Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd June 2005, 21:01   #1
Tasha25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
After Paused, Music Plays for a few seconds thern stops again.. More Info Inside!

Hi,

When running the latest Winamp, I puase my music when I go away from the computer for a minute or two. When I come back, and click the pause button again, to unpause, my music plays for a second or two, then cuts out. I then have to press the pause button twice to get it to play again.
I have tried a full re-install, but to no avail.
Also, this evening, I was listening to a song, and it suddenyl just kept cutting in and out. :s I do not get any error messages, nor does Winamp crash or do anything else at all. All that happens is the music stops.
I have run 'Hijack This', and it is not a problem with 'winhlp32.dll'. I have also never visited a website called 'mp3university'.
The songs I am listening to are ripped from a CD to the computer.
I have only had this problem since the last update of Winamp a few days ago.

Winamp Version: v5.092
OS: Windows XP Home (legitimate version)
File type being played when problem occurs: .wma

Thanks for any help.
Tasha25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 21:34   #2
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
I can reproduce this, kinda...

Clean install of Winamp 5.092 (only 'third-party' plugin is JTFE 0.97 R Build 3), DirectSound output tweaks applied.

To reproduce:
1. Start a WMA file
2. Click 'Pause'
3. Wait some time*
4. Click 'Pause' again to unpause the song
5. It will indeed play some seconds and then hang. The song hangs, not Winamp: after clicking pause twice it'll resume playblack again.

*Some time is still a bit unclear... It doesn't happen everytime, but sometimes even hitting 'Pause' again after some seconds will cause the song to hang.

Windows XP SP2
Dell Dimension DIM2400
Celeron CPU 2.20 Ghz
256 MB RAM
Intel 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller
SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio
CD: Lite-On LTN486S 48x Max
DirectX 9.0c
HijackThis log attached


@Tasha25
You may want to try the DirectSound output tweaks as well. A HijackThis log could also be useful. Do you have any 3rd-party plugins?
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.txt (3.0 KB, 1159 views)

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 21:44   #3
Tasha25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
I don't have any 3rd Party Plugins. I did what that post you showed me said. I'll leave my Winamp paused for a few mintues, then see what happens.

Attached below is the HJT log.
Attached Files
File Type: zip hijackthislog.zip (2.0 KB, 1067 views)
Tasha25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 21:53   #4
Tasha25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Nope just unpaused, and the same problem, still.

Just tested a .mp3 file, and I don't get the problem, so its something to do with .wma files. :\
Tasha25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 22:05   #5
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Yup, it's only with wma, as far as I noticed...

I also tried with equalizer disabled/enabled > no difference.

I could no longer reproduce the issue after I turned off fading on pause/stop. Could you confirm that?
Prefs (Ctrl+P) > Output > double-click DirectSound output > tab Fading >
select 'on pause/stop'
uncheck 'Enabled'

To me it seems to be a problem with pausing WMA files when fading on pause/stop is enabled.

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 22:09   #6
Tasha25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Fading On/Pause stop wasn't enabled anyway. I did think it may have been a problem with the 'Notifications', but it still happens when they are turned off, too.
Tasha25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 22:29   #7
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Mmh, I can still only reproduce it when fading on pause/stop is enabled. Not sure what's happening here...

I think it's best now to wait for a moderator to notice this thread. He will then try to reproduce and if he can he'll report it to the devs.
Unless you find other options/settings that influence this behaviour, of course. If you find anything, just post it.

Btw, I'm using classic skin so I don't think it's a skin issue either then...

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 22:51   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
I can't reproduce this with the latest internal test build (pre 5.093/5.10) of in_wm.dll so it's highly likely that whatever bug was in the old (5.092) version has already been fixed.

Are your wma files drm-protected or not? (mine aren't, heh)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 23:00   #9
Tasha25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
I don't think the .wma files are drm-protected,a s they have come directly off a CD of mine.

I suppose i'll just have to wait until the next build comes out, and hope it fixes it, unless anyone else has any suggestions of how to fix the problem.
Tasha25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 23:19   #10
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Just to confirm: the WMA file I tested with isn't DRM-protected either.

Tasha25, if I were you I'd just wait for the next version. You could try switching to waveOut output (Prefs > Output) to see if that makes a difference (if you really can't stand the issue). Other than that I don't really have ideas...

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 23:30   #11
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Quote:
Originally posted by Tasha25
I don't think the .wma files are drm-protected,a s they have come directly off a CD of mine ...
If you ripped the tracks with Windows Media Player then they are protected by default unless you turn it off.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2005, 22:22   #12
Tasha25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Well, oddly enough, it's fixed, for now.

I uninstalled, rebooted, then reinstalled, and then tested. Nothing is wrong now. Thanks for all help given.
Tasha25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 13:36   #13
squirmish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10
im having the exact same problem. ever since I installed 5.09 version, now im using 5.093 and I have reinstalled but it still does it. Im on windows xp pro edition, I dont know how to find other information about my puter
squirmish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2005, 17:37   #14
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
Start > (All) Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Information is a good place to start.

The System Summary information is pretty good to list here, as is the general information (name) from Components > Display and Sound Device.

A HijackThis log can be produced using these instructions.

Also, are you using any third-party plugins (not included in the default Winamp installs)?

The instructions from the HijackThis reference are also good for information on doing a clean install.

Hope this helps you help us help you .

jmat
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2005, 02:54   #15
squirmish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10
From System summary info
OS Name: Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version: 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer: Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
System Model: Inspiron 600m
System Type: X86-based PC
Processor: x86 Family 6 Model 9 Stepping 5 GenuineIntel ~1395 Mhz

From Sound Device
Name: SigmaTel C-Major Audio

From Display:
Name: MOBILITY RADEON 9000

Hope this is the correct info u need!
Attached Files
File Type: txt log.txt (8.9 KB, 1297 views)
squirmish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2005, 02:56   #16
squirmish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10
oh yeah i meant to say I don't know what 3rd party plug ins are, eep. sorry!
squirmish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2005, 03:06   #17
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
Third-party plugins are ones that you install yourself which are intended to enhance Winamp's functionality beyond the default plugins installed. Use this list as a baseline reference for which ones are first-party plugins. The rest are third-party.

Also, you may want to download this plugin which will enable you to generate a list of installed plugins and that you can attach here.

Usage:

Preferences > Plug-ins > General > double click "One for Nunz v1.5a" [or left click Configure] > Generate text file of all installed plugins

The above file will be saved in "winamp_directory\plugins\my_plugin_list.txt" [where winamp_directory is Program Files\Winamp by default]

You may also want to check Open text file once generated [before generating the file of course] to make it easier for you to save the file to a simple name and a known location so that you can find it later to attach here.

I hope this wasn't too difficult to understand and that it helps, jmat
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2005, 05:43   #18
squirmish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10
oh in that case I don't think there would be any 3rd party plug ins, i just used the install file i downloaded from the website and thats it

ok i got the text file too from the plug in u gave me
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list.txt (1.4 KB, 1047 views)
squirmish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2005, 13:57   #19
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Don't know if this is related, I get almost the same effect seeking backwards in a file, but not with pause.

In fact

Santa Cruz - Hardware mixing supported.
DirectSound affected, recovers gracefully
WaveOut affected, recovers gracefully.

Terratec - Hardware mixing not supported
DirectSound not affected.
WaveOut screws up big time and sits on exactly 50% CPU usage.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2005, 07:53   #20
squirmish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10
bump
squirmish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2005, 22:11   #21
Azimuth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
I have also been seeing this problem (play/pause) using latest version. Fading is not enabled, using WMA files, DirectSound output tweaks applied.

Compaq Presario (FIC AM35)
AMD Athlon XP 2200+
256M RAM
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
ATI Radeon 9000
Windows XP Home SP2
DirectX 9.0c
Azimuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2005, 19:39   #22
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Can you still reproduce it with Winamp 5.094? (just released)
There have been some bugfixes to the wma input plugin.

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2005, 01:17   #23
Azimuth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Looks like my problem is solved! TY!
Azimuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2005, 12:33   #24
Azimuth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Well, it's back. Anyone else seeing this again?
Azimuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2005, 19:35   #25
adamhearn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
I'm also seeing this problem with playback of WMA files.

Winamp V5.1 Full
Windows XP SP2
Pentium M
2GB RAM
SB Audigy 2ZS (latest drivers)
DirectX 9C
All my WMA files are self created from my own CDs using CDEX V1.51. None have any DRM licensing.

One of my files which has exhibited the problem:
Quote:
Filename: D:\MP3\Evanescence\Fallen\02-Bring Me To Life.wma
Filesize: 3818586 bytes
Bitrate: 128624 bps
Seekable: true
Stridable: false
Broadcast: false
Is_Protected: false
Is_Trusted: false
Signature_Name:
HasAudio: true
HasImage: false
HasScript: false
HasVideo: false
CurrentBitrate: 128624
OptimalBitrate: 128624
HasAttachedImages: false
Can_Skip_Backward: false
Can_Skip_Forward: false
HasArbitraryDataStream: false
HasFileTransferStream: false
WM/ContainerFormat: 1
Title: Bring Me To Life
Author: Evanescence
Description:
WMFSDKVersion: 7.01.00.3055
WMFSDKNeeded: 0.0.0.0000
WM/AlbumTitle: Fallen
WM/Year: 2003
WM/Genre: Gothic Rock
WM/Track: 1
WM/AlbumCoverURL: http://www.albumcoverurl.com
ENCODEDBY:
WM/MCDI: B+96+3F93+850F+BE7B+10BDA+14292+19409+1DF7C+222DE+2636B+2ABE3+30BDB
WM/TrackNumber: 2
It's been a problem for quite a while now (started noticing it back some time ago with one of the V5 upgrades). It doesn't always happen though and I just happened to think about it when I saw there was a new version available.

Details:
Play a WMA file 'for a while'.
Pause, Winamp shows the pause symbol in the display and the time flashes.
Unpause starts playing for approx 2 seconds with the track time updating.
Then the playback stops with Winamp still showing the play symbol and the visualisation graphic is stuck where it last was when the music was playing. The time doesn't flash like in pause mode. If that didn't explain it well, here's a screenie:



It's a clean install of Winamp V5.1 (uninstall & delete dir before install) with the following additional plugins:
- gen_DiminHotkeys.dll
- in_umx.dll

In testing I've used the Winamp interface as well as the Dimin hotkey interface (I've a Dell multimedia keyboard) and I can get it to happen with both.

I'd appreciate it if anyone has any insight into why this is happening.
adamhearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2005, 02:53   #26
adamhearn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Just to add that it's fairly easy to reproduce with the following:
Load the playlist with WMA files
Let one play
After the 2nd track plays for a short while, press pause
Unpause and the track should play for 2 secs (more or less) then stop again.

Running a file monitor, you can see Winamp is buffering the file in 5974 byte chunks. Here's a trace:
Quote:
03:44:14 winamp.exe:844 READ D:\MP3\Bon Jovi\Bounce\10-You Had Me from Hello.wma SUCCESS Offset: 413408 Length: 5974
03:44:14 winamp.exe:844 READ D:\MP3\Bon Jovi\Bounce\10-You Had Me from Hello.wma SUCCESS Offset: 419382 Length: 5974
03:44:14 winamp.exe:844 READ D:\MP3\Bon Jovi\Bounce\10-You Had Me from Hello.wma SUCCESS Offset: 425356 Length: 5974
03:44:14 explorer.exe:280 QUERY INFORMATION C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe SUCCESS Attributes: A
03:44:14 explorer.exe:280 OPEN C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe SUCCESS Options: Open Access: Execute
03:44:14 explorer.exe:280 QUERY INFORMATION C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe SUCCESS Length: 1144320
03:44:14 explorer.exe:280 CLOSE C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe SUCCESS
03:44:17 explorer.exe:280 QUERY INFORMATION C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe SUCCESS Attributes: A
03:44:17 explorer.exe:280 OPEN C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe SUCCESS Options: Open Access: Execute
03:44:17 explorer.exe:280 QUERY INFORMATION C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe SUCCESS Length: 1144320
03:44:17 explorer.exe:280 CLOSE C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe SUCCESS
03:44:17 winamp.exe:844 READ D:\MP3\Bon Jovi\Bounce\10-You Had Me from Hello.wma SUCCESS Offset: 431330 Length: 5974
03:44:17 winamp.exe:844 READ D:\MP3\Bon Jovi\Bounce\10-You Had Me from Hello.wma SUCCESS Offset: 437304 Length: 5974
The 'pause' is shown at 03:44:14 Explorer.exe.

The unpause is shown at 03:44:17 Explorer.exe. Right after this you can see Winamp only makes a further two reads of the WMA file. After pause/unpause again, the next block read was:
Quote:
03:45:16 winamp.exe:784 READ C: SUCCESS Offset: 529408 Length: 3072
03:45:18 winamp.exe:784 READ C: SUCCESS Offset: 488448 Length: 14336
03:45:26 winamp.exe:784 READ C: SUCCESS Offset: 6604288 Length: 16384
Hope this helps in some way!
adamhearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2005, 03:33   #27
Chris000001
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 105
I have an idea. It might not be a good one, but here it goes. You might want to try disabling Global Hotkeys. I don't have the problem you're talking about, but I was thinking if the Global Hotkeys register you pressing pause key, and whatever software your keyboard is using to register the pause key also sends a pause to Winamp maybe it's like pressing pause twice very fast, so Winamp un-pauses and then re-pauses so you only hear the few seconds that are buffered...?
Chris000001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2005, 09:08   #28
adamhearn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
I looked, but they are already disabled.

Edit: In order to reproduce it, you can use the following which seems to work every time for me.

Load playlist with multiple WMA tracks
Play the 1st track until the WMA file is fully read in (I used a file monitoring tool from www.sysinternals.com). This is usually quite a way before the actual song finishes.
Skip to the next track and let it play for 5 seconds or so.
Press Pause
Press Play
Song plays for 2 seconds then stops.

I have 100% success rate in reproducing this with the above. Is there any internal diagnostic data produced by Winamp I can enable?

Last edited by adamhearn; 10th September 2005 at 09:40.
adamhearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2005, 17:54   #29
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Reproducable here.

Play a track and seek towards the end of file, play for a few seconds
Ckick 'Next', play for a few seconds
Click 'Pause', wait for a few seconds
Unpause, buffer plays out and playback stops

out-ds, out_wave the same.

On a side note the 'Reset to default settings' button in out_ds seems to be resetting to 'on entry' rather than 'default'

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2005, 18:54   #30
WinAmpEd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
This is driving me crazy!!!! Hasn't anyone got a solution to this issue yet?
WinAmpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2005, 19:58   #31
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Okaaaay... I've finally just managed to reproduce the problem...
Although it's sporadic and doesn't happen every time, heh.

I'll bring it to the devs attention (again).


For now, if your WMA files aren't drm-protected then you can either:

a) Disable in_wm.dll and add ;WMA to the extension list in the DirectShow Decoder (in_dshow.dll) config,

or

b) You can use an older version of in_wm.dll (1. from v5.08 or 2. from v2.50)


/Moved from Tech Support to Bug Reports
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2005, 20:04   #32
adamhearn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Good news you managed to reproduce it at least
adamhearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 15:51   #33
amazinmetboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
I'm getting this in 5.1 on wma files as well. Any word on resolution progress?
amazinmetboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 16:01   #34
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
The bug outlined in this thread was fixed in Winamp 5.11 (latest version is 5.12)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2008, 18:46   #35
JBettis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
I have this problem in Winamp 5.531. I am using only bundled plugins and I do use global hot-keys.
JBettis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump