Old 3rd October 2011, 07:11   #1
TobiasAndrion

Hey this is my first effect

Hey guys, this is my first evar effect in milkdrop. It's nothing fancy and I would ask for advice but it would probably be lost to me anyway. This was mostly just me messing around with settings until I was satisfied (trying to decipher that one outdated tutorial the whole time).

Let me know what you think
Attached Files
File Type: milk crazyzoom.milk (5.0 KB, 174 views)
TobiasAndrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2011, 18:09   #2
TobiasAndrion

Just updated it. I tweaked the zoom and I think it is much cooler now.
Attached Files
File Type: milk crazyzoom2.milk (5.0 KB, 165 views)
TobiasAndrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2011, 18:51   #3
blastofftek

Hello TobiasAndrion and welcome to MilkDrop. Don't feel uncomfortable, I'm a total noob too

Your preset is a good start... by reading your settings I see that you've been fiddling with custom shapes and custom waves too. You generally did some quick research. Let me give you some tips and advice.

Try checking the textured option in a shape and see what it does... you might like it, experiment with 'textured', 'texture angle', 'texture zoom' and 'additive drawing' to exercise.
By reading other presets you learn interesting stuff. Many use textured shapes, and some use multiple instances of a shape too (normal or textured). Do take often looks on others' codes and settings (by pressing M), you'll find valuable tricks in there. Also remember to save often (with S). It's REALLY annoying when you lose two hours' work....