Old 14th February 2011, 08:31   #1
bdrv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 183
Mandelflyer program - really neat

Hello all,

Check out this mandelbox program it is has very high quality 3d mandelbrot graphics.
http://www.mediafire.com/?8zm36mqqj566hc8
from here: http://www.fractalforums.com/mandelb...ime-mandelbox/
in exchange, it would be fantastic if one of you with masses of milkdrop presets from the last year or 2 could upload a folder somewhere online

edit-This program seems to be by the same guy, it's probably the updated version. seems like i have to update my laptop too. 2fps http://boxplorer.sourceforge.net/

cheers
bdrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 17:20   #2
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 867
Yes, it's amazing what can be done outside milkdrop. It's excellent for screenshots but when it comes to moving around, the 2fps I get with my GeForce 7600 even at the smallest resolution are not really exciting.

I made a mandelbox preset in milkdrop, see here
http://forums.winamp.com/showpost.ph...9&postcount=56
The quality of the picture is not comparable because in milkdrop we have no objects, no rayshading, hence no reflections and shadows etc. Pity, but still better than I had hoped for.

As to a massive presets collection, check this link

http://forums.winamp.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=101

Be warned, these might be more than you wish for. Can't tell when it was updated last.
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 21:49   #3
Flexi
wellspring of milk
Major Dude
 
Flexi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 54.089866,12.11168,18.75
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via ICQ to Flexi
heh, martin's link fixed: http://forums.winamp.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=101
To get up to date with the latest presets, visit the silly mash-up thread and take one of the last packs by ayahuasca chupacabra / suksma.

The boxplorer works for me, but the mandelflyer only shows me a blank screen.
But I'm working on a very tiny Milkdrop-like tool for GL-shaders too, but since the days between Christmas and New-Year I'm only procrastinating with the editors and menus. Work work work and family on the weekends... *stereotypical* Graduated from university, moved in with my girlfriend, having a job, and the first kid is on the way!

you were missed! (the attached preset is from january 2009 )
Flexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 22:15   #4
bdrv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 183
Haha! time to learn diapers! I'm back in france to fix up an apartment and have been busy coding a synthesizer that i hope will be crammed with features and arpeggiators and pray isnt a pipe dream. thing about girlfriends are they often insist not to stay on the pc so much.
thanks for that preset! i did some blue green one of this http://www.moonwater.com/Bonaire/WPA...in%20Coral.jpg recently but i think i lost all my presets from 2010!

martin that is unbelievable... i had the impression that the navigation was done by algorythm. it would be good to have some textures and shadowing in milkdrop 3. can you imagine a logical process to wrap the milkdrop textures around shapes instead of being under them?


for the mandelflyer i forgot to say you have to check load/preset. i am the same at 0.8-2 fps, i figured you have ATI twenty million ddr9 gtixz something.
bdrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2011, 17:46   #5
Nitorami
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erlangen
Posts: 867
@Flexi - thanks for correcting the link - don't know what happened to it.

@bdrv: Yes, the navigation is an algorithm which tries to find a free path through the mandelbox. As to texturing and shadowing the answer is clearly no, unfortunately. Not feasible in milkdrop, which just works in 2D. Even if the preset looks as if you were flying through a 3D cube, this is a dirty trick - to milkdrop it's STILL an entirely flat surface.
Nitorami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2011, 11:16   #6
bdrv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 183
yes it's a great navigation algo.

i'll upload a copy of boxplorer here with some presets so i can download it again when i am at a friends house cos at 200x200 pixels i am still get 4 fps on my 1400 radeon. why i sell my desktop?!

http://www.mediafire.com/?tefc2n7izmm76mr
bdrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2011, 15:33   #7
Flexi
wellspring of milk
Major Dude
 
Flexi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 54.089866,12.11168,18.75
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via ICQ to Flexi
Here's an unfiltered copy of my personal bdrv folder from my current Winamp/Milkdrop installation: http://www.mediafire.com/?he9ono7q3rj5q58
There are also a lot of personal prototypes and experimental ones in there.
You might need Milkdrop v2.22 Beta: http://stashbox.org/961838/vis_milk2.dll for some issues with the editors after a conversion to unicode.
With the last update some of my old presets also compile to a slightly higher shader operation count than 64 (Shader model 2) and you must updgrade the shader versions and save the changes for those affected files then. Else the radeon should work fine

have fun!
Flexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2011, 16:20   #8
bdrv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 183
my word, 87mb of presets! from ravermeister85... that will keep me busy for an evening. Thanks it is brilliant to see you have the bdrv presets in much better order than i do! ok shader model 2 is enabled here, i found someone selling a fast game pc here so i will be ok for good graphics, hopefully will also see the boxplorer presets at 20fps, because actually i get 0.6 fps for 2 seconds and then BSOD unless i do 320x320 resolutions. modern graphics cards do Quake 3 arena at 1360 fps whereas my graphics card is 60fps so its time to update.

Thanks for the presets!
bdrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2011, 16:38   #9
Flexi
wellspring of milk
Major Dude
 
Flexi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 54.089866,12.11168,18.75
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via ICQ to Flexi
I'm absolutely fine with my HD3870 - highest framerates with almost all presets! Only some outstanding presets by Martin or Eos don't run here. My next buy will be a Tegra2 Android3.0 tablet though. guess how curious I am to hack some visualizations!
Flexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2011, 00:34   #10
Flexi
wellspring of milk
Major Dude
 
Flexi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 54.089866,12.11168,18.75
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via ICQ to Flexi
I've replaced martin's mandelbox code from the stepper version with an old bdrv mix and rotated the result 90°

1 minute mash-up!
Flexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2011, 00:35   #11
tirtuaxy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Winamp Forums - Reply to Topic

Quote:
I've replaced martin's mandelbox code from the stepper version with an old bdrv mix and rotated the result 90° 1 minute mash-up!
...
tirtuaxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 19:41   #12
bdrv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 183
Wow nice youtube video i am honored to have a flexi remix. I will see if i can get some remixes organised here some time but i am working on procedural landscape modelling at the moment for a friend's game, using my audio trigonometry and the 2d/3d formula knowledge i learned from milkdrop to make mountains, canyons, etc. will send a youtube vid when it is released i still have a dream to make procedural games engines because what indy game producers have the time to spend making infinately large games contents when maths can do something more fun faster!
bdrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > MilkDrop > MilkDrop Presets

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump