Old 25th March 2004, 18:36   #1
Rellik
Major Dude
 
Rellik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: localhost
Posts: 1,099
Winamp 5.03 is out!

While we wait for the main player download page to be updated, here are the direct links:

Winamp 5.03 Lite
Winamp 5.03 Full
Winamp 5.03 Pro

Here's the Changelog:
Quote:
Winamp 5.03:
* made MP4 AAC the new default ripping encoder
* fixed a crash bug when playing some AVI files in in_dshow
* added multimedia keyboard keys in global hotkeys default configuration
* added "Manual playlist advance" in Repeat button popup menu in Classic mode
* improvements in MP3 encoder configuration (added --alt-preset standard, etc...)
* made the tabs in the preferences XP correctly themed under Windows XP
* revamped the Media Library preferences a bit
* new experimental WMA9 input plugin
* gen_jumpex updates from DrO
* added "Nuke library" action in Media Library
* more upside down videos fixes
* fixed crash if a plugin generated a pledit wm_windowposchanged on shutdown
* fixed crash exploit in in_mod (thanks Peter Winter-Smith)
* fixed various crashes in in_midi when playing invalid files
* made in_midi store its settings in winamp.ini instead of the registry
* fixed error during installation on computers with chinese/oriental regional settings
* removed AOD from installer
* added Shift-R to toggle manual playlist advance
* updated VP6 video decoder to latest VP6.2 code
* fixed crash when launching winamp with very long filenames from explorer
* made registration dialog to appear in Explorer's taskbar when installing pro version
* fixed pledit/video windows showing up at startup when minimized
* modern skins updates :
- winamp modern skin now uses a 3 state repeat button: no repeat/repeat all/repeat track
- added appplication desktop toolbars capabilities for layouts, add appbar="left|top|right|bottom" to use them
- upped maki binary version, improved stack protection
- current skin version number is 1.2 (this should not change for a long while now, and of course we continue to support 0.8 to 1.1)
- (very) limited maki debugger (for now you can bring it up with invokeDebugger(); in a script then use 'x' to continue and 'i' to trace into)
- fixed obscure capture problem with dragging windows
- fixed rectrgn being forced to 1 in xml xuiobject buttons that are originally imageless
- fixed hilited state not on after clicking on buttons while the mouse stays in area
- fixed scripted onEnterArea/onLeaveArea not being always correctly called while mouse button stays down
- fixed getToken being passed NULL throwing guru
- fixed clipping of painting within the background's region of a group rather than within the composed region (the one you can change with sysregion)
- fixed image cache problem when using the same bitmap as a map and a button image parameter
Rellik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 19:25   #2
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Stuck, old 5.02 out/5.03 coming thread unstuck.

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 20:18   #3
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
I wonder why Nullsoft was suddenly allowed to remove AOD. I was under the impression that AOL wanted to use Winamp as a merketing thingie.

What made them change their minds?

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 20:31   #4
[ Martin ]
Junior Member
 
[ Martin ]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally posted by amano
I wonder why Nullsoft was suddenly allowed to remove AOD. I was under the impression that AOL wanted to use Winamp as a merketing thingie.

What made them change their minds?
Perhaps a lot of users unselect that option so it doesn't make sense. But if it doesn't make sense, why they have removed the option?

I'm confused too
[ Martin ] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 20:49   #5
Dextro
Senior Member
 
Dextro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 293
hum who knows, maybe they're getting ready for some new marketing campaign regarding nullsoft...

beats me :S

EDIT: ok stupid question: what is "nuke Library" btw??? :S

Dextro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 21:02   #6
beanboy89
(Major Dude)
isn't very custom
 
beanboy89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 2,004
Cool! 5.03
beanboy89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 21:05   #7
BackLash
Junior Member
 
BackLash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13
weeeee

installed!
BackLash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 21:07   #8
inthegray
Major Dude
 
inthegray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 704
Send a message via AIM to inthegray
Quote:
Originally posted by [ Martin ]
[ Martin ] @ www.WinampNederlands.nl
Dutch website about Winamp, music and video
wow... there is a Dutch Winamp fansite.

we're almost related! we're like those two guys from Perfect Strangers!
inthegray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 21:08   #9
HaloHQ
Senior Member
 
HaloHQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 106
Why is it any different downloading the pro file from the full? Before they were the same installer, you just had to put a key in one, right?
HaloHQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 21:15   #10
Kickboy12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to Kickboy12 Send a message via AIM to Kickboy12 Send a message via Yahoo to Kickboy12
Quote:
Originally posted by HaloHQ
Why is it any different downloading the pro file from the full? Before they were the same installer, you just had to put a key in one, right?
That's what I thought too. But I just download Pro in case there is a difference.

[@imho] man
[@imho] I had dreams about unit testing last night :-(
[@sim`a] i have nightmares about syntax errors, whats your point
Kickboy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 22:27   #11
Dextro
Senior Member
 
Dextro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 293
Just one simple question: when will we be able to rate songs from the playlist? I've been wayting for ages for this. :S

Dextro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 22:45   #12
inthegray
Major Dude
 
inthegray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 704
Send a message via AIM to inthegray
dextro, grab these plug-ins being discussed here
inthegray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 22:47   #13
lukeprog
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 142
Me too. Or, from the media library.

But hey, good work with 5.03, so I'm not complaining... :-)
lukeprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 22:50   #14
Dextro
Senior Member
 
Dextro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 293
thx inthegray You're my saviour

Dextro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 22:59   #15
Rellik
Major Dude
 
Rellik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: localhost
Posts: 1,099
Difference between Pro and Full?

I belive Pro will ask you for your registration number on install, if you already purchased pro then it probably won't.

Best new feature?
Docking of course! When you switch to toolbar mode, Take a look in the window settings menu.

Unfortunately it looks like Skinners will need to update their winshade mode in order to support docking. As of right now I think only Winamp Modern has docking support.
Rellik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 23:18   #16
lukeprog
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 142
Er, whoops, yeah, I actually meant I was hoping for some rating shortcuts, like just selecting a song in playlist or media library and then hitting a number 0-5 to rate it instantly (0 for no rating).
lukeprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 23:33   #17
ilyag
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 40
I second the rating shortcuts, with an naddendum of adding them to the Global Hotkeys.

Close second: automatic scanning of playlists & putting them in Artist/Album view.

Sorry if this is annoying, but I know of no better way express which items from the official wishlist are most wished...
ilyag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 00:57   #18
HaloHQ
Senior Member
 
HaloHQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally posted by Rellik
Difference between Pro and Full?

I belive Pro will ask you for your registration number on install, if you already purchased pro then it probably won't.

Best new feature?
Docking of course! When you switch to toolbar mode, Take a look in the window settings menu.
[Image]
Unfortunately it looks like Skinners will need to update their winshade mode in order to support docking. As of right now I think only Winamp Modern has docking support.
Whoa! Thats awesome.
HaloHQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 01:02   #19
UltraZelda64
Senior Member
 
UltraZelda64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Alliance, Ohio
Posts: 390
It's better than I expected... the only thing I can think of right now that I don't really like is that the Repeat LED/light is always either on or off - just plain blue or not on at all. I was hoping for a different color to tell between the two; either a different color completely (ex. green or red) or just a lighter blue.

The different Repeat images in the display are just too small to see, and even close up look too similar. The button would fit more in with the Shuffle button if it was "REP" (as in "REP" and "123" with a small arrow over it) instead or a curved line/arrow. Also, speaking of the button image - it has three options, and only two images; Off and Repeat All share the same icon. Annoying. :

There are some really good improvements though, like ditching AOD (much bigger improvement than it may seem, IMO...), docking, DrO's JTFE plug-in updates, and others... possibly the best version update I've seen yet. I hope those Repeat problems (they may not be to problems to other people) are fixed sometime, though the way it is now, it's still pretty good. As long as the function's there... and I've been waiting a LONG time for it... it's good enough.
UltraZelda64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 01:27   #20
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
A bit nitpicking you are, aren't you A can live with it for some time. Really great release.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 01:51   #21
Kickboy12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to Kickboy12 Send a message via AIM to Kickboy12 Send a message via Yahoo to Kickboy12
It seems to new 3-step repeat system is causing problems in most of the Modern Skins. I've already talked to Egg about it.

If you can't get Winamp to "Repeat All" stage then follow these simple steps:

- Switch skin to Winamp Modern
- Change Repeat setting to All
- Switch back to your normal Modern skin

Not sure if there will be a fix for this. Egg will probably have more information.

[@imho] man
[@imho] I had dreams about unit testing last night :-(
[@sim`a] i have nightmares about syntax errors, whats your point
Kickboy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 01:56   #22
UltraZelda64
Senior Member
 
UltraZelda64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Alliance, Ohio
Posts: 390
"A bit nitpicking you are, aren't you A can live with it for some time. Really great release."

To tell you the truth, I wasn't expecting this many updates to current features and new features. I've been let down by WA5 originally with its not-so-good video playback and no new audio features - in fact, the skin, in my opinion, was the best part. It seems like the updates are getting better and better, and this one seems so good it overshadows the flaws a bit. If it were one of the recent updates (excluding a couple of them), this would destroy the release... but good thing that's not the case.

And on the bug... I was wondering how repeat would work on other skins, but haven't found out yet since I use the default Modern skin most of the time. I thought someone said on the boards (Egg, maybe?) that the skin won't be updated in a while. If that's true, I'm not sure if they mean the skinning engine or the skin itself. Hopefully what I read was wrong...
UltraZelda64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 02:12   #23
ilyag
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 40
I probably will never ever use the "Repeat One" feature. Perhaps, there should be an option to restore the old behaviour? (Is there one already?)
ilyag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 02:16   #24
Kickboy12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to Kickboy12 Send a message via AIM to Kickboy12 Send a message via Yahoo to Kickboy12
Quote:
Originally posted by ilyag
I probably will never ever use the "Repeat One" feature. Perhaps, there should be an option to restore the old behaviour? (Is there one already?)
No, there isn't. Because the other skins shouldn't even be using that 3 stage feature. The feature is SAPOSE to be limited to Winamp Modern skin only, not all moderns skins. However, it seems to be affecting 90% of all modern skins. Making this a big problem
Kickboy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 02:17   #25
HaloHQ
Senior Member
 
HaloHQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 106
If you are using the modern skin, just click it once or twice to turn it off, or to the old setting. If you are using a classic skin, just right click the repeat button and set it to default instead of manual playlist advance.

-edit- hm.. guess he beat me to it and showed me something i didnt realize. Listen to him.
HaloHQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 02:43   #26
lukeprog
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 142
Have any of you experienced the following problem with Winamp 5.03?

- I try to switch skins by right-clicking and navigating to the skin on the menu, but it never switches to that skin. Either that, or a while later it switches to the wrong skin. It's hard to describe because there is a different result every time. Switching to any skin via the Preferences menu always works, though.
lukeprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 03:25   #27
Kickboy12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to Kickboy12 Send a message via AIM to Kickboy12 Send a message via Yahoo to Kickboy12
Everything is fine for me.
How fast is your computer, lukeprog?

[@imho] man
[@imho] I had dreams about unit testing last night :-(
[@sim`a] i have nightmares about syntax errors, whats your point
Kickboy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 03:52   #28
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,827
Sounds like it could be caused by some iffy 3rd-party plugin, maybe?
Hard to tell based on the (lack of) information provided...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 04:28   #29
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
i read the part about the new experimental wma input plugin. any plans on getting dsp'bility readded? i know there is the old wma plugin available. and i will be using it for the time being, but it would be nice to be able to use an updated plugin.
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 05:03   #30
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
Quote:
Originally posted by Rellik
Difference between Pro and Full?

I belive Pro will ask you for your registration number on install, if you already purchased pro then it probably won't.

Best new feature?
Docking of course! When you switch to toolbar mode, Take a look in the window settings menu.
[Image]
Unfortunately it looks like Skinners will need to update their winshade mode in order to support docking. As of right now I think only Winamp Modern has docking support.
Yup docking is great! but i have 2 problems.

1) docking controls in the alt + right click are very doggy.
2) more of a wish is that right now it docks on top of my start bar, is it possiable to dock just above the start bar?

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 05:14   #31
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,827
1) Not sure if I understand...
2) Yes. Main window -> winshade > right click > window settings > docked toolbar
Uncheck autohide, dock to bottom (always on top = optional)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 05:25   #32
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
Let me rephrase 1

the alt + right click menu( the one that brings up the opactiy and scalling) now brings up the docking menu as well. However this does not work like "Main window -> winshade > right click > window settings > docked toolbar" that you have described.

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 05:41   #33
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by Vchat20
i read the part about the new experimental wma input plugin. any plans on getting dsp'bility readded? i know there is the old wma plugin available. and i will be using it for the time being, but it would be nice to be able to use an updated plugin.
try it and you should find it works

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 05:54   #34
Vchat20
Major Dude
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,273
didnt work for me. i still got the shotty quality that you always get without any dsps. switched to the old wma plugin and there was a definitely huge difference as always.
Vchat20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 09:09   #35
brezor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Anyone know why in the Modern Skin ,the playlist loads just a black window, it won't show any text at all?
brezor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 14:23   #36
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Quote:
Originally posted by sanosuke
Let me rephrase 1

the alt + right click menu( the one that brings up the opactiy and scalling) now brings up the docking menu as well. However this does not work like "Main window -> winshade > right click > window settings > docked toolbar" that you have described.
It's Ctrl-Rt.Click (for me anyway). And here are my observations:
1. Start with a "just opened" Winamp main window, unshaded.
2. Ctrl-Rt.Click and observe that the Docked Toolbar menu is NOT grayed out.
3. Click on the main menu (top left corner) button and check window settings...Docked Toolbar is now grayed out.
4. Ctrl.-Rt.Click again, and it will now also be grayed out.

Similar behaviour occurs with the winshade. It appears that if you check the main menu, it will always be correct, and if you check the ctrl-rt.click menu AFTER checking the main menu, it corrects itself.

Will report this to the betalist.


Quote:
Originally posted by brezor
Anyone know why in the Modern Skin ,the playlist loads just a black window, it won't show any text at all?
Try a clean install. Or delete winamp.ini and studio.xnf(the two main settings files for Winamp).

-=Gonzotek=-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 14:50   #37
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
...happened with me once with 5.03.
Switch to a classic skin and then back.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 15:04   #38
sanosuke
Major Dude
 
sanosuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,891
Quote:
Originally posted by Gonzotek
It's Ctrl-Rt.Click (for me anyway). And here are my observations:
1. Start with a "just opened" Winamp main window, unshaded.
2. Ctrl-Rt.Click and observe that the Docked Toolbar menu is NOT grayed out.
3. Click on the main menu (top left corner) button and check window settings...Docked Toolbar is now grayed out.
4. Ctrl.-Rt.Click again, and it will now also be grayed out
Ahh ok that explains it. Anyway my test are as follows:

1. Ctrl + right click. docked tool bar is not greyed out. all options are not checked either.
2. Selects always on top. Winamp generates an error and has to be shut down.

Big-assed signature deleted by errr.. whats his name again??
sanosuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 15:21   #39
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Quote:
Originally posted by sanosuke
Ahh ok that explains it. Anyway my test are as follows:

1. Ctrl + right click. docked tool bar is not greyed out. all options are not checked either.
2. Selects always on top. Winamp generates an error and has to be shut down.
Yeah, the error & forced shutdown is probably a by-product of the not-grayed-out condition. Anyway, Francis knows about it and I'm sure it'll get fixed with the next release.

So you know, the docked toolbar function is only supposed to show up with the main window winshade (not the regular mode). The playlist however lets you dock in both regular window and shade modes(and to all 4 screen edges).

-=Gonzotek=-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2004, 15:53   #40
Rellik
Major Dude
 
Rellik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: localhost
Posts: 1,099
hmm, that's odd, ctrl+rclick won't work for me while in shade mode.

not a big deal since I usually use the main rclick menu anyway.
Quote:
The playlist however lets you dock in both regular window and shade modes(and to all 4 screen edges).
Now THAT is cool!
(now I want to dock the ML to the other side)
Rellik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump