Old 31st July 2012, 09:58   #1
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
smartview with filename

hi guys

sorry i searched 30 minutes without found my answers...

how can i filter by smartview a path like
filename begins : d:\mp3

i don't remember the exact query

can you help me ?
thanks

glop
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 10:41   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
edit the smartview and add filename BEGINS "d:\mp3" to the query (or you can select it from the query builder on the 'simple mode'. you may need to add an AND after the existing query and before adding the new one (is why it's probably simpler to use the simple mode to handle all of those sort of things.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 18:43   #3
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,609
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
edit the smartview and add filename BEGINS "d:\mp3" to the query (or you can select it from the query builder on the 'simple mode'. you may need to add an AND after the existing query and before adding the new one (is why it's probably simpler to use the simple mode to handle all of those sort of things.

-daz
or an "OR," although i have several smartviews of path locations that are one line statements.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 19:32   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
well yeah, but it depends on what is actually wanted on a personal basis as to what is the best to go with as well as what mode to run the query builder in.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 19:38   #5
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
oh so fast answers thank you

it match for simple folder
but not for example
c:\music\classical

i tried
c:\music\classical\
c:\music\classical*
c:\music\classical\\
without success....any ideas ?

thank you !
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 19:40   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it should be working irrespective of the complexity of the path. the only thing i can suggest other than making sure that what you're trying to set is correct is entering the path to filter by in the same case as the actual folder path is shown in Explorer.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 19:47   #7
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
that's i have do.

copy paste the path of the explorer. same exactly. but it appear 0 songs (the folder contain some folders
how can i guide to get all recursive folders from c:/music/classical ??
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 19:54   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
if you're using the begins with option then it should cover any sub-folders from that folderpath.

might be easier to post your full smartview query (as you've created it) from the advanced mode.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 20:08   #9
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
filename BEGINS "D:/musique" > ok
filename BEGINS "D:/musique/classical" nothing (their exist mp3 in this folder of course)
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 20:11   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
why are you using / and not \ ?

as it fails for me trying to use / but works with \ as the path delimiter (as the querys are just string comparisons and aren't like how Explorer can handle such things).

e.g. i've done the following:
filename BEGINS "L:\Music\Downloaded Radio" (ok)
filename BEGINS "L:/Music/Downloaded Radio" (fails)

filename BEGINS "L:\Music" (ok)
filename BEGINS "L:/Music" (fails)

either way, this is not a bug since as i've said, the query is just a string comparison and since \ is the default path delimiter for Windows, that makes it strange why you're posting paths with / in them (should have noticed that sooner).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 20:29   #11
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,609
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
well yeah, but it depends on what is actually wanted on a personal basis as to what is the best to go with as well as what mode to run the query builder in.

-daz
i agree, its just that i found, and think a lot of noobs do too, that its a bit confusing at first, mainly b/c AND seems to cause exclusions rather than inclusions, altho now knowing how it works/what is meant, i find it completely reasonable.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 20:58   #12
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
such a crappy glop

sorry bad wrote
filename BEGINS "D:\musique" > ok
filename BEGINS "D:\musique\classical" nothing
any ideas
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 21:02   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
are you absolutely sure you have even added files to the media library which are under that path? as so far i really cannot replicate the issue with not being able to filter by sub-folders.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 21:20   #14
glop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 454
glop 0 point
Dro 1 point


i scan the c:\music\modern
but not the c:\music\classical....

no comment and sorry (and THANKS!!)
glop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump