Old 24th April 2006, 03:09   #1
Kev.R
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 4
detachable toolbar

Can anyone help me please.
does anyone know of a skin which allows the visualisation toolbar to be detached.
i use the visualisation for projecting on to a screen in a club,but i would like to be able to edit the visuals live, as i go along. i know there are keyboard shortcuts for moving to the next viz, but this often doesn't work.
what i want is to have the vis playing through the projector, and the vis editor and toolbar on my laptop screen
Kev.R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2006, 07:39   #2
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,363
the hotkeys and the editor should be enough. you can also use a midi keyboard to control the presets.
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2006, 22:01   #3
Kev.R
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 4
i wished it were. please enlighten me.
if i have got the editor open and make any changes to the vis, when press ctrl-u it doesn't move on to the next vis.
i have to close the editor then the shortcut key works.
this is a problem as i don't want people to see what i am doing on the projector.
maybe i am missing something, as winamp is new to me.
Kev.R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2006, 00:37   #4
StevenRoy
Senior Member
 
StevenRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 129
Send a message via ICQ to StevenRoy Send a message via AIM to StevenRoy
Yeah, those hotkeys don't always work when the editor is open. (Jumping ahead to the next preset when you press U would make editing difficult, you see.)

You might need to use "Preset -> Load" instead. Some of the vis-data pauses while you do that, though, so it's probably not the best solution.

Also, look at the "Settings -> Presets/Hotkeys" screen. You can use that to jump to specific presets (if you set them up beforehand) without having to use Preset -> Load, and you can also turn off the save prompt too, which may also be useful in your case. (Probably worth noting that this hotkey feature actually saves a copy of the current preset into a file named after the key.)

What kind of editing do you do "live"?
StevenRoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2006, 10:48   #5
fsk
Senior Member
 
fsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: right around the corner
Posts: 223
how can you use the midi keyboard yath? just map it to keys or something more?

editing presets live is a pain since they freeze whenever you tuch anything (damn i hate that about avs). you can code in some things to tweak and then use the VJ control ape. for switching presets Hotlist is the simplest and best solution imo.

I hate signatures!!
*bangs his head on the keyboard in hope of getting an idea*
Ufihreevf43n98pevfr
fsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2006, 17:39   #6
Kev.R
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 4
This is why i thought a detachable toolbar might be the answer,(r u listening developers)i could live with the slight freezing issue.
Steve most i the stuff would involve playing about with the trans/movement presets, and anything else i might like to play with as i go through them.
i didn't want to save any changes to them after moving to the next one, but being able to edit them on the fly makes things more dynamic/interesting.
Kev.R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2006, 09:57   #7
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
First of all:
Use overlay, so the crowd won't see what youre working at.

Second:
Try to use a second monitor for larger and more comfortable workspace if possible.

Third:
Try Hotlist!
It fits most of a VJ's needs in matters of flexible automized preset control and is -by now- the most advanced overhead controller for avs.

-Go here: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=235788
-Download Version 2.2 and upgrade to 2.3RC2
-you will need to install RC1 before RC2 for it to work (more information provided in the thread)
-Installer coming soon!

Fourth:
For Editing on the fly i would also recommend you to use the vj.ape. Messing with code during a performance is allways bad, better if you have preassigned controls which will behave the way you designed them to.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2006, 16:55   #8
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,363
i'd also recommend the use of vis_avsmod.dll as it has a bigger workspace, useful dock-in-editor mode and much faster controls than going to the menus.



you can download it here
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2006, 00:51   #9
Kev.R
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 4
thanx guys much appreciated,
Kev.R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2006, 10:09   #10
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 333
only there are 2 problems I have with the visbot-mod:
-no resizing
-comment field has different width and font ->some comments screwed up [eg. mine ]
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2006, 12:22   #11
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally posted by Yathosho
you can download it here
...clicking link...
...signing up...
...entering file area...
Message: File access is currently unavailable. Please try again later.
...wondering...


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2006, 13:21   #12
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally posted by Magic.X
...clicking link...
...signing up...
...entering file area...
Message: File access is currently unavailable. Please try again later.
...wondering...

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2006, 18:43   #13
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
No offence, but that modded AVS looks absolutly horrible.

Oh wait, that was in offence.

It still looks butt-ugly though.

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2006, 08:58   #14
JaVS_v2.5
Forum King
 
JaVS_v2.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seremban 2, Malaysia
Posts: 2,717
Send a message via Yahoo to JaVS_v2.5
i think it's delicious

Last played [offline]: Lamb of God - Nippon
-- JaVS :: h i p o t e s i s
JaVS_v2.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2006, 08:48   #15
cyborg010
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: rotterdam, netherlands
Posts: 23
vis_avsmod.dll

the link submitted before doesnt work....
can i find it somewhere else?

thnx
cyborg010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2006, 00:56   #16
TomyLobo
Major Dude
 
TomyLobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
i recommend the use of aperesize.ape over vis_avsmod.dll.
it allows you to change the size of the editor dynamically.
if you want a bigger "workspace" (i think yath refers to the in-config render by that) then you should detach it from the config window

If you can't say something nice, say something surrealistic.
TomyLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump