Old 5th April 2010, 05:20   #41
WPR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to WPR
Thinktink:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	192.168.0.80.jpg
Views:	434
Size:	60.0 KB
ID:	46715  
WPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2010, 06:47   #42
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
The top one with 192.168.1.135 in it,
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2010, 13:20   #43
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Quote:
Originally Posted by WPR View Post
Thinktink:

Okay, in which one of these two boxes do I enter 192.168.0.80 for the IP address?

After I make the change in the correct box, then I need to reboot my computer AND disconnect my DSL modem for a couple of minutes and then plug the modem back in to power up, right?
The one on the top that currently shows "192.168.0.135" in the screenshot.

And I am sorry but I forgot to mention that the order in which you should reboot or restart the devices was not arbitrary. If you already rebooted your computer please reboot it again after you reboot (disconnect power then reconnect power after about 30 seconds) the modem/router.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2010, 19:15   #44
WPR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to WPR
Okay, I changed the first line to show an IP of 192.168.0.80, rebooted the computer, and unplugged and replugged the DSL router.

I turned on Shoutcast and my DNAS. I did get a message saying I was connected, but that was followed by another line saying connection was closed after 32 seconds.

As sick as that sounds, that is still progress! Now, why was my connection dropped and what can I do to not have it dropped would be next on my Christmas list (assuming Christmas comes in April).
WPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2010, 19:32   #45
WPR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to WPR
Also, keeping in mind the over three million IPs it feels like I have, what would the correct IP to include in the listen to link:8000?
WPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2010, 20:10   #46
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
http://71.214.55.105:8000/

Works for me,

Server Status: Server is currently up and public.
Stream Status: Stream is up at 64 kbps with 1 of 10 listeners (1 unique)
Listener Peak: 2
Average Listen Time: 0m 01s
Stream Title: World Pagan Radio
Content Type: audio/mpeg
Stream Genre: Pagan ,Easy Listening,New Age
Stream URL: http://www.shoutcast.com
Stream AIM: N/A
Stream IRC: #shoutcast
Current Song: Midnight Syndicate - Haverghast Asylum

probably the yp touched test server dropping after 32 secs
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2010, 21:49   #47
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
ccccc...

CONGRATULATIONS!

This will be the link you provide only for other people to use (ie: not you);
(until qwest changes it again.) ---> http://71.214.55.105:8000/listen.pls

By preliminary look on the whois query on the IP provided it looks like a dynamically allocated address (not to be confused with the static IP we setup earlier). Later on when you're ready, take the advice proffered by rockouthippie and get yourself a http://www.No-IP.com/ domain name for your radio station. That way when it changes again you won't have to mess with updating your website all the time.



This will be the link only you will use only when you want to listen to your SHOUTcast from home (or another computer at the same place connected to the same modem/router that the SHOUTcast DNAS is running on);
(this won't change.) ---> http://192.168.0.80:8000/listen.pls


These will be the only 2 IPs you will need to mess with. Everything else will be automatic.

Last edited by thinktink; 5th April 2010 at 22:21.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Tags
dnas, ip address, shoutcast connection

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump