Old 13th April 2001, 04:34   #1
iZotope
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4
We're working on a new Winamp plug-in that uses a ton of DSP. It's pretty cutting edge, and we want to make sure we optimize it for the right CPUs. We'd love to know what people are using for CPU (Intel PII, PIII, PIV, AMD Athlon, etc.) and speed (450, 600, etc.).

Thanks in advance!

Justin
iZotope, Inc.
http://www.izotope.com
iZotope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 04:40   #2
Jstalilwyrd
Major Dude
 
Jstalilwyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 948
Send a message via AIM to Jstalilwyrd Send a message via Yahoo to Jstalilwyrd
Hmm... interesting.

I have a Celeron 366 and a Pentium III 933.
Jstalilwyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 04:42   #3
Anacific
Major Dude
 
Anacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,744
Send a message via AIM to Anacific
I still have P200
I'll upgrade soon though...

"He who desires but acts not, breeds pestilence." - William Blake
WSPA | WWF | RSPCA | AAPA | Green Peace - Know and help...
The Rainforest Site | The Animal Rescue Site - Click and help...
Anacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 04:47   #4
NeoRenegade
Banned
 
NeoRenegade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada, eh?
Posts: 4,083
Send a message via ICQ to NeoRenegade Send a message via AIM to NeoRenegade
I have a PII-300 and a PIII-733. I think you should make whatever you make so it can run on a PI although barely... it would be more popular that way.
NeoRenegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 04:51   #5
weedsatan
Forum King
 
weedsatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Under the Ground
Posts: 2,303
AMD duron 650@784mhz should go higher but that's for after the exams... ( for which I'm studying right now )

"Insanity -- a perfectly rational adjustment to an insane world."
-R. D. Lang
weedsatan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 04:57   #6
Namelessv1
Forum King
 
Namelessv1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,757
Celeron 533, im feelin sluggish.
Namelessv1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 05:09   #7
ReDVsion
Major Dude
 
ReDVsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via ICQ to ReDVsion Send a message via AIM to ReDVsion Send a message via Yahoo to ReDVsion
AMD Thunderbird 1ghz, and I'm damn happy with it.

?
ReDVsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 05:16   #8
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
Quote:
Originally posted by iZotope
We're working on a new Winamp plug-in that uses a ton of DSP. It's pretty cutting edge, and we want to make sure we optimize it for the right CPUs. We'd love to know what people are using for CPU (Intel PII, PIII, PIV, AMD Athlon, etc.) and speed (450, 600, etc.).

Thanks in advance!

Justin
iZotope, Inc.
http://www.izotope.com
I'm running on a AMD Athlon K6-2 533mhz 128 sdram.

And might I add, Justin. What an incredible job you guys did on iZotape Vinyl. I am extreamly excited to see what you guys are working on now. Keep the forums updated.

Peace
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 05:19   #9
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
633 Celeron with 256 megs.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 05:33   #10
ReDVsion
Major Dude
 
ReDVsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via ICQ to ReDVsion Send a message via AIM to ReDVsion Send a message via Yahoo to ReDVsion
DOH! I feel stupid. I didn't even recognize your company name, but I LOVE THAT PROGRAM! It kicks serious ass. Keep us posted, definitely.

?
ReDVsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 08:11   #11
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
i just tried out their direct x version of Vinyl. Now I don't have to pass my audio through winamp to record low-fi vinyl sounds like I have been for months! yay!
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 08:52   #12
Xerxes
Capitalist Alumni
 
Xerxes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: my 4 Houses on Park Place
Posts: 8,687
Send a message via ICQ to Xerxes
850mhz Pentium, 256 RAM
I was going to name my computer but i don't know what yet...


Now is the time for all good Americans to come to the aid of their Country
Xerxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 09:30   #13
Kalervo Manni
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Finland
Posts: 241
Two machines, newer AMD K6-2 350 with 128 MB RAM and older one P166MMX with 32 MB RAM.
Kalervo Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 10:01   #14
The Valkyrie
Senior Member
 
The Valkyrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 225
AMD K6-2 333 Mhz 160MB RAM and Still pretty damn slow even with FAT32, Cacheman and Norton U optimizations
The Valkyrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 11:08   #15
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,104
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
Three machines

2 x HP Kayak - PII 400Mhz, 256Mb RAM
1 x Gateway - PIII 550Mhz, 256Mb RAM

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 11:20   #16
zorpidus
Major Dude
 
zorpidus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 1,137
Send a message via ICQ to zorpidus
PII 233 with 128 MB RAM *sigh*

just make the plugin so it will work with a PII

zorpidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 14:31   #17
bonj
Major Dude
 
bonj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: HEH!!!! :D
Posts: 920
Send a message via AIM to bonj
PIII 600E

heh?
bonj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 14:59   #18
Ice
Moderator Alumni
Americas Favorite Smut Peddler
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sun Prarie, WI
Posts: 3,303
Pentium II 334mhz.. 192mb ram.. need new computer.

I'd like to meet a mad man who makes it all seem sane
To work out all these troubles and what there is to gain
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 15:17   #19
Matt
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: England
Posts: 3,396
AMD K6-2 450mhz with 192MB of RAM
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 16:23   #20
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
*coughSHITcough*

here's mine...

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 16:43   #21
xapec
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
PIII 450 mhz (yuck) 128mb ram

(i'll probly be getting a new computer with in the next two months from either Dell or Alienware, or at least i hope to)
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 18:12   #22
distortion
Senior Member
 
distortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Long Island, USA
Posts: 109
Send a message via ICQ to distortion Send a message via AIM to distortion
Machine now:

P2 450@450 (ph33r my o/c skeelz) / 192MB / TNT2U / Plex 40x/8x20 SCSIs / PCI512


Machine thats laying on my couch unassembled:

Athlon t/b 1.333GHz @ 1.6 (on KT7-A) / 768MB PC133 CL2 Crucial / GF3 (as soon as it becomes available) / Live! / Plex's from above / Cyclone 5000 Ultra / 60GB + 80GB

oh you just wanted chip specs... my bad
distortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 18:32   #23
xapec
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by iZotope
We're working on a new Winamp plug-in that uses a ton of DSP. It's pretty cutting edge,
would this have anything to do with izotope ozone ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 18:36   #24
Somebody
Major Dude
 
Somebody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,531
PII 350


distortion: you suck

I want to own you with my knife now.
Somebody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 18:50   #25
DeLiRiUmLB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 277
Home built AMD K6-2 350mhz.
64 mb ram
Voodoo 3 2000, yes i know, it sucks
Winamp 2.74
uhhh anything else??
DeLiRiUmLB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 18:56   #26
ReDVsion
Major Dude
 
ReDVsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via ICQ to ReDVsion Send a message via AIM to ReDVsion Send a message via Yahoo to ReDVsion
You know, at this point in time, when computers are CHEAP ASS, I'm surprised none of you have upgraded... unless you're completely broke or something...

Distortion: You DO suck. - Out of curiosity, how much did that sucker cost you? And isn't that similar to the Tomshardware.com OCed system?

Also, why would ANYONE need 763mb RAM (aside from the bragging rights)? I'm surprised distortion didn't get DDR mem or somethin' with the system he's got.

WHY IS IT NOT ASSEMBLED?

?
ReDVsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 19:06   #27
distortion
Senior Member
 
distortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Long Island, USA
Posts: 109
Send a message via ICQ to distortion Send a message via AIM to distortion
its not assembled becuase all the parts havent arrived yet

didnt go with DDR becuase all the DDR chipsets are buggy... ddr needs some more time to mature

I went with alot of ram because I do alot of photoshopping/brycing/lil max etc...

with a samsung 900NF monitor the grand total was about 2500 bucks including all the shipping. Also keep in mind this includes all the rounded cables, case, p/s cpu cooler, etc absofreakinlutely everything

I joke here but this system design wasn't built so much to brag but just not to have to do it all over again in a year.
distortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 19:29   #28
whocarez
Senior Member
 
whocarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 190
Send a message via ICQ to whocarez
k6-2 500
jetway 542-c m/board 100mhz bus/udma 66
128mb ram
pci soundblaster esoniq

That oughta do ya, in the politest way possible of course

"i'm not weird i'm gifted"
whocarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 20:33   #29
nateJC
Major Dude
 
nateJC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: an interstella burst i'm back to save the universe
Posts: 953
Send a message via ICQ to nateJC Send a message via AIM to nateJC Send a message via Yahoo to nateJC
Current computer:
500MHz Intel Celeron
64MB RAM of some sort
http://www.hp.com/cgi-bin/cposupport...Tfile=bph05223

Future computer (once I buy and assemble the parts)
1GHz AMD K-7 T-bird
256MB PC-133 SDRAM
60.4GB IBM Ultra-IDE ATA/100 7200RPM HDD w/2MB cache
Toshiba 12x DVD-ROM w/40x CD-ROM read
CenDyne 32x/12x/10x CD-RW drive

This is your brain.
This is your brain on pot.
This is your brain desperately searching for Doritos.

natejc@myrealbox.com || Prosthetic Head || Go ahead, press it, you know you want to!
nateJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 20:35   #30
nateJC
Major Dude
 
nateJC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: an interstella burst i'm back to save the universe
Posts: 953
Send a message via ICQ to nateJC Send a message via AIM to nateJC Send a message via Yahoo to nateJC
Current computer:
500MHz Intel Celeron
64MB RAM of some sort
http://www.hp.com/cgi-bin/cposupport...Tfile=bph05223

Future computer (once I buy and assemble the parts)
1GHz AMD K-7 T-bird
256MB PC-133 SDRAM
60.4GB IBM Ultra-IDE ATA/100 7200RPM HDD w/2MB cache
Toshiba 12x DVD-ROM w/40x CD-ROM read
CenDyne 32x/12x/10x CD-RW drive
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Live! MP3+
Some form of GeForce 3 (whatever's the cheapest as long as it's not some generic crap)

This is your brain.
This is your brain on pot.
This is your brain desperately searching for Doritos.

natejc@myrealbox.com || Prosthetic Head || Go ahead, press it, you know you want to!
nateJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 22:08   #31
iZotope
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by iZotope
We're working on a new Winamp plug-in that uses a ton of DSP. It's pretty cutting edge,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
posted by xapec
would this have anything to do with izotope ozone ?
---------------------
Yes, in that we have this analog modeling and simulation DSP code that is used in Ozone as a DirectX plug-in for high end studio mastering. The same code and processing could also be used with Winamp (but wouldn't cost $200 like the DirectX version, of course). We know the DSP sounds great with music, the hard part is getting it to run on a reasonable CPU.

Writing one of those other "MP3 enhancers" and getting it to run in real time isn't a problem. Stuff like DFX doesn't seem that cool anymore (at least to us) but when it first came out a couple years ago people still had P120s. You couldn't do as much. Ozone is crunching a *lot* of numbers, maybe 10x as many real time things as something like DFX. Thank god you've got faster PCs now. So let's use it, right?

Your feedback on CPUs was great here. We've got some optimization to do, but there's a lot we can do with assembly and hand tuning and so forth.

Thanks,
Justin
iZotope, Inc.
iZotope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2001, 22:42   #32
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
kick ass! I wonder how much better this will be compared to DFX. hmmmm... I wonder what Dee will think of this hes not gonna be happy.
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2001, 02:56   #33
iZotope
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 4
Uh oh. We're new here. I don't know who Dee is, but we don't want to make anyone unhappy :-)

There are some tricks you can do with harmonics/EQ and stuff to make an MP3 enhancer, and do it pretty efficiently in terms of CPU. Our problem is the reverse, we have this DSP system for analog modeling but it doesn't run (yet) on a standard CPU. Two years ago we wouldn't even try. Now we're crazy enough to think we can do it.

If you like enhancers, you'll still like them. Ozone is very different. Much more subtle, modeling vintage analog high end gear (there's no "3D" slider in Ozone :-) Ironically, subtle analog modeling is a hell of a lot more CPU intensive.

By the way, thanks to those who complimented Vinyl. We were getting burned out on Ozone R&D and needed to do something fun to break up the work. As "lo-fi" as Vinyl is, Ozone is completely the reverse. It's all fun, though.
iZotope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2001, 03:24   #34
piesupreme
Major Dude
 
piesupreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: drum'n'bass mecca
Posts: 856
Send a message via ICQ to piesupreme Send a message via AIM to piesupreme Send a message via Yahoo to piesupreme
pentium ][ 350mhz, 128 meg ram, 8.2 gig hard drive, voodoo 5 PCI graphics card, DVD/CD-ROM/CD-R combo thingymibob, 56K V90 modem (damn), and a partridge in a pear tree

oh yeah, and lets not forget the 3.5" floppy drive

-----------------------------------------------------

on the other hand, bill gates has a triple pentium 666 65000mhz processor, 128000 meg ram, 8.2 million gig hard drive, super-duper-mega-warpdrive-2000 graphics card, and more than his fair share of the internet. he is the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the world

use the search, that's what it's there for.
Jungle Ravers never die, all we do is multiply
piesupreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2001, 03:31   #35
ReDVsion
Major Dude
 
ReDVsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via ICQ to ReDVsion Send a message via AIM to ReDVsion Send a message via Yahoo to ReDVsion
Dee is another DSP plugin for winamp that many of us here like to use to enhance the sound of our music. Frankly I just use MAD and leave it at that, but it is a very nice program, and free. Not as advanced as Ozone is gonna be, or as CPU intensive, so I don't see why it was mentioned. I'll have to seriously look into ozone, but it better be good. I'm still working on buying Cool Edit 2000/Pro, and I use it CONSTANTLY. It's not something I'm proud of admitting...

?
ReDVsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2001, 03:42   #36
rm'
Banned
 
rm''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 11,361
I've been begging and pleading for a Babbage Difference Machine No 4 for ages.
rm' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2001, 03:54   #37
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
Quote:
Originally posted by ReDVsion
Dee is another DSP plugin for winamp that many of us here like to use to enhance the sound of our music. Frankly I just use MAD and leave it at that, but it is a very nice program, and free. Not as advanced as Ozone is gonna be, or as CPU intensive, so I don't see why it was mentioned. I'll have to seriously look into ozone, but it better be good. I'm still working on buying Cool Edit 2000/Pro, and I use it CONSTANTLY. It's not something I'm proud of admitting...
I didn't know exactly what they were doing, but since it was appartently going to be a very good DSP, I figured it might crush Dee. But now know they each are used for two different things, kinda.

Quote:
Originally posted by ReDVsion
I'll have to seriously look into ozone, but it better be good. I'm still working on buying Cool Edit 2000/Pro, and I use it CONSTANTLY. It's not something I'm proud of admitting...
Who said you have to buy it? Drop me an email. I'll hook you up. MYslySNY@hotmail.com
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2001, 03:55   #38
BigStarPlaya
Senior Member
 
BigStarPlaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 236
Old:
PII 350
Current:
Self built, AMD 1.2GHz Thunderbird 256Megs of RAM.
BigStarPlaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2001, 03:58   #39
nateJC
Major Dude
 
nateJC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: an interstella burst i'm back to save the universe
Posts: 953
Send a message via ICQ to nateJC Send a message via AIM to nateJC Send a message via Yahoo to nateJC
Quote:
Originally posted by Radioactive Man
I've been begging and pleading for a Babbage Difference Machine No 4 for ages.
Is that a reference from the novel "The Difference Engine", RM? Or is this something completely different? I've heard of Babbage's Difference Machine No. 2 but never No. 4

This is your brain.
This is your brain on pot.
This is your brain desperately searching for Doritos.

natejc@myrealbox.com || Prosthetic Head || Go ahead, press it, you know you want to!
nateJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2001, 21:41   #40
ReDVsion
Major Dude
 
ReDVsion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,426
Send a message via ICQ to ReDVsion Send a message via AIM to ReDVsion Send a message via Yahoo to ReDVsion
SNYder: I HAVE the program, full version, but I use it so much that I feel guilty for NOT buying it, see? I know some of you don't have morals about software, but I do. I still feel guilty for not buying winamp when it was shareware.

?
ReDVsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump