Old 24th October 2017, 13:54   #1
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
Default DNAS Page Player Broken

My station plays fine when the stream URL (http://radio.replayscape.com:8096) is used in any standalone player or the embedded player on my website, however the simple player embedded on

http://radio.replayscape.com:8096/index.html?sid=1

plays only one second in Chrome (latest, Windows 7) then stops.

Using latest Firefox it plays even less than a second then stops and shows error message "Infinity:NaN:NaN" (both on my Win 7 in Australia and on two friends' Linux boxes - USA and Czech).

This has never worked and I ignored it but this week people responsible for the vTuner station listing told me it doesn't work for them either now that I have converted from DSNASv1 to DNASv2 (their directory listing points to the above web page). This listing is used by Bose listeners.

Remixing listener requests of ambient tracks live http://RePlayScape.com

Last edited by sqgl; 24th October 2017 at 15:06.
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 15:05   #2
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 556
Maybe a issue based on your browser cache. My first click results in the same issue with Firefox but after reloading the page it works. In Chrome it works on the first click. (Win7)

BTW: The Player in the DNAS is the "normal" html5 audio-tag not a real "embedded" player.

https://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_audio.asp
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 15:19   #3
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
Thanks (again) for testing, Neralex.

Quote:
Maybe an issue based on your browser cache.
My two friends who tried it have never visited the page before in their lives (so no caching possible). And it has never worked for me. Refreshing FF or Chrome does not help for me (just tried). Actually it does not play at all in Chrome anymore (was for one second previously).

Also, recall that I said it did not work for the administrator of the vTuner directory. They would not have had my page cached and should (hopefully) know the tricks.

So for some people neither the vTuner/Bose listings are working nor the Shoutcast YP listings. About time I relayed to IceCast who nowadays have their own official YP. They seem to use an HTML5 player and all stations work for me there.
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 15:39   #4
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 556
Did you tried it also with a CBR mp3 stream instead of VBR?
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 15:41   #5
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
My radio station is all CBR.

Remixing listener requests of ambient tracks live http://RePlayScape.com
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 15:46   #6
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by neralex View Post
BTW: The Player in the DNAS is the "normal" html5 audio-tag not a real "embedded" player.

https://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_audio.asp
The example there looks nothing like the source code of my DNAS page:
code:

<audio id="audio_1" controls preload="none" style="width:16em;padding:0;"><source src="/;?type=http&amp;nocache=28" type='audio/mpeg'></audio>



In particular...

<source src="/;?type=http&amp;nocache=28" type='audio/mpeg'>

looks much less civilized than the code in the w3schools example...

<source src="horse.ogg" type="audio/ogg">

or an example of what appears on the IceCast YP (which works for me)...

<source src='http://www.RemoteJukebox.ca:8000/RemoteJukebox.ogg' type='audio/ogg; codecs="opus"'>

Actually, I just tried the following more civilized looking URL in the w3schools testing environment and it only plays one second of my station's audio

<source src='http://radio.replayscape.com:8096/listen.mp3' type='audio/mp3'>

but at least it plays that one second whereas the "uncivilized" URL generated by the DNAS does not play at all.

Remixing listener requests of ambient tracks live http://RePlayScape.com
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 16:06   #7
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 556


This is the html5 audio-tag and you are using VBR, this is shown in your DNAS index.

An CBR stream looks like this: (MP3 @ 96 kbps, 44.1 kHz) instead (MP3 @ 96 kbps (VBR), 44.1 kHz)

If is it an AAC+ stream (VBR), then is it known that some browsers having issues with the playback. An CBR mp3 stream should work everything.

neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 16:18   #8
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
Thanks for your detective attempts, I appreciate your help, however...

Firstly I have never specified VBR in my config file anywhere or in my source.

Secondly my 128kbps does not say VBR (does not say CBR either admittedly) and it too does not work:

http://radio.replayscape.com:8128/index.html?sid=1

EDIT: Oh, wait, now I see, it is VBR if my source file is VBR, and CBR if my source is CBR. I happened to be playing different tracks on 128kbps vs 96kbps in the above example, however do note that it fails either way. I just tried playing a WAV file and it too fails.

Last edited by sqgl; 24th October 2017 at 17:25.
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 16:28   #9
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 556
I don't know what or where is your issue but the strange thing is, you are the only one who comes a long with things like this. So I guess this is all based on your end or what ever you are doing there. You can't specifify encoding-settings in the DNAS config. This is all source-based. Maybe is there your issue.

I'm running two channels, which have an 192kbit and a 96kbit mp3 stream-link. Both have a constant bitrate, no AAC+ and it works fine. I'm running the latest DNAS version v2.5.5.733/posix(linux x64) in private mode. Just saying...
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 16:38   #10
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 556
This works for me:

https://jsfiddle.net/sfbxy4ek/
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 16:59   #11
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
Remember, my stream works for you when you tune in to my DNAS page. Therefore it is unlikely to do with my hosting setup. More likely to do with my client/listening setup.

Can you please give me your SOE FM DNAS page and let's see if it works in my browser? Or does "private mode" mean nobody but you can see it?

I must have edited after/during your response. I noted my misunderstanding about how VBR ends up getting streamed (it just depends on my source, despite my transcoding it from icecast to various bitrate mp3's with a flag in my transcoder specifying LameCBRFlag=1).

Currently I am streaming CBR mp3 on my 64kbps stream and will leave it like that for the next 24 hours so that others who might offer help as kndly as you can rule out CBR vs VBR...

http://radio.replayscape.com:8064/index.html?sid=1

Quote:
If is it an AAC+ stream (VBR), then is it known that some browsers having issues with the playback.
Yes the YP page warns us of that, however whenever I do play VBR it is always MP3 and never AAC.

Last edited by sqgl; 24th October 2017 at 18:41.
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 17:04   #12
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by neralex View Post
(Not surprisingly) it does not work for me. Plays for just a second like before.
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 18:47   #13
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 556
Sometimes when I click on the fiddle link, it will not work with your streamlink and sometimes it works with the first hit. I guess its based on the buffering of the browser because sometime it preloads 15sec sometimes only 1sec.

My DNAS page is hidden because I don't need it in public. I will send you a Pivate Message, which contains the links.
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 19:21   #14
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,484
i have trouble with the audio tag player and the direct stream links...

have you changed any of the dnas buffering settings? and what is your source to dnas connection like, ie, is the source local to the dnas, or is the dnas on the same lan, or the dnas remote to the source.

do you see any source disconnects in the dnas log? also how do these listen attempts look in the log? in particular do the bytes and time seem to wash with respect to the bitrate?
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 19:39   #15
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
I wonder if the problem is that I am using an old shoutcast DSP plugin (v1.8.2b) in Winamp. Maybe it is time I changed it to SC DSP v2.3.5. However that requires upgrading (from WA5.541) to WA5.6 which is incompatible with my multiple-DSP-stacker (needed to use SC together with a compressor plugin).

Are there WA5.6 mutli-DSP-stackers out there?
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 19:43   #16
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 556
Not sure if it makes sense here but I had a simular buffering-issue with sc_trans years ago but its gone since I'm using Liquidsoap.
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 20:03   #17
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
Quote:
Not sure if it makes sense here but I had a simular buffering-issue with sc_trans years ago but its gone since I'm using Liquidsoap.
Maybe I can force my StreamTranscoder by OddSock to only output CBR (like I thought it already was) and I will then have the same results you got from using LiquidSoap.

What inspired you to use LiquidSoap in the first place?

EDIT: Oh wait, I forgot that the problem happens even when I am sending CBR, eg my 64kbps stream for the next 24 hours.
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 20:17   #18
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by djSpinnerCee View Post
have you changed any of the dnas buffering settings?
No mention of buffering in the config file

Quote:
Originally Posted by djSpinnerCee View Post
and what is your source to dnas connection like, ie, is the source local to the dnas, or is the dnas on the same lan, or the dnas remote to the source.
DNAS is remote to the source, but I can listen to my stream (by reliable means) and confirm a solid connection.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djSpinnerCee View Post
do you see any source disconnects in the dnas log?
Also confirmed in log

Quote:
Originally Posted by djSpinnerCee View Post
also how do these listen attempts look in the log? in particular do the bytes and time seem to wash with respect to the bitrate?
"HTTP client connection accepted" followed on the next logfile line by
"HTTP client connection closed (30 seconds)"
No errors despite the 30 second timeout and HTML page displaying "Infinity:NaN:Nan".
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017, 20:24   #19
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 556
Liquidsoap is very easy and helpful but it needs some time to understand how it works. For someone who is not familar with coding-stuff, it can be a huge learning curve. Its a own little scripting-language, where you can create different playlists, which can start on different time-slots. You have also a simple 24/7 solution to rotate between files in a folder or in a created playlist-file. You can mix the files in the 24/7 playlists with other playlists like jingles (track-jingle-track-jingle etc.). You don't need a restart after updating the playlists like sc_trans. Only if you changed the time-scheduling or other config settings, then it needs a restart but the restart-time is very short, so noone will be kicked from the stream. It needs not to much performance and works like a charme with SHOUTcast and Icecast. It runs as daemon/service - in short its one of the best playlist-management solutions for Linux. It can much more than feeding simple audiostreams. I'm currently using liquidspoap 1.2.1 because it works better on my box/settings than the current 1.3.x builds.

Last edited by neralex; 24th October 2017 at 23:06.
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2017, 16:55   #20
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
v2 streams do not work in the flash players on my website either. I relay them to v1 just so that the flash players will work.

I do wonder if the transcoders I use mess up the stream but it is curious that it only becomes a problem with DNAS v2. Those transcoders are essential to translate from Traktor's Ogg output (no mp3 radio out available in Traktor).

I could try LiquidSoap like Neralex does but there is no guarantee that would work either. Easier to avoid DNAS v2 wherever possible. I don't have monetization and the YP pages (which ignore v1 streams) have been broken for a long time so there is no point in me bothering with v2.
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2017, 17:47   #21
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 556
Try this one:

http://preview.codecanyon.net/item/n...review/9672527

Its not free but it comes a long with great support and great features.
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2018, 12:43   #22
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
This MAJOR issue has not been acknowledged by Shoutcast staff after many months.

To recap: The v2 DNAS Admin page player does not work, in fact the v2 stream will not work in TuneIn or vTuner. It does work in iTunes and the android XiaaLive App.

The Shoutcast YP web site player is useless (that is another problem that has not been addressed by staff).

PS Ignore the URL's for my stations earlier in this thread - I keep switching v1 and v2 from port to port in my desperate workarounds.

PPS Neralex that embeddable player you suggested would be OK if it didn't turn out it costs a new licence for every bitrate I run.

Remixing listener requests of ambient tracks live http://RePlayScape.com
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2018, 16:46   #23
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by sqgl View Post
the v2 stream will not work in TuneIn or vTuner.
Actually I only tested with their Web Interface so I don't known if the TuneIn app or Bose systems (which emply vTuner) have the same bug.

Remixing listener requests of ambient tracks live http://RePlayScape.com
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2018, 17:28   #24
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 556
This is not an issue by SHOUTcast itself, because this is simply the HTML5 <audio>-tag. Its based on HTML5 and the handling of the different browser engines. There is no real standard and each browser is using his own shizzle. What you called "web interface" is in only a simple html5-document with the using of the audio-tag. I tested it now again with your v2 streams and it works on my end with the latest firefox and latest chrome.

XiaaLive or iTunes are native applications and its not web-based like the HTML5 audio-tag. This is the reason why it works there and also in other native players like winamp, VLC etc.

BTW: Flash is dead!
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2018, 17:35   #25
sqgl
Senior Member
 
sqgl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 186
I got the HTML5 audio tag working on my web page with my v1 stream (but not the v2 stream) using FF.

The v2 does work for me too via the HTML5 tag but only for about a second then stops (in FF and for my friend running Linux - dunno which browser). It would be nice to be able to ditch v1 but I need it for this. Unfortunately there is a bug relaying from v2 to v1 (which I posted about elsewhere).

Remixing listener requests of ambient tracks live http://RePlayScape.com
sqgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > SHOUTcast > SHOUTcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump