Old 28th December 2005, 09:34   #41
sacharja
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
Just wanna say thx for fixing the vbr seeking bug
sacharja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 14:50   #42
sacharja
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
I assumed that this bug was fixed because the files of Easy CDDA worked and the history revealed this entry:
"* Fixed: [in_mp3] incorrect length reported with Easy CDDA Extractor encodes"

Unfortunately Winamp has still problems with the seeking of AAC files. I encountered it with the free Bonkenc (which uses the FAAC encoder) and found this entry in the version history "* Improved: [in_mp4] FAAC-compatible (mostly) gapless playback"

When is this going to be fixed? The updated in_mp4 of v5.33beta is still crippled. Tested on a stereo MPEG-2 LC-AAC file with "Bitrate: VBR (140)".
sacharja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 15:17   #43
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Bonkenc? What is the bug exactly? Sample file?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 16:09   #44
sacharja
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Bonkenc? What is the bug exactly? Sample file?
http://simpleupload.net/download/458...--Rmx.aac.html

Bug as the first: seeking is broken and time is not displayed correctly.
sacharja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 16:51   #45
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
I've reuploaded the sample file here (sampleupload site sucks big time)
http://stashbox.org/11944/Counterstrike---Rmx.aac

Seeking seems to work ok for me, but yeah, tracklength/bitrate detection is a bit borked (says 1:14 in pledit, but changes from 0:58 to 1:14 to 1:16 to 1:21 in main window). I guess this has something to do with it being vbr.

Also note that in_mp3 handles .aac files, not in_mp4 (though yeah, they both use aacPlusDecoder.w5s for decoding). You should probably use an encoder which puts the vbr lc-aac in an mp4/m4a container, rather than using raw aac.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 19:43   #46
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
yeah, it's because of it's VBR and there's no seek table or VBR header of any kind with AAC. Seeking works OK for me, too.

It also seems like it's using a buggy encoder (maybe old nero) and it's throwing a bunch of bits in the first few frames, and then the bitrate trails off as the song continues.
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 21:45   #47
sacharja
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
It also seems like it's using a buggy encoder (maybe old nero)[/B]
As I said it uses the FAAC MP4/AAC Encoder that´s why I quoted the changelog of winamp above.
sacharja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 21:57   #48
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by sacharja
As I said it uses the FAAC MP4/AAC Encoder that´s why I quoted the changelog of winamp above.
Yeah, FAAC is the old Nero encoder. .AAC files aren't written with any kind of seek table, so VBR files are inherently difficult to seek in. The only reason VBR MP3 works is because there is a de-facto standard for a seek table. MP4 (AAC) files also inlude a seek table. There's nothing I can do to improve performance with VBR .aac files. You should encode as .mp4 files instead. Note, however, that there is a bug in 5.33 beta 1079 with FAAC MP4 files that's been fixed for final.
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2007, 16:11   #49
sacharja
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
I tested it with other players:

WMP Classic: no jumping seeking button, gapless seeking, correct time is constantly shown

RealPlayer: no jumping seeking button, after 2 seekings the correct length is shown constantly

VLC: no time given, but also no jumping seeking button


After all there are absolutely no problems with WMP Classic. I don´t know how it does it, but the thing is open source. Maybe it uses the specified bitrate of 35kbit/s?

PS: I don´t use the mp4 container, because my car audio and mp3 player can´t read metadata, but they do read Id3 tags.
sacharja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 15:02   #50
sacharja
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
Will there be a fix in 5.33? If not, is there an encoder (maybe free) which could convert multiple files in raw aac that winamp understands?
sacharja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2007, 14:51   #51
sacharja
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
??
sacharja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2007, 15:51   #52
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
This isn't a bug in Winamp, it's a limitation of the file format you're using. The seekbar jumps as Winamp plays back because it is keeping track of the average bitrate so that it can make better and better guesses about the total length. It could be kept smooth, but the position and length would not be accurate (and I presume on the other players you mention, it's not actually accurate, it just looks that way)

Why not use Winamp's AAC encoder instead? It's much better quality than FAAC
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2007, 20:36   #53
sacharja
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
Quote:
It could be kept smooth, but the position and length would not be accurate (and I presume on the other players you mention, it's not actually accurate, it just looks that way)
Can you please test the file with WMP Classic It shows the correct length even before the file starts to play!

How can I convert multiple files with Winamp which are on my HDD?

Quote:
Why not use Winamp's AAC encoder instead? It's much better quality than FAAC
v1.24 looks like the same that http://www.bonkenc.org/ uses (v1.24.1)
sacharja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2007, 21:35   #54
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
How can I convert multiple files with Winamp which are on my HDD?
If the files are in your playlist or media library, you can right-click and Send-To: Format Converter.

Quote:
v1.24 looks like the same that http://www.bonkenc.org/ uses (v1.24.1)
Winamp's AAC encoder uses Coding Technologies' AAC encoder, not FAAC. If you are seeing a FAAC-based encoder, it's from a third party plugin you've installed.
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2007, 08:54   #55
sacharja
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
If the files are in your playlist or media library, you can right-click and Send-To: Format Converter.
Thanks.



Quote:
Winamp's AAC encoder uses Coding Technologies' AAC encoder, not FAAC. If you are seeing a FAAC-based encoder, it's from a third party plugin you've installed. [/B]
Sent you a PM.
sacharja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump