Old 16th April 2020, 21:54   #1
tech_chaos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
Getting Blank Windows

Hi, I'm running Winamp v5.8 Build 3660. When I play my mp3's in winamp, I get one blank (empty) window for each one. I'm running Windows 10 Pro 64bit. How do I fix this? See photos below:


tech_chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2020, 21:56   #2
tech_chaos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
http://chaos-irc.sytes.net/winbl2.png
http://chaos-irc.sytes.net/winbl1.png
tech_chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2020, 06:07   #3
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,350
how about just simply going back to 5.66
the 5.8 is still a beta and there are issues with Win 10

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

Nope, it's not a radiostation just a non stop darkwave music stream

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2020, 06:52   #4
tech_chaos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
http://winamp.com/ don't say it's beta..
tech_chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2020, 06:57   #5
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech_chaos View Post
http://winamp.com/ don't say it's beta..
But the filename does: winamp58_3660_beta_full_en-us.exe
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2020, 08:50   #6
tech_chaos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
Ahh ok.. hummm
tech_chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2020, 15:20   #7
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,350
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=453675

tells you the whole story about this release.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

Nope, it's not a radiostation just a non stop darkwave music stream

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2020, 15:55   #8
tech_chaos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
OK.. v5.66 does the same thing. Now what?
tech_chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2020, 18:30   #9
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech_chaos View Post
OK.. v5.66 does the same thing. Now what?

take it you did do a clean install?

removed all folders before installing 5.66 again?

if yes than there is something on your system screwing up winamp

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

Nope, it's not a radiostation just a non stop darkwave music stream

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2020, 10:57   #10
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
I personally don't think always blaming 5.8 while suggesting 5.6xx as a blanket approach is helpful or accurate. The problem is RARELY bc of 5.8

In this case, I would completely wipe the system of winamp, (uninstall, ccleaner, etc) and reinstall, using all defaults, including the skin. I would install 5.666 first, test it out, then 5.8

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2020, 23:08   #11
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 771
It seems like most of the issues are due to people installing 5.8 clean instead of installing over 5.6x.

Though, I have no problem blaming 5.8 since it is a beta and imo should have never been released "officially" in the first place since there will be no more updates to even bring it to gold

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp: (Winamp 5.8) is not an ongoing project get wacup

5.8 beta issue quick fix - Install 5.666 (there's no further 5.8 releases)
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2020, 12:09   #12
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicf8 View Post
It seems like most of the issues are due to people installing 5.8 clean instead of installing over 5.6x.

and some old plugins that won't run on the beta

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

Nope, it's not a radiostation just a non stop darkwave music stream

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2020, 19:07   #13
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
5.8 is beta in name only, its no more beta than any other 5.x release.

Idk if clean installs are actually problematic. And if a given plugin doesn't work, that's on the plugin, not winamp.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 18:46   #14
tech_chaos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
Sorry for the late reply. When I uninstalled winamp, I neglected to remove files left behind by plugins. I redone it this time and removed them and all is fine in the land of tech_chaos.
tech_chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 08:25   #15
stanleykell651
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 1
You can always run troubleshooter or reinstall the windows
stanleykell651 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump