Old 18th September 2007, 10:02   #1
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Support for iPod Classic and new iPod Nano

You need Winamp 5.5 beta.

Download these and put it in Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\
[edit: use beta 2 from the sticky thread]

have fun

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2007, 10:44   #2
kafkef
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 36
woohoo now all i need is an ipod
kafkef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2007, 12:25   #3
xamphear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 106
Beautiful and fast. Thanks!
xamphear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2007, 12:35   #4
jmbattle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Posts: 166
Bloody hell Will, that was quick!

Good job!
James
x
jmbattle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2007, 13:17   #5
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,907
yay. i bought an ipod classic today aswell.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2007, 15:27   #6
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Update 1: not creating .ithmb files correctly

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2007, 17:47   #7
jcarden
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Should album art be working on the classics? I can transfer songs, but I get no album art. Thanks.
jcarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2007, 17:54   #8
flocksoft
Major Dude
 
flocksoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 695
@jcarden
Will says: "not creating .ithmb files correctly"
this file is responsible of cover arts, and now is not created correctly
flocksoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2007, 19:00   #9
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,907
seems kinda unreliable, on my ipod classic maybe its the winamp beta, seems to crash on an endless loop of transcoding.

then i had to download itunes to format my ipod

this is on xp x64 edition.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2007, 19:40   #10
abu
mlipod moderator
(Senior Member)
 
abu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,457
Even though album art does not yet work on the iPod itself: The album art view of the iPod in Winamp is just great, Will! Pretty good job!

Hope you can manage to let the albums show up on the iPod as well...

WinAmp Pro 5.5 with ml_iPod 3.10 + dev.patches (download it)
ml_iPod documentation Wiki - ml_iPod FAQ - search ml_iPod forum - iPhone/iTouch - Found a bug?
Donations to support the ml_iPod project can be done HERE
abu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2007, 19:48   #11
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,907
everytime I try to transcode flacs onto the ipod winamp crashes. even with the latest internal. even crashes with flacs ripped with winamp.


[e]turns out those flac files it keeps crashing on are corrupted. my system must have crashed while ripping.[/e]

so... the plugin works the way it should with a classic ipod 80G
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2007, 18:36   #12
NTolerance
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
I have already submitted the following info to the developers, but I'll repost it here for the sake of public information.

I installed the latest Winamp 5.5 beta build 1568. It would not detect my 3G iPod Nano. At this time I did not have iTunes installed. I then installed iTunes which appeared to update the iPod Nano device driver. After this happened, Winamp was able to detect my Nano and transfer songs to it, including album art stored in ID3 tags.

This is great progress, but nobody wants iTunes bloat and residue on their system just to get Winamp to detect the new iPods. I used an open source program called DriverBackup to extract the new iPod driver from Windows. This produced what appears to be valid INF and SYS files which hopefully can be integrated into the Winamp iPod plugin or at least manually installed through the Windows Device Manager so we can all accomplish the ultimate goal: avoiding the system-crippling iTunes craplets.

Edit: I'm guessing my low post count is preventing me from posting links in the forum. Any help with that?

Edit2: Apparently code tags are a nice workaround.
code:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/drvback/

code:
http://home.nc.rr.com/ntolerance/ipod%20driver.zip

Last edited by NTolerance; 21st September 2007 at 18:52.
NTolerance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2007, 12:34   #13
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
I don't think apple would let us bundle their device drivers =)

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2007, 13:52   #14
NTolerance
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally posted by will
I don't think apple would let us bundle their device drivers =)
Yeah, forget what I said about that. Seems my problem was that the iPod was not in disk mode. Guess it must have been enabled when I installed the driver, but I have proven that the driver is not necessary by hooking up the iPod to another PC without iTunes and Winamp detected it successfully.

At any rate, I found that 8GB was just not enough so I returned my Nano and got an 80GB Classic. I used Winamp to transfer around 50GB of music to the new iPod. Album art only seems to work for the first song that is played from any album. If you play another track from that album the album art goes away.
NTolerance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2007, 19:10   #15
NTolerance
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
I've done some more testing on album art. When Winamp copies ~50GB of music to the iPod, the ithmb files in the \iPod_Control\Artwork folder are over 1GB in size. When I do the same copy operation with iTunes, the ithmb files are only 125MB in size. Maybe the iPod is choking on the large filesize and the album art display is timing out.
NTolerance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2007, 18:20   #16
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
has anyone tried syncing in iTunes then Winamp then syncing again in iTunes? that's most likely the scenario for me. I say that because I use both a lot.
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2007, 07:21   #17
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
Unfortunately, it is a good idea to have iTunes installed so you'll have easy access to iPod system software updates. If that's not enough of an incentive, espcially considering the iPod classic is OSX based now I don't know what is.
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2007, 18:38   #18
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,907
i wish their was a way to update and format the ipod without installing itunes.(ipod classic that is)
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2007, 22:33   #19
kafkef
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 36
why do single tracks (without albums) show up in my ipod classic as albums instead of listing them as "no album" or "unknown album"? it's really messy.
kafkef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2007, 13:44   #20
NTolerance
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Album art filesize problem persists in the 5.5 final release.
NTolerance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 17:01   #21
davatron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
I'm having the same artwork problem as described above: The artwork displays for one song, then disappears for the next.

Does artwork display for all songs when transferred with iTunes? I want to avoid installing iTunes if it will interfere with using Winamp for syncing my iPod.
davatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 17:12   #22
NTolerance
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally posted by davatron

Does artwork display for all songs when transferred with iTunes? I want to avoid installing iTunes if it will interfere with using Winamp for syncing my iPod.
Yes, album art works for everything if songs are transferred with iTunes.

I know that Poddox has support for the new iPods, but I'm not sure if album art works with it or not. Give it a try and post your results before resorting to iTunes.
NTolerance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 18:19   #23
davatron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Paddox

Quote:
I know that Poddox has support for the new iPods, but I'm not sure if album art works with it or not. Give it a try and post your results before resorting to iTunes.
Paddox does not currently support videos or artwork, but is in the works per their website.

This is a minor issue overall. I can live with it for now.

I will continue to post my findings.
davatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2008, 00:41   #24
DJEON
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
hey guys, can u confirm that winamp 5.5 works with an ipod classic (i have a 160 gb)?

as in, u can transfer files to and from the ipod, and play them from the ipod without it being plugged into a PC?


all the info i have seen to date implicitly states that the ipod classic is only compatible with itunes, and using it with any other pc based media player results in the database files on the ipod getting trashed, and not being able to play music from the ipod when unplugged anymore.

dam this is complicated. to think that an ipod is just a hard drive with a digital to analog converter and a graphical interface bolted on. i bought mine on the weekend and have so far wasted 8 hours trying to get it to work!!
DJEON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2008, 01:25   #25
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by Rocker
so... the plugin works the way it should with a classic ipod 80G
If it works okay for Rocker, then this suggests that your theory is totally wrong, yes?

At a guess, the problems occur when you've got more than one application installed/running that manages the iPod. I suggest that you get rid of all the others and use Winamp only.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2008, 02:54   #26
Grumblebum
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
I'm on my fourth iPod now and Winamp 5.52 Pro. I haven't got a song out of one iPod yet, but now have to admit that the problem is my end and not Apple's. My machine refuses to load iTunes (which probably shows its good taste!).

What is the plugin you're talking about and where do I get it?

Full story of my saga is at
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....22#post2315122

and http://discussions.apple.com/thread....readID=1351605

Any assistance greatly appreciated!
Grumblebum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2008, 03:06   #27
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
The plugin is pmp_ipod which comes with Winamp 5.52,
ie. what this thread is all about....
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2008, 03:19   #28
Grumblebum
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Thanks for the response, but this would suggest that I am no further along tthe road to solving my particular problems....
Grumblebum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2008, 03:06   #29
Grumblebum
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
It may be of use for some to note that this problem is now sorted. After much searching around the net, I downloaded MediaMonkey (free). When I intsalled it, it informed me that the database on the iPod was scrunched and rebuilt it for me. I now have a perfectly functioning iPod -- and for nothing.

Not a happy customer!
Grumblebum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump