Old 14th February 2012, 10:33   #1
vampiru_fz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Active Winamp error

Hello, I'm new here...I have one problem when i try to install activewinamp...it stop at " gen_activewa.dll " ...(sry for my english ) ...someone can explain step by step ..what i have to do ?..Thank you.
vampiru_fz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2012, 14:04   #2
vampiru_fz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
heey

somebody ?? pls
vampiru_fz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2012, 14:25   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you need to have some patience as you cannot expect an immediate answer (ignoring the post by jnisa which seems like potential spam to me), especially when you're trying to install an unsupported 3rd party plug-in which has not been supported by the original plug-in author for a number of years now. replies can take up to a few days to come (if at all), so bumping a thread within 3.5hrs is frowned on (and i had been in the process of replying, but now i've had to write out this part to basically tell you off).


most likely you're running the installer without the correct admin access (at a guess as you have never mentioned the OS you're using) and that the plug-in is unable to register itself correctly.

either way, you should either look to try the newer version which was compiled and posted in the discussion thread about the plug-in. or give up on trying to install it since it is unsupported and undeveloped and see if there is an alternative to do whatever it is you're trying to do with the plug-in in the first instance.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2012, 15:08   #4
vampiru_fz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
DrO , can u watch at this screen capture ? http://89.44.131.113/1.mp4

is correctly what i doing ? when i press to " configure plugin " some error apears...
vampiru_fz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2012, 15:19   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the plug-in basically won't work on any current OS (like Windows 7 as you appear to be using) and so it will do everything that you're seeing from failing to install correctly to causing Winamp to crash.

as no one supports / develops it since it is a 3rd party plug-in, you either need to get ahold of the source code and fix the issues (which i doubt is viable for you) or use something else as you've not stated what it is you're installing it for in the first place as there is likely to be another plug-in which will work.


so the simple summary is: activewinamp is broken and unsupported so please don't use it.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2012, 15:32   #6
vampiru_fz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
okey , Tnx...i just want to use one remote control aplications...salling clicker..to remote winamp from distance...exist another program to do this via Wifi , internet ..no bluetooth ???Tnx again.
vampiru_fz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2012, 05:03   #7
ryerman
Major Dude
 
ryerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 750
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
the plug-in basically won't work on any current OS (like Windows 7 as you appear to be using) and so it will do everything that you're seeing from failing to install correctly to causing Winamp to crash....
-daz
I can understand your request / recommendation to not use ActiveWinamp.

1. The installer is a mess (the Staff Review: "Very easy to install and to get going with" is laughable).
2. Even the best patched version is broken. (scripts called from the ML often execute twice)
3. There is no support by the author. (Whatever happened to Shane Hird?)

But, ActiveWinamp is usable on my system (after registering the dll manually, replacing the dll with a patched version, and putting the script files where they belong). Maybe (probably?) it will stop working after a future Winamp version update. For now, it's a way to do whatever a script can do with information taken from Winamp. Also, it supports a Windows Gadget called "Now Playing" which controls Winamp from the desktop or Vista Sidebar and has an excellent album art display feature.

Maybe ActiveWinamp is more trouble to get working than it's worth but I plan to use it as long as possible. If only Mr. Hird or some other developer would surface to whip the bugger into shape! And I now know better than to ask for help or support for this plugin.

Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Winamp 5.666, Bento Skin
ryerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2012, 09:45   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryerman View Post
1. The installer is a mess (the Staff Review: "Very easy to install and to get going with" is laughable).
that review which was made by me _was_ correct at the time of the review, but if you note the date of the submission then you'll know that it is years old. i guess i need to find someone with the means to remove submissions from the site (or even better, try to lobby for the complete removal of all plug-ins - would save so many issues being reported).

and that then leads on to the other issues and is why unless someone knows how to fiddle things to attempt to make it to work (as you appear to have been doing), then it should not be used as it will cause more issues than it's worth.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2012, 14:37   #9
vampiru_fz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
and another program to remote winamp from my smartphone nokia 5800 Via internet , wifi...does exist ? Ty
vampiru_fz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2012, 15:03   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you could have a look at some of the http controller plug-ins on the main site (or use that as a basis for a search) and see if there is anything which is suitable and would work with your phone. however i'm not able to suggest anything specific as it's been years since i've looked at them and i'm not even sure if your phone would be able to use them.

also activewinamp wouldn't have been suitable for doing that anyway.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2012, 17:56   #11
vampiru_fz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
ok..thank you very much .
vampiru_fz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump