Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > Winamp Development

Old 6th August 2008, 07:29   #1
p2puser

Winamp breaks mIRC scripts, and maybe its API and conventions too

Disclaimer: I am not a programmer. I'm just someone who has been using Winamp since 1.x and has been on IRC for years.

I did a clean install of Windows XP, and installed Winamp 5.54. After restoring mIRC from backups, the scripts that rely on Winamp didn't work like they used to so I tried to fix them. One of the things I did while troubleshooting the problem was renaming my Winamp folder in Program Files, and restoring an older version from my backups. The backups worked just fine.

I tried to figure out why the new version didn't work where older versions had no problems, and one of the things I found is that Winamp used to save Winamp.m3u in its program folder, but now it saves the file in %appdata%\Winamp.m3u. This causes the file to be created somewhere within "Documents and Settings" or "Users" in Windows, and breaks many applications in the process.

I fixed the problem in Windows XP by creating a special shortcut to Winamp.m3u in the Winamp directory. To do this, open the Command Prompt or go to Start Menu > Run... and type:

code:
fsutil hardlink create "c:\Program Files\Winamp"\Winamp.m3u "c:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Winamp\winamp.m3u"

Vista, Linux and other operating systems have more elegant ways to do this, such as symlinks.