wma but wrongly labled or something.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2005, 17:20   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Even weirder! How comes WiMP9 says it's an mp3 stream then? (File > Properties)

I was thinking of trying the "default extension for unknown filetypes = wma" trick until I saw that, heh.

Cheers ujay


ps. yes, you'll need to change it back to mp3 for shoutcast streams etc.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2005, 17:31   #10
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Ahhh. It's the stupid way the webmaster of the site has it set up. Even DrO can't foresee stupid webmastering errors. Too unpredictable. Problems like this are bound to crop up every so often, and nobody but the webmaster can truly correct the problem. Also... ActiveX with spyware!! Sheesh!
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2005, 17:36   #11
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by Nunzio390
Even DrO can't foresee stupid webmastering errors.
damn, you've found my secret out

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2005, 17:39   #12
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
LOL
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2005, 17:59   #13
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Probably deliberately set up that way Nunzio, Some half assed scheme to make it unplayable unless you have their client program installed and take whatever other crap the want to throw at you.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2005, 18:04   #14
dwschoon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
I got it to work. I really appreciate all the help. The client program sucks and makes you listen to their advertisements, so now I can finally just stream the station. Thanks.
dwschoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump