Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp3 > Winamp3 Bug Reports

View Poll Results: Do you have a problem with WInamp 3 Crashing???
Yes, I have this problem. 2 66.67%
Never experianced this before. 1 33.33%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th September 2003, 00:45   #1
Klb 1 Stunna918
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Angry Winamp 3 Crashs

I love having Winamp 3 on my computer, but it crashes too many times. I can't reinstall Winamp everytime that it falls to work because of the same problem . I've had to reinstall the program 3 times within the last month. Dispite all of the strenghs the Winamp 3 has, all of the crashs brings down the quality and most improtantly, the RELIABLILITY of it.

I can't give you all of the error messages that I have received from Winamp, and I can't really repeat the error that I am experianceing as it occurs unexpectedly and shuts down farily quickly. BUT sometimes when I enter the Media Library, I would pick a song, it would play correctly. After a few secs. if I pick a new song to play, it might sometimes freeze up and I will get a message saying that "Studio.exe ( or something similar--again, I can't really recreate the error and it doesn't stay on the screen long when it happens) has executed an illegal operation and wil be shut down."

Another message that I might get, is also created the same way, and could also just happen in the middle of playing a song. I would get a message saying that a converter of some kind has made many errors and will need to be restarted. I would get this message and a few seconds afterwards, I would get the other error message that I had stated earlier in this post.

Ive tried re-downloading the program from this website and re-installing it. That seemed to help, but after a week or so, I got the same results. Its almost like its running on a timer, that xx amount of days after it was installed, it will start giving out errors and shuting down.

If anyone could help me out with this problem that I have, please reply to this post. Or you can e-mail me at klb1stunna918@netscape.net OR u can just vote to let me know if this is a common problem amoung Winamp 3 users.

Any info will help. Thankx in advance!

Im out!!!

"KB"
Klb 1 Stunna918 is offline  
Old 26th September 2003, 04:20   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
You will get some better help if you could answer the following spec. questions

Windows Version?
Memory?
CPU & Speed?
DirectX version? (Start button > Run... > type DXDIAG > click OK > System tag)
Soundcard?
Video?
Are you using Winamp on a user account ?
Winamp3 Version? (Right click in main window, read top line of popup menu)
Did you install Winamp3 with Internationalization support?
Did you install any third party Winamp components (add-ins)?

Hopefully, with that information, one of us will be able help you. Meanwhile the following may be of help...

Winamp3 Trouble-Shooter Guide
Winamp3 FAQ: Top of Page
Winamp3 FAQ: Technical Support
Winamp3 FAQ: Common Error Messages & Bugs List

Maybe a mod should move this to WA3 Tech. Support

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline  
 
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp3 > Winamp3 Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump