Old 27th November 2005, 03:22   #1
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
Quake 4

I guess I'm the only one around here that likes Quake. :P

Anyways, I think Quake 4 is pretty good so far. I picked it up a couple weeks ago or so, but haven't had much chance to play it lately. Anyone else have it?
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 14:21   #2
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,436
You know I'm going to be getting it for 360 but I came REALLY close to buying the PC version yesterday. How much of the keyboard is utilized? My biggest peave about PC games is the fact that you have to memorize so many hotkeys ie. the entire board practically for flight simulators. That's why I love the Command and Conquer series because the entire game can be played with just the mouse
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 16:09   #3
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Quake 4 is great, a fun romp but lacking in depth somewhat. The multiplayer is faithful to quake 3 which is a plus too.

More enjoyable than doom 3, however doom 3 made better use of the engine (almost certainly because the engine and game were developed in together). I wouldnt, however, say the gameplay and immersion touches that of Half Life 2 (multiplayer not considering).

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 18:47   #4
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
The controls are all customizable. I have mine set up so that I never really have to move my left hand away from the arrow keys, and my right hand never leaves the mouse. This thing takes LOTS of system horsepower, though. It was even making MY computer hiccup a bit... and not even on the highest quality settings. It's a badass game though, imo.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 21:31   #5
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Its almost entirely dependant on your gfx card, I have a P4 3.0E but an old FX5900 so it creaks a bit

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2005, 00:01   #6
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
Yeah, but I've got a Radeon X800 XL. I should be able to run this game at Ultra Quality without any major problems. o_O
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2005, 00:09   #7
Bilbo Baggins
Wind Chime of the Apocalypse
 
Bilbo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Forest
Posts: 17,229
I enjoyed it for what it was worth, but it has gotten deleted since it was also very boring to play.
Bilbo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2005, 16:45   #8
DrDel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
this game just doesnt do it for me.. neither do FPSs

I dont know.. I think I have finally grown up

FPS was great 10 years ago.. but now it's all the same thing

they should really work on making a new type of gaming genre
DrDel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2005, 19:19   #9
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
I'm pretty sure that if you can think of a gaming genre, it's probably already got games made for it.

At any rate, this isn't the only genre I like. I like quite a few different kinds... FPS, RTS, Action/Adventure, Driving Simulators, Flight Simulators, etc. It's just that Q4 is the only game I have installed on this computer right now. :P
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2005, 01:37   #10
Bilbo Baggins
Wind Chime of the Apocalypse
 
Bilbo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Forest
Posts: 17,229
Quote:
Originally posted by DrDel
this game just doesnt do it for me.. neither do FPSs

I dont know.. I think I have finally grown up

FPS was great 10 years ago.. but now it's all the same thing

they should really work on making a new type of gaming genre
Not all FPS are the same, Quake4 was just lazy on the part of the developers.
Bilbo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2006, 23:49   #11
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
q4 needs a railjumping mod made for it. Then it would rock. But, until I can fly with my railgun it will continue to blow.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2006, 02:49   #12
ecardica
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 30
It's Quake III Arena with nicer graphics and an actual story to be honest. If you played Q3A to death don't expect anything new from online play.
ecardica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2006, 03:49   #13
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
Deathmatching is deathmatching. The only things that can really change are the graphics, weapons, maps, and player models. Gameplay might be tweaked a little, but there's only so much you can do with it. As long as it's fun, it's all gravy. If I had a cable internet connection, I'd give multiplayer a run.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2006, 22:38   #14
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
Personally, I was not too impressed with MP. I felt it was much better in Quake3:Arena. But then again, I might say that because I became a huge fan of the railgun and railjumping to unnatural places.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2006, 22:46   #15
Riksruin
Major Dude
 
Riksruin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Glos, England, UK
Posts: 1,436
Send a message via ICQ to Riksruin Send a message via AIM to Riksruin Send a message via Yahoo to Riksruin
i thought that Q4 looks a lot more realistic that Q3A as Q3A always came across as quite cartoony to me... maybe thats because i only really played it on my work machine hmmm...

but Q4 I do quite like. Alltho its got a long way until it will beat Halflife 2 IMO
Riksruin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2006, 15:48   #16
Scar Da Kookee
[Forum Pastry]
 
Scar Da Kookee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,032
Quote:
Originally posted by PAK-9
Its almost entirely dependant on your gfx card, I have a P4 3.0E but an old FX5900 so it creaks a bit
I played D3 with a 2.4 p4 423 400mhx fsb with a GF3 ti 500

the vid card's bios was a bit edited though of course
but it was playable XD
Scar Da Kookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2006, 21:11   #17
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Depends what you call playable

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 02:52   #18
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
Damn, I forgot that this thread was here. :P

I don't know if I could've finished Q4 without God Mode. I probably could if I played it about a dozen times to get used to where all the enemies are, but that's not really that fun. God Mode + Rocket Launcher = Destructive Fun.

Also, I added another slot fan just above my GPU, and I tweaked the settings a little bit, so now it runs smoothly at 1280x1024 fullscreen with full effects. And I do have to admit, though... the game is very good looking.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 02:59   #19
Too-DAMN-Much
The Big Bad Boots
(Forum King)
 
Too-DAMN-Much's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 420 Big Buds Way
Posts: 3,964
Send a message via Yahoo to Too-DAMN-Much
@sarge, you should check out "F.E.A.R" it's enemies freak me out in singleplayer (the A.I. will hide when you do and you lose them) and it's got graphics that make the halo cinematics look like a five year old's scribblings
i can only stand to play it at about half graphics settings (too much lag elsewise)

I hate everyone, so you don't have to.
Too-DAMN-Much is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 03:50   #20
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
I might have to check that out some time. Thanks.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 00:17   #21
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
F.E.A.R rocks. It does lug around a beefy graphics engine however.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2006, 14:22   #22
old and quite mad
Major Dude
 
old and quite mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The PLANET Pluto
Posts: 774
I finished Q4 last night. It is very nice eye candy on an SLI machine, but the game play isn't really all that different from Q2 (not that Q2 was bad, not at all). The AI occasionally looks for cover, and some of the Strogg are twitchy when you shoot at them, but they are all twitchy just alike, if you take my meaning.

My biggest gripe is that the game is too dman dark. You spend 60% of your mission time running around with the flashlight on looking for a green door to run through. I know why they designed it that way, but after awhile claustrophobia just turns into bored irritation. Cut some lights on next time.

The search for the ultimate signature continues apace. I have journeyed from the peaks of Nepal to the depths of oceanic trenches. I have crossed deserts, jungles, swamps, savannas, steppes and frozen wastelands. I have consulted with seers, swamis, sages, scholars and savants. The peregrination proceeds purposefully.
old and quite mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2006, 23:43   #23
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
I ended up turning the brightness level up before I really started playing the game. Originally, it was too dark for me as well.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2006, 19:08   #24
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Just finished Q4 the second time around.

I thought it was fairly good, but seemed a lot like doom3 gameplay wise. It wasn't scary though. Disturbing in places, yes, but i had no problems playing Q4 in a dark room.

Now that i'm well and truly done with it, i think it's time to fire up the legacy games box for some classic GLQuake...
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2006, 02:16   #25
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
I still need to find a copy of the original Quake. I mean, a legit copy. I've got legit copies of 2, 3, and 4, so I need to find the original.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2006, 11:34   #26
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
Quote:
Originally posted by fc*uk
F.E.A.R rocks. It does lug around a beefy graphics engine however.
I agree. It's by far the most psychologically scary FPS I've ever played (except possibly System Shock 2, but I'm not sure I consider that an FPS).

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > Games Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump