Old 4th December 2004, 03:38   #1
TazDevil
Senior Member
 
TazDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 359
Media Library searching (why case-sensitive in greek)....

Winamp 5.07 - clean install (with NO 3rd-party plugins)
WINXP SP2
Athlon 2100+ 1733MHz | RAM 512MB
Media Library Plugin v2.11

OK, this is the problem

I am a greek guy but i listen to both greek and english music so I like to have my song titles and informations (tags) in greek for the greek songs

when i search for english songs the search is not case sesitive (eg, dion will find Dion) while when i search for greek songs the search is case sensitve and i dont want that because i have to remember the exact info about each song so (âáíäç will not find Âáíäç or ÂáíäÞ)

Also in the greek language we have accents like á -> Ü (I hope this is readable, please use greek encoding if not it should be an "a" and an a with an accent)
anyway if there was a way not to diferenciate between the two all the greek community would be very happy


Thank you very much in advance

Last edited by TazDevil; 4th December 2004 at 03:58.
TazDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 14:19   #2
magnet2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
in_dshow.dll

If you play any *.wma audio with in_dshow.dll, the song can't be seeked. This happened since 5.06, 5.05 is fine. My english is poor, are you understand me?

Computer:

OS: Windows XP sp2
System: p4 1.7G, Giga-byte 845PE, 256M SDRAM;
Video Card: ATI RADEON VE, Video Card Drivers: Microsoft
Sound Card: Intel 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller
Sound Card Drivers: Microsoft
DirectX version:9.0c
Winamp 5.06, 5.07 - clean install (with NO 3rd-party plugins)
magnet2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2004, 00:22   #3
TedHead
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Media Library

Click on a form of streaming media like Winamp.com Music or Video. When you type in the search box before the list has been retrieved, the genre and artist filters won't appear, even if you clear the search box. To make them reappear, you have to click on a whole new media view on the left, then back into the streaming media you were viewing.

My first bug report, I don't even know if it's a bug, just trying to help out...
TedHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2004, 07:40   #4
Knifa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Media Library

While installed, if I try to play a song, I get a memory error and it kills Winamp.

Windows XP Pro SP2
AMD 2200+ XP (1.8 overclocked to 2.0, not the cause of the problem because I've tried it without the overclock)
nVidia Geforce 6800 GT, latest drivers
Soundblaster Audigy 2, latest drivers
512mb of RAM
Clean install of Winamp


[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Not a chance of reproducing this. Post in Tech Support instead,
and include details of the error message and a HijackThis log.
Knifa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2004, 12:53   #5
*tey
Junior Member
 
*tey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 26
Winamp 5.07 - Full

------------------
System Information
------------------

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 1 (2600.xpsp2_gdr.040517-1325)
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.0
Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1.70GHz
Memory: 256MB RAM
Page File: 285MB used, 333MB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

------------------
Plug-in bug report
------------------

The DSP/Effect Plug-in, Nullsoft Signal Processing Studio DSP v0.36, causes pure noise in the left channel while playing ogg vorbis files. Even though, this noise will vanish once you check the Downmix all to mono setting in the multichannel tab of the Nullsoft Vorbis Decoder v1.35 [in_vorbis.dll] plugins´ configuraton.


[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Not here it doesn't :/
What's your mobo & soundcard? Got the correct/latest drivers?
Does this happen with ALL sps presets?
Can you provide a link to a sample ogg file which causes the problem?
*tey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2004, 00:07   #6
Denyer
Junior Member
 
Denyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Some of the WMA files I've downloaded recently (bobrivers.com, etc) seem to crash on the beginning or end of tracks. (Playing in Winamp 5.05 and 5.07) ...no DSPs or other plugins added, output via waveOut, and replacing in_wm with an older version (1.00, before it was borked) seems to sort the issue completely, so it's not a problem and I generally replace in_wm eventually anyway. Just thought I'd mention.

WM codecs installed are WM9 on top of WMP7 (I don't use it for anything, but WM9 codecs apparently require at least WMP7.)

Win2K SP3, PC Chips K7 M825, 950 Duron, 256Mb PC2100, everything onboard, probably DirectX 8.1
Denyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2004, 14:24   #7
undone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
Winamp 5.07 - clean install (with NO 3rd-party plugins)
Windows XP Pro - patched manually, no SP's
Intel Pentium 4, 2.4 GHz, 512 MB RAM, ASUS P4PE-motherboard
Matrox Millenium G450-gfx-card - driverpackage 5.92.006
M-Audio Delta-44 sound-card - WDM-driver 5.10.00.0048
DirectX 9.0c

Plugin : DirectSound output v2.2.10

Since long, I've been having this phenomena using a M-Audio Delta-44 soundcard and Winamp (all 5.0x version from what I can recall - including 5.07), and more specifically the output-plugin "DirectSound output v2.2.10".

The problem lies in when I play a 24-bit WAV-file followed by a 16-bit WAV-file - then a loud strange metallic sound occurs. It sounds like audio feedback of some sort. If I stop the song, pause the song or change to another song (no matter if it's a 16 or 24-bit) the sound comes back to normal again. Also it doesn't matter if I disable or enable the different fading-modes on the Fading-page in "DirectSound output settings" (I prefer to have them disabled) - the error still occurs the same way. Nothing else I've tried to change in the different settings (enabling/disabling "create primary buffer", etc.) seems to affect this either. I've witnessed this "bug" in Winamp with other M-Audio-soundcards as well, but never with any other program. This also does not happen with the "waveOut Output"-plugin.

winamp_phenomena.mp3

Here's a soundclip of the phenomena. What you hear is a 24-bit wave-file played in Winamp, followed by a 16-bit wave-file (at 00.06 in the soundclip). Then I stop and replay the 16-bit wave-file, and all goes back to normal. I've decreased the volume on the "feedback"-part with 12 dB to spare your speakers. :-D

[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Hmm. It's links to the actual wav samples that we need.
Is "hardware acceleration" enabled in out_ds config? (or is this grayed-out?)
Does checkmarking "convert 24-bit to 16-bit" in in_wave config make any difference?
undone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2004, 20:36   #8
undone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
@ Dj Egg

Hardware acceleration is grayed out in out_ds-config. Yes, checkmarking "convert 24/32-bit to 16-bit" in in_wave-config makes the problem go away.

The Wav-files are just regular 16- & 24-bit 44.1 kHz stereo wavefiles (Microsoft Wave-format) created with Sonic Foundry Sound Forge.
undone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2004, 23:33   #9
JF7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
I found a reproducable crash in gen_ml.dll when WinAmp 5.07 is run
as non-admin user. It occurs a couple of seconds after starting any
song title. The peaks are not running at all.
Admin users can run it in this configuration fine.

Please find the debugger output below.
Thanks
JF


...
ModLoad: 01cb0000 01d1a000 C:\Programme\Winamp\Plugins\gen_ml.dll
...
(804.520): Access violation - code c0000005 (first chance)
First chance exceptions are reported before any exception handling.
This exception may be expected and handled.
eax=0209e008 ebx=00000000 ecx=00000000 edx=071d0037 esi=0209e008 edi=00000000
eip=01cb869d esp=0012be90 ebp=024a79d0 iopl=0 nv up ei pl zr na po nc
cs=001b ss=0023 ds=0023 es=0023 fs=003b gs=0000 efl=00010246
*** WARNING: Unable to verify checksum for C:\Programme\Winamp\Plugins\gen_ml.dll
*** ERROR: Symbol file could not be found. Defaulted to export symbols for C:\Programme\Winamp\Plugins\gen_ml.dll -
gen_ml+0x869d:
01cb869d 8b4728 mov eax,[edi+0x28] ds:0023:00000028=????????
0:000> !analyze -v
***************************************************
* *
* Exception Analysis *
* *
***************************************************

***** OS symbols are WRONG. Please fix symbols to do analysis.

***************************************************
*** ***
*** ***
*** Your debugger is not using the correct symbols ***
*** ***
*** In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path ***
*** must point to .pdb files that have full type information. ***
*** ***
*** Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not ***
*** contain the required information. Contact the group that ***
*** provided you with these symbols if you need this command to ***
*** work. ***
*** ***
*** Type referenced: ntdll!_PEB ***
*** ***
***************************************************

FAULTING_IP:
gen_ml+869d
01cb869d 8b4728 mov eax,[edi+0x28]

EXCEPTION_RECORD: ffffffff -- (.exr ffffffffffffffff)
ExceptionAddress: 01cb869d (gen_ml+0x0000869d)
ExceptionCode: c0000005 (Access violation)
ExceptionFlags: 00000000
NumberParameters: 2
Parameter[0]: 00000000
Parameter[1]: 00000028
Attempt to read from address 00000028

FAULTING_THREAD: 00000520

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: APPLICATION_FAULT

PROCESS_NAME: winamp.exe

ERROR_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - Die Anweisung in "0x%08lx" verweist auf Speicher in "0x%08lx". Der Vorgang "%s" konnte nicht auf dem Speicher durchgef hrt werden.

READ_ADDRESS: 00000028

BUGCHECK_STR: ACCESS_VIOLATION

THREAD_ATTRIBUTES:
LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 4d345c38 to 01cb869d

STACK_TEXT:
WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
024a79d0 4d345c38 66646c4f 646c6569 7272415f gen_ml+0x869d
705c3a44 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 0x4d345c38


FOLLOWUP_IP:
gen_ml+869d
01cb869d 8b4728 mov eax,[edi+0x28]

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 0

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

SYMBOL_NAME: gen_ml+869d

MODULE_NAME: gen_ml

IMAGE_NAME: gen_ml.dll

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 4189680a

STACK_COMMAND: ~0s ; kb

BUCKET_ID: WRONG_SYMBOLS

Followup: MachineOwner
---------


[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Known issue
JF7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2004, 19:20   #10
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Quote:
Originally posted by *tey
Winamp 5.07 - Full

------------------
System Information
------------------

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 1 (2600.xpsp2_gdr.040517-1325)
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.0
Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1.70GHz
Memory: 256MB RAM
Page File: 285MB used, 333MB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

------------------
Plug-in bug report
------------------

The DSP/Effect Plug-in, Nullsoft Signal Processing Studio DSP v0.36, causes pure noise in the left channel while playing ogg vorbis files. Even though, this noise will vanish once you check the Downmix all to mono setting in the multichannel tab of the Nullsoft Vorbis Decoder v1.35 [in_vorbis.dll] plugins´ configuraton.


[Edit --> DJ Egg]
Not here it doesn't :/
What's your mobo & soundcard? Got the correct/latest drivers?
Does this happen with ALL sps presets?
Can you provide a link to a sample ogg file which causes the problem?
I can reproduce it, but only when the input plugin is set to 24bit output (any plugin that supports 24bit output, not just in_vorbis).
Seems like SPS only works at 8 or 16 bit.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2005, 12:00   #11
my nick s taken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
in_mp3 breaks hard links

[in_mp3]

I have my music organized in albums and I am using a lot of hard links to save space if a certain song is on more than one album.

(You can create hard links under XP with fsutil hardlink create <new file name> <existing file name> or one of the tools lurking the internet)

If you change the IDv2 Tag on a linked file, the linkage gets broken and the linked files get separated.

It seems that the plugin creates a new file, copies the old information into it and deletes the old one. It should do the changes in the original file instead.

This may also be an issue in folders/network shares where the user has only create but no write access or vice versa.

Fozi.


[Edit --> DJ Egg]
No, this is not a bug. MP3's need to be rewritten when you edit an id3v2 tag. That is the mp3 specification (the headers at the beginning of the file are rewritten when editing id3v2) and nothing to do with winamp.
[edit2]
Hmm, actually, afaik, this only happens if the track is actually playing at the time, ie. currently in use. Because the new id3v2 tag needs to be written to the beginning of the file, so the current file continues to play in the buffer whilst the new file is being created, and then the new file continues playing from where the old file left off.
btw, this is a feature, not a bug.
Your workaround would be to not edit the id3v2 tag whilst the file is playing.
Yes/no/maybe?


[Edit]
Is there a way to have an option to be less mp3 conformant? Does the specification really say that a new file has to be created in the process? There are ways to add data to the middle of a file without creating a new one.

Last edited by my nick s taken; 22nd January 2005 at 13:16.
my nick s taken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2005, 23:52   #12
andresillo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 9
change

JTFE's "move after current" (i'm usign the hotkey 'm')
works weird ...

How to reproduce:

• Press 'm' selecting the currently played file
• Press 'm' again selecting any other file...
• Repeat.-

gaekwad2 change that signature!
(the img url is too long)

ps. JTFE is Cool!
andresillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2005, 23:54   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
weird in what way? if you mean it just shows the playlist entry then that's how it's currently designed to work

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2005, 15:29   #14
xiaogou
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
Fullscreen Mode

In Winamp 5.08, which is the newset version, the fullscreen 'hiding' mode for winamp can sometimes malfunction.

This is a reproduable bug.

When you run some applications that run in fullscreen mode, if you selected the options for hiding the player while running fullscreen applications is checked, most of the time Winamp do hide itself and show up after that.

Try running a fullscreen application while Winamp's "Always on Top" is checked. Fullscreen application such as Microsoft Powerpoint presentation or a function built into Windows XP, the Picture Slideshow. The Winamp player hides well while these applications are running in full screen mode. But, when the user exits the full screen mode, the Winamp player could not be found!

I understand that Winamp player sets the Always on top off when it detects a fullscreen application is running, but sometimes it is not able to detect the fullscreen application ending.

I normally solve this problem by focusing on the main player followed by pressing CTRL+A two times, which is the shortcut to toggle always on top. This shows that pressing CTRL+A for the first time switches off always in top when it is initially on, and pressing the second time toggles it on again.
xiaogou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2005, 20:09   #15
ErevoS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Problem with JTFE

Winamp 5.04
Athlon 64 3000+
512 MB RAM
Windows XP PRO SP2 ENGLISH

After using winamp to rip a CD, the Jump To File option disappeared!! It does not exist anymore in the Preferences, or anywhere else, and the corresponding shortcuts don't work. Everything relevant to Jump To File in the config file was also removed!

I uninstalled Winamp, removed all the relevant registry values
I could find, installed winamp 5.08, but the problem remains.
I even copied the config file from another PC, re-installed the JTFE plugin, but nothing did the trick.
The plugin exists in the plugin directory.

And another little bug: sometimes, in the playlist file, the names of the songs that are in Greek, are replaced by question marks, so I have to keep a backup of the playlist file.
ErevoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2005, 20:12   #16
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
have a look at http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....38#post1613538

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 00:45   #17
ErevoS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
I disabled DEP for Winamp and Jump To File works again. Thank you for your help.
ErevoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump