Old 10th March 2008, 17:03   #1
alexk01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 17
on-air telephone calls

Does anyone have an affordable sollution to take on-air telephone calls from listeners?
alexk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2008, 17:27   #2
arthurvasey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
If you have a mixer and a mobile phone with a hands-free kit, you could connect that up to the mixer and do it that way.

The drawbacks:

You would have to broadcast your mobile number on air;

You can only take one call at a time;

You can only use one channel on your mixer for calls and one for music;

You wil have to alternate between calls and music;

Call quality may not be very good (phone calls were never meant for broadcasting, anyway);

As you are using a mobile, you may have to place geographical restrictions on your call - some mobile companies charge you for RECEIVING calls from abroad - as I found out when I was in Gambia - I couldn't phone or text anybody on my Vodafone number and Africell billed me for calls and texts I was receiving - some mobile companies won't let you phone abroad, either.

Arthur Leslie Vasey
arthurvasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2008, 17:40   #3
alexk01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 17
I just found out that I can use Skype for this. The only problem is I would like to be able to have mustiple callers on a single number. I would like to be able to put callers on hold... Any ideas?
alexk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2008, 17:52   #4
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
There is a kit to put on your phone and plug into your pc available from Tandys or Maplins.

have a google around you should find it easy ennough.
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2008, 18:01   #5
alexk01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 17
Nick, you mean this?

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...rding&doy=10m3
alexk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2008, 18:03   #6
alexk01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 17
Maplin BT Socket Recording Lead?
alexk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2008, 18:05   #7
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
Not quite, it was more of a thing that strapped to your phone.

That looks like it may do the trick though.

I would consult the technical team at the store.
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2008, 18:12   #8
alexk01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 17
The problem with using something like this is:

The Broadcast Audio would contain broadcast-quality Host Audio mixed in with telephone-quality Host Audio. Therefore, the voice should be separated by a more sophisticated device.
alexk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2008, 22:05   #9
Phantom210
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10
If your phone has a headset socket, wouldn't it work to simply plug a cable into it, and then directly into the sound card?
Phantom210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2008, 17:30   #10
alexk01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 17
I am talking about something more like this: http://208.37.242.61/

Username can be anything, password is: comrex

Do you like the idea? The only problem is there is over $3,000 of hardware you have to buy to use this software. I am looking for a simple foftware with voice over IP like Skype... any ideas?
alexk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2008, 17:34   #11
alexk01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 17
I don't know why the link is not coming out. Go to google, search for Tomrex, once on their site, click on products, STAC, scroll half wat down, and click on CONNECT to a Working STAC.

This link is to an actual working STAC system at their facility in Massachusetts, USA. The demo works best via Internet Explorer 6 or higher or Mozilla Firefox 1.0 or higher. The username can be anything you like but the password is comrex (lowercase) They recommend running the demo in full-screen mode (F11 toggles full-screen mode on most browsers).
alexk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2008, 01:16   #12
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
ummm Skype with a skype in number... or just force the people who want to call you to use skype so it is skype to skype, which is free all over the world.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2008, 16:36   #13
alexk01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 17
Yeah, Skypein would work, but there is no way to screen calls. Go to tomrex site and check out their online application for screening calls. (look at my previouse post) I wish skype would create something similar.
.
alexk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2008, 08:02   #14
dirtysouthradio
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 309
Send a message via AIM to dirtysouthradio
YES U CAN

MAN IVE USED ABOUT EVERY PHONE THING FOR THE INTENER I COULD FIND SKYPE AIM PHONE AND THE ALL SUCK TILL NOW


IF U HAVE A RADIO STATIO AND WANNA TAKE PHONE CALLS GET A

MAGICJACK US A USB DEVICE THAT U CNA USE ON YOUR COMPUTER WITH A MIC AND HEAD PHONES OR U CAN USE IT WITH A REGULER PHONE ITS 45.00 FOR THE FIRST YEAR WITH THE DEVICE WITH 30 DAY TRIAL AND ITS 19.95 A YEAR EVERY YEAR FREE LONG DISTANCE AND 411 IN THE USA

WWW.DIRTYSOUTHRADIOONLINE.COMITune In Now
DirtySouthRadio <~~Aim For Request
dirtysouthradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2008, 13:32   #15
alexk01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 17
Hey, thanks DirtySouthRadio. I just ordered one. Gonna give it a try. But what do you use to get the caller on the air?
alexk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2008, 14:54   #16
arthurvasey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
That MagicJack thing is only available to Yanks or Canucks - what about us Brits?

Arthur Leslie Vasey
arthurvasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2008, 08:12   #17
Afterdark_b
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London uk
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by arthurvasey
That MagicJack thing is only available to Yanks or Canucks - what about us Brits?


Just Take your Head phone jack from you Mobile Phone and plug it into your mixer line in job done it works for me :d
Afterdark_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2008, 06:35   #18
dirtysouthradio
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 309
Send a message via AIM to dirtysouthradio
MAN

Quote:
Originally posted by alexk01
Hey, thanks DirtySouthRadio. I just ordered one. Gonna give it a try. But what do you use to get the caller on the air?

ONCE U GET THE MAGIC JACK PLUG IN TO YOUR USB IT WILL WALK U TREW THE STEPS AFTER U GOT YOUR NUMBER AND YOUR READY MAKE A CALL GO TO WHERE SAYS MENU GO TO VOLUME HEAD SET CONTROL CLICK THE BUTON THAT HEADSET/ OTHER THEN U ARE READ TO TAKE CALLS WHEN SOME ONE CALLS IN ALL U DO MUTE YOUR MUSIC AND TAKE THE CALL IF U GOT ANY PROBLUMS U CAN HIT ME ON MY AIM NAME


AIM NAME IS DIRTYSOUTHRADIO

WWW.DIRTYSOUTHRADIOONLINE.COMITune In Now
DirtySouthRadio <~~Aim For Request
dirtysouthradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2008, 06:36   #19
dirtysouthradio
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 309
Send a message via AIM to dirtysouthradio
Quote:
Originally posted by arthurvasey
That MagicJack thing is only available to Yanks or Canucks - what about us Brits?

U CAN USE IT ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD IF U WANT PEOPLE FROM THE USA TO CALL U ALL U GOT TO DO JUST PICK A USA NUMBER

WWW.DIRTYSOUTHRADIOONLINE.COMITune In Now
DirtySouthRadio <~~Aim For Request
dirtysouthradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2008, 11:47   #20
alexk01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 17
Re: MAN

Quote:
[i]U CAN USE IT ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD IF U WANT PEOPLE FROM THE USA TO CALL U ALL U GOT TO DO JUST PICK A USA NUMBER [/B]

Can people oversees call US as well?
alexk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2008, 15:24   #21
dirtysouthradio
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 309
Send a message via AIM to dirtysouthradio
yeah but i think would be long distance mabey investing in a toll free number and forward that to the magic jack number thats what im going to do if u wanna here how the magic sound im going to be doing a interview in 30 MINS 1PM CHECK EM OUT

WWW.DIRTYSOUTHRADIOONLINE.COMITune In Now
DirtySouthRadio <~~Aim For Request
dirtysouthradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump