Old 23rd February 2013, 17:55   #1
akadavar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Winamp 2.95 on Windows 7

I would like to put Winamp 2.95 into my "C:\Program files (x86)" folder but it would crash every time due lack of administrator permissions.

Does anyone here got idea how fix it without turning UAC off?
akadavar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2013, 20:18   #2
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,206
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
installing it you mean?

did you try to right click the file to install, and click "run as admin"?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2013, 20:40   #3
akadavar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Yes, but every time I try to run the programme, UAC screen appears and asks me for administrator privileges. That's little bit annoying.
akadavar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 01:27   #4
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,206
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
ok, so that was to install.

now installed, did you try to run as admin once?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 06:01   #5
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadavar View Post
Yes, but every time I try to run the programme, UAC screen appears and asks me for administrator privileges. That's little bit annoying.
Windows 7 instituted a lot of restrictions on programs to increase the security and stability of the OS. Default restrictions on what folders programs are allowed to write to, restrictions on how entries are made to the registry, and others. There are various ways to get around these restrictions, but that will only lead to more problems in the long run.

Why not use the current version of Winamp 5.63? It was updated to be compatible with Windows 7. Would you try to put an engine from a Ford Mustang made in 1999 into a Ford Mustang made in 2009? Would you expect that engine to run without some annoyances? Software is not much different. If you want to run old software, then run it on the OS version that was current when the software was released.

With the rapid pace of computer hardware and software evolution, you really can not expect backward compatibility to last more than a few years (5 at the most, 3 is more realistic) without having to make allowances for the changes.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 06:27   #6
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,206
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i like 5.63, so u could try full if u try Aminifu's suggestion, however u could also try 5.63 lite, which may seem more like v2.x to you.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 08:32   #7
akadavar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
I used to use 2.95 under 98, XP and now it works under 7 x64 nearly perfectly.

The best walkround is to place winamp folder outside "Program Files (86)". Maybe one day I will find better solution to fix it.
akadavar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 08:48   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,778
Why?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 10:32   #9
akadavar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Becouse of low ram consumption, simplicity, no backdoor worms... and just becouse I want to.
akadavar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2013, 10:42   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,874
backdoor worms??? wtf are you going on about.

if you want to keep using 2.95 then you need to deal with the issues it has on newer OSes.

people have given you the only viable options (i.e. 5.63 and not installing what you don't want). if that doesn't fit what you want then if you insist on using a leaked 11+ year old version then you need to deal with it.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 03:08   #11
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadavar View Post
I used to use 2.95 under 98, XP and now it works under 7 x64 nearly perfectly.

The best walkround is to place winamp folder outside "Program Files (86)". Maybe one day I will find better solution to fix it.
Then "nearly perfectly" is all you are going to get. Your solution works for reading and writing to folders, but it does not solve the reading and writing to the registry restrictions.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2013, 15:38   #12
pjn123
Major Dude
 
pjn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\ , South-Africa
Posts: 1,030
@akadavar - The amount of ram that 5.63 lite will use will definitively not affect your system.

If you're really short on ram you'll be way better off with just installing the 32bit version of Windows 7.

PS: Did you try changing the properties of your Winamp shortcut > Compat > Run this program as admin

ClassicPro© v2.01 : This plugin allows you to use cPro skins in Winamp. ClassicPro skins are all SUI skins and loads very quickly. ClassicPro skins is even easier to skin than Winamp Classic skins. A new layout have been added since version 2.
Download ClassicPro© ==== cPro Skins ==== ClassicPro© Homepage ==== SC Forums
pjn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2013, 17:01   #13
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,047
If you install Winamp Lite and disable features you don't use in the installer, you'll end up with an install that's identical to Winamp 2.95 and actually more efficient. It might use a touch more RAM because it is using Unicode internally (2 bytes per character instead of 1), but it should be a drop in the bucket compared to how much RAM you require for Windows 7. If you're using the media library, it'll use a little more RAM than 2.95. But the media library is literally orders of magnitude faster in a modern version versus 2.95. My 60,000 track media library takes >30 seconds to show the UI on 2.95 and about 1/4 second on 5.7
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2013, 19:45   #14
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,206
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Benski! so nice to see you back on the forums... i wish you were here more.

i'm looking forward to bug hunting in 5.7

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Tags
2.95, windows 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump