Old 19th March 2021, 17:47   #561
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
Is it possible to move PE_Info to the main player?

That's the total playlist time displayed in the lower right-hand corner. I would like to have it displayed in the main player.
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2021, 19:16   #562
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
As far as I know it isn't. I tried it with a test skin but it did not work.

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2021, 19:41   #563
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
Too bad. I would even go as far as to create a custom window, move it there and overlay this window on the main player. Is this impossible too?
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2021, 20:44   #564
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
Total playlist time is displayed by PE_Info which only works if it is inside the layout containing the component with the following parameter:
param="guid:{45F3F7C1-A6F3-4ee6-A15E-125E92FC3F8D}"

Unlike Winamp 3, Winamp 5 only allows one such layout. So if you overlay a window with that component on the main window then it will be your only Playlist Editor window.

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2021, 21:12   #565
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
I see. Thank you for the exhaustive explanation. I have some more questions. They may or may not be Quinto-specific (I can't judge as this is my first attempt at modifying a skin, but I am trying to modify specifically Quinto). Should I ask them in this topic or in the general Modern Skins section?
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2021, 21:34   #566
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
It would be better to start a new topic in the Modern Skins section, imho.

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2021, 13:26   #567
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
I was wrong about this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariszlo View Post
Total playlist time is displayed by PE_Info which only works if it is inside the layout containing the component with the following parameter:
param="guid:{45F3F7C1-A6F3-4ee6-A15E-125E92FC3F8D}"
You can display the total playlist time in the main window, too, but only if the playlist editor is loaded. You can try it by adding a MainPLTime tag before the
<script file="SCRIPTS\14-main-player.maki"/> line in player-main.xml:

PHP Code:
<text
  id
="MainPLTime"
  
display="PE_Info"
  
x="220" y="80" w="260" h="32" align="center"
  
fontsize="32" color="255,255,255"
/> 
But since it only works if the playlist editor is loaded, it is of not much use.

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2021, 02:11   #568
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,629
In my BBM skin I've managed to get the total PL time with the PL closed, it's not hard but it implies a mix of xml and script mods. Check the Playlist info stuff if you really want it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20210320_231219.jpg
Views:	295
Size:	72.7 KB
ID:	54734  
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2021, 06:23   #569
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Victhor View Post
...it's not hard...
Well, it is not something you can quickly apply to another skin.

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 16:25   #570
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
Quote:
You can display the total playlist time in the main window, too, but only if the playlist editor is loaded.
But that's great!
By not working when PE is not loaded you mean when PE is not displayed and you change the skin? A rather exotic scenario for me. Cos when you simply hide the PE, it still shows the total time. Anyway I never hide PE, so it's not a problem for me!

The problem is with getting rid of the first part of total playlist time (total time of the selection). Is this possible? And/or with changing the size of the font.timer.id. It's rather large and besides there is this huge distance between the colon and the following digit. But looks like it's not easy to do if possible at all.
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 18:37   #571
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvaria View Post
The problem is with getting rid of the first part of total playlist time (total time of the selection). Is this possible?
Yes, it is. What I am showing you here is dumbed-down from Big Bento Modern's playlist info. This is quite imperfect compared to Victhor's playlist info but implementing it in all its intricacies for Quinto would require more editing than I have time for.

So here comes the dumbed down implementation.

1. Copy the following tags between the lines <script file="SCRIPTS\14-main-player.maki"/> and </groupdef> in main-player.xml:

PHP Code:
<text id="info.input" display="PE_Info" alpha="0" visible="0"/>
<
text id="a1"
  
x="267" y="80" h="28" w="0" relatw="1" align="left"
  
font="Arial" fontsize="28" color="255,255,255" text="-"
  
tooltip="Total playlist time (hh:mm:ss / hh:mm)"
/>
<
script id="playlistlength" file="SCRIPTS/playlistlength.maki"/> 
2. Copy playlistlength.m and playlistlength.maki into the scripts folder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvaria View Post
And/or with changing the size of the font.timer.id. It's rather large and besides there is this huge distance between the colon and the following digit. But looks like it's not easy to do if possible at all.
You cannot change the size of a bitmap font without editing it in an image editor. But it is not that simple. If you resize it then it will be blurred and will be broken. So if you want to do that then you will have to hand-edit the image after resizing it. Each digit should be of the same width and height. Actually, that's why there is a huge distance between the colon and the following digit.
Alternatively, you may change the font to a TrueType font and define its size with fontsize like this:

<text
x="40" y="33" w="160" h="20"
id="mp.timer.id"
align="right"
display="TIME"
font="Arial"
fontsize=32"
ghost="0"
timeroffstyle="1"
timecolonwidth="15"
tooltip='Toggle between "Time elapsed" and "Time remaining"'/>
Attached Files
File Type: zip playlistlength.zip (2.4 KB, 227 views)

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 19:57   #572
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
It now displays the words "Playlist Length:"
Also I now have two playlist lenghts, the first one being this:
Quote:
id="MainPLTime"
display="PE_Info"
...
I applied the bitmap font to the first one and it works, but when I applied it to the second, it disappeared.
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 20:06   #573
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvaria View Post
It now displays the words "Playlist Length:"
Do you mean you only want the digits, not the words before them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvaria View Post
Also I now have two playlist lenghts, the first one being this...
Remove these lines:
PHP Code:
<text
  id
="MainPLTime"
  
display="PE_Info"
  
x="220" y="80" w="260" h="32" align="center"
  
fontsize="32" color="255,255,255"
/> 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvaria View Post
I applied the bitmap font to the first one and it works, but when I applied it to the second, it disappeared.
What is first and what is second? Could you quote them?

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 20:55   #574
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
I need the digits only. After you found a way to place total playlist time in the player (with id="MainPLTime" display="PE_Info"..) I used that and I applied bitmap font to it. It works fine, except that I need to get rid of the selected tracks' time as it takes too much space. This is the first instance. The second instance is where you are getting rid of the selected tracks' time. When I add it I now have 2 instances of total playlist time, so I remove the first instance. Then I apply the bitmap font to the remaining (second) instance. But it just disappears.
– Oh, I see now why it disappeared, it's because this font doesn't have any letters but they still take space. So if you please remove the words and the colon, it will be fine!
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 21:24   #575
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
I managed to do it myself! It works fine, thanks a lot!
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 21:25   #576
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
Since you keep asking for features that require MAKI, it is time for you to start learning some MAKI. Not much, just a little bit.

The first thing to do is to edit playlistlength.m, which is the text source for playlistlength.maki. Open it with your favorite text editor. Notepad will do. Find this line:

PHP Code:
a1.setText("Playlist Length: "+PLTimev); 
Remove this:
PHP Code:
"Playlist Length: "
so that you will have
PHP Code:
a1.setText(PLTimev); 
Save the file.

Now you should compile playlistlength.maki so that Winamp can use it. Winamp can use compiled maki but not its text source.

To compile maki you need the MAKI Compiler. Unzip MAKI Compiler v1.2.0.zip. Let's assume you have unzipped it to your desktop.

Copy playlistlength.m into the unzipped folder containing mc.exe

Now launch Windows PowerShell. You can launch it by right-clicking on the Windows button at the bottom left corner and left-clicking on Windows Powershell. Alternatively, you can click on the magnifier icon to the right of the Windows button and start typing powershell.

Now you are in PowerShell. Here you type commands. First you should enter the directory containing the MAKI compiler. If you have unzipped it to your desktop then type this and hit Enter at the end of the line:
code:
cd desktop\maki compiler v1.2.0

Now you are in the directory containing mc.exe. Type this and hit Enter:
code:
mc.exe playlistlength.m

Now you have a new playlistlength.maki. Replace the old playlistlength.maki in Quinto's scripts folder with this new one.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MAKI Compiler v1.2.0.zip (278.9 KB, 225 views)

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 21:42   #577
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
Now about the bitmap font: I understand that I need to edit the picture of each letter. But there are two things that puzzle me. 1. Where does Winamp takes its instructions as to the x and y coordinates of each letter? Because I will need to enter new coordinates somewhere. 2. In timer, when display="time" or "timeremaining", there is no huge distance between the colon and the following digit. So Winamp somehow takes care of that even though each character must have the same width. How does it do it? But when display="songlength" or in the case of the total playlist time, this huge distance does appear – in this case Winamp doesn't do anything about it. Can you explain this? Maybe Winamp's internal algorithm can be made to work here too?
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 21:52   #578
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
Thank you for detailed instructions!
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 21:53   #579
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
And also timecolonwidth works for some timers but not for others. Why?
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2021, 23:28   #580
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvaria View Post
1. Where does Winamp takes its instructions as to the x and y coordinates of each letter?
I have never created bitmap fonts so I can only guess and you can test my guess.

First you need to decide the height of your tallest character, let's say it is 32 pixels, and the width of your widest character, let's say it is 30 pixels. With those parameters, you create a transparent png with 3 rows and 33 columns. The size of each cell will be 30x32 pixels with 1 pixel wide dividing lines between them. So the size of your transparent png will be 1022x98 pixels.

The 1022 was calculated like this: cell width x 33 + 32.
The 98 was calculated like this: cell height x 3 + 2.

Fill the cells with your letters in this order:

1st row: A-Z " @ and 3 empty cells
2nd row: 1-9 … . : ( ) - ' ! _ + \ / [ ] ^ & % , = $ #
3rd row: Å Ö Ä *

And an important note
While it is OK to modify a skin for your own use, you are not allowed to put your mod online without the original author's permission.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bitmap_font_grid.png
Views:	223
Size:	771 Bytes
ID:	54737  

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2021, 06:05   #581
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariszlo View Post
First you need to decide the height of your tallest character, let's say it is 32 pixels, and the width of your widest character, let's say it is 30 pixels.
It might be the case that you need an extra vertical line after the last column and an extra horizontal line after the last row. If so then this is how you calculate the size of the font png:

(cell width x 33) + 33
(cell height x 3) + 3

Tests will show whichever formula is true. There is no comprehensive documentation of modern skinning. The answers to some questions can only be found by guessing and testing.

After you have filled in the cells, you can remove the dividing lines.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bitmap_font_grid.png
Views:	213
Size:	781 Bytes
ID:	54738  

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2021, 17:51   #582
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
The Is it possible to move PE_Info to the main player? topic is continued here because it is not strictly Quinto-specific.

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2021, 23:00   #583
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
From your explanation of bitmap fonts in Winamp skin it looks like: 1) non-Latin letters absolutely cannot be used in Winamp as a bitmap font (Winamp falls back on some regular font) and 2) it's even more complicated than you have described because I as mentioned earlier in some timers Winamp removes extra space for the same combination of digits and colon while in others it doesn't 3) even if I manage to create smaller bitmap font it will not make much sense – even though the digits will be smaller, the distances between them will become proportionately larger.
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2021, 22:13   #584
Calvaria
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64
How do I assign VID and VIS buttons to toggle Equalizer, Frequency response graph or VU meter analog?
Also the player has the word "Equalizer" on the display and in the main-player.xlm it looks like clicking on this word should toggle Equalizer on and off but it doesn't work (ghost doesn't help).
Calvaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2021, 04:50   #585
Phat_J
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Hey all, is there a way to save the configuration of this skin?
I've set the color scheme, window positions, and sizing, but sometimes when I start winamp it's reverted back to the default settings. Is there a way to save the settings to a file somewhere, so I can just easily load it again? Thanks!
Phat_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2021, 10:07   #586
ariszlo
Major Dude
 
ariszlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phat_J View Post
Hey all, is there a way to save the configuration of this skin?
I've set the color scheme, window positions, and sizing, but sometimes when I start winamp it's reverted back to the default settings. Is there a way to save the settings to a file somewhere, so I can just easily load it again? Thanks!
In Windows 10, Winamp stores the settings of all skins in AppData\Roaming\Winamp\studio.xnf. AppData is a hidden folder. To make it visible, check the show hidden items option in the View tab of File Explorer.

What you are reporting may indicate a corrupted studio.xnf.

The following steps may fix studio.xnf at the price of your losing all your settings.
  1. Quit Winamp.
  2. Delete studio.xnf
  3. Launch Winamp.
  4. Configure Quinto to your liking.
  5. Quit Winamp again.
  6. Make a copy of studio.xnf and store it somewhere outside AppData\Roaming\Winamp

Ariszló @ WinCustomize & DeviantArt
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2021, 04:12   #587
Phat_J
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Thanks ariszlo! I will try that
Phat_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Tags
color theme, modern skin, peterk, quinto black, victhor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump