Old 5th March 2005, 19:21   #1
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
No EQ elements showing.

Does anyone know why the elements in my EQ aren't loading? I've defined everything all correctly because i've checked it all over loads of times. The only image that is showing is my background :\ And there's nothing wrong with my button code because i copied and pasted that from the player-normal.xml code.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2005, 19:33   #2
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
hold on i got a crystal ball here lol

erm wrong paths, not in skin.xml/includes
pass
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2005, 20:04   #3
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Heh, i was a little too general I just thought there might be a file that needs to be modified. Or in the container code, i put the sizes of the EQ. But i've done that already.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2005, 18:28   #4
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Any sudgestions?

Here is the code i'm using:

PHP Code:
<layout id="Background" background="eqbackground" default_x="0" default_y="0" default_visible="1"/>

<
button
    id
="presets"
    
action="MENU" param="Presets"
    
image="eqpresets"
    
downimage="eqpresets"
    
x="21" y="19"
    
tooltip="Presets"
    
sysregn="1"
/> 
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2005, 18:31   #5
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Have you got your elements file for these eq bits corret?
Have you declared the elements file?

As always, providing snippets of xml dosn't really help when the problem probably lies elsewhere in the general make up of your xml documents.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2005, 18:40   #6
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Yer that's all working because only the background is showing up at the current moment.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2005, 19:11   #7
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Then check that the element you have defined as ...'eqpresets' is correct.

Is it spelt correctly in your elements.xml file?, is the image name correct in the elements.xml?, is the path to the image correct?

Common mistake I used to make all the time was something like..
code:
<bitmap id="player" file="player/mlwindow" x="0" y="0" h="5" w="6" gammagroup="Backgrounds"/>


Notice how I missed off the file extension off the actual image name...file="player/mlwindow", I was always doing that ,not on all images but just on the occasional one and it took ages looking at it to see that I'd missed of .png or something.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2005, 20:43   #8
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Nope, i've jsut checked all the code as you said and everything seems to be named right. Gahhh, this is pissing me off
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 13:17   #9
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
your best bet is to pm some1 the skin to take a quick look

quickest way dude, bosh it to me if ya want
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 17:38   #10
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
I would PM SLoB but i don't have anywhere to host the .wal file apart from attach it here.

Thanks for taking a gand.
Attached Files
File Type: wal digivibe.wal (70.2 KB, 123 views)
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 17:51   #11
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Easy, dunno why no one, including me, didn't spot this in your previous posts, anyhow...

This is the correct layout for eq-normal.xml
code:

<layout id="Background" background="eqbackground" default_x="0" default_y="0" default_visible="1">

<button
id="presets"
action="MENU" param="Presets"
image="eqpresets"
downimage="eqpresets"
x="21" y="19"
tooltip="Presets"
sysregn="1"
/>

</layout>



And now what you did.....
code:

<layout id="Background" background="eqbackground" default_x="0" default_y="0" default_visible="1"/>

<button
id="presets"
action="MENU" param="Presets"
image="eqpresets"
downimage="eqpresets"
x="21" y="19"
tooltip="Presets"
sysregn="1"
/>




You closed your layout on the first line...
code:
<layout id="Background" background="eqbackground" default_x="0" default_y="0" default_visible="1"/>


Anything following that in the XML wouldn't show as you'd already closed the layout, remove the / from the layout line and provide a </layout> tag at the END of your XML file.

Your skin is packaged wrongly as well, you have your skin docs within a folder rather than within the root of the zip file.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 18:11   #12
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Ah ha! Thanks Mr. Jones. Something so simple.

About the packaging, i didn't think that really mattered but i will change it at the end when i've finished my skin.

Thankyou.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 18:29   #13
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Packaging shouldn't matter, they fixed the 'skins inside folders' bug a few versions ago , it just annoys me that's all and I feel the need to point it out eveytime I see it
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 13:34   #14
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
heh cool
erm prolly cos no-one really looked at the bit of code he
Schmeet put up? i know i didn't but as the question was general its normally quicker to look at the skin complete and point out the bad bits
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 13:41   #15
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Yeah, wierd that, first thing I did was unzip the skin, check the elements file was correct, then opened the eq-normal.xml file and bang, oh look no closing layout tag 'cos it's there on the first line....

All of which I could have seen on the post back there, but as you say it's often easier to see it when it's in front of you running, I looked at the snip of code up there and assumed it was just that, a snippet , rather than the whole file.

Ah well, all's well that ends well...
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump