Old 25th January 2001, 04:59   #1
diablo19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14
Can someone help me?I have ver. 2.64 and one day it was loading my playlist and it lockedup and gave a error message some invalid operation in a page etc.After i restarted, winamp won't autoplay any of my audio cd's.Also the {Associate with audio cds} option in the preferences/file types section became unchecked and when i tried checking it would not stay checked.Please help
diablo19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2001, 10:52   #2
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
Try upgrading to the latest version.
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2001, 00:54   #3
diablo19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14
Winamp 2.64 Bug

Thanks for the tip but i tried the new version and still nothing happened like the old version.Can someone help please.
diablo19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2001, 01:26   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Close Winamp
Goto your Winamp dir & delete winamp.ini
Next time you open Winamp, a new ini file will be created with all the default settings.

If this fails, totally uninstall (via Add/Remove Programs) & reinstall v2.72

btw, what is your current default AudioCD player?
Does any other player open & play AudioCD's when you insert them?
eg. RealPlayer, WMP7, Windows CDPlayer, Sonique, MusicMatch JB, etc.
Or does nothing happen at all?
Do you have any of the above software installed?

DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2001, 14:06   #5
diablo19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14
Wianmp 2.64 Bug

DjEgg thanks for the info but i don't see the winamp.ini file in the directory.Can you tell me where is it.Also i have winamp as the default player but i also have Music Match JB and Windows CD Player; before when i got the system winamp would ONLY autoplay audio cds not Music Match JB or Windows CD Player but now when i insert a cd it just spins and winamp doesnot come up automatically, i have to play the cd manually.
diablo19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2001, 00:56   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Could you please post your full system specs
CPU + speed, RAM, Win OS, Soundcard, Videocard, DirectX version, IE version, etc.
Also include a list of any 3rd party Winamp plugins you've installed:
Particularly: General Purpose, any extra Input, active DSP/FX or Vis
The illegal operation/invalid page fault errors are usually caused by dodgy plugins.

Re: locating winamp.ini
Firstly, goto (Win9x) : Start -> Settings -> Folder Options -> View tab
Make sure "Show -> All files" is checkmarked
Make sure "Hide extensions for known filetypes" is NOT checkmarked
Click "Okay" -> close Folder Options
Now, in Explorer/My Computer, goto : C:\Program Files\Winamp
There should be a file in here called winamp.ini
It should have a Notepad icon.
If it's there, delete it.
You can leave it in the Recycle Bin for backup purposes if you wish & trash it at a later date.
Now try opening Winamp again.
A new ini file will be created with all the default settings.
Goto : Prefs (Ctrl+P) -> FileTypes
Make your file associations from here.
Select any of your choice, and be sure to select CDA & checkmark "Associate with CD"

Now try playing a CD again. Does it load in Winamp okay?
btw, some enhanced CD's will only play in Winamp if you select "Play -> Audio CD"
Are these CD's enhanced or just ordinary Audio CD's (CDA files)?

If you're still having problems:
Goto : System Control Panel -> Device Manager
Expand the CD-ROM section & hi-lite your CD-ROM device
Properties -> Settings tab : make sure "Auto insert notification" is checkmarked

If you have TweakUI (MS PowerToy)
Control Panel -> TweakUI -> Paranoia tab
Things that happen behind your back : section
Checkmark both : AutoPlay Audio CD's & Data CD's

Still got problems?
Go back to Folder Options
File Types tab
Scroll down for "Audio CD" -> hi-lite -> click "Edit"
In the Action box -> hi-lite "Play" -> click "Edit"
Command line should be : "C:\Program Files\Winamp\Winamp.exe"
(as long as this is where your Winamp is installed, i.e. by default)
Click "Okay"
Back in original "Edit" box, hi-lite "Play" -> click "Set Default"
Okay everything & exit Folder Options

If none of this works, post again with answers to all my above questions.
Though. like I say, the best thing you could do would be to uninstall & reinstall
(especially if none of the above suggestions work)

Good luck

Further tips:
Check this thread from Tech Support Greatest Hits & follow the links from there.
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=36850
[RE: "Problems with Audio CD" Section]
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2001, 15:37   #7
diablo19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14
Winamp 2.64 Bug

Dj Egg Thanks for the info. Full Specs: Intel Celeron 500 Mhz, 128 MB RAM, Windows 98 SE, Sound Blaster 64V, Intel 810e, DirectX ver.7.0a. IE ver.5.0.At the point when the crash happened I had a visualization plugin called Power Plugin from Roman Komary.

I got the winamp.ini file and did what you said yet still nothing happened.
The CDs I play are normal .CDA files. As for my CD-ROM the "Auto insert notification" is always checkmarked. No I do not have TweakUI. As for Settings>Folder Options>File Types suggestion, when I scrolled down I did not find any Audio CD option, there is an AIFF audio, I guess for Quicktime, an AU Format Sound icon and AudioSoft Parameter File for Winamp but no Audio CD file. I assume that one is supposed to be there and I may have to create one. If I do, can you tell how to do it? Also I tried uninstalling and reinstalling winamp and it did not work
diablo19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2001, 06:18   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
What? No "AudioCD" in Folder Options -> FileTypes?
This'll be your problem then!

Sad to say, the AudioCD entry cannot be created via Folder Options because it doesn't have an actual file extension. It can be created via the Registry -> HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AudioCD
. . . but this isn't the easiest way.
If the following suggestion doesn't work, then I'll post the Reg fix if you wish, but only edit the Registry in Regedit if you know exactly what you are doing, otherwise get someone who is experienced & qualified to do it 4u.

1. Goto: Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> Windows Setup tab
2. Scroll down for "Multimedia" (which should already be checkmarked)
3. Hi-lite & click "details" button.
4. Uncheck "CD Player" & click "Okay" -> "Okay"
5. Repeat steps 1 - 3
6. Make sure "CD Player" is checkmarked.
Everything else in here should be selected as well, tho' "Sound Schemes" & "Sample Sounds" are optional (ie. not essential).
7. Make sure your Win98 CD-ROM is in the drive & click "Okay".
Let Windows do its thing (you may be asked to reboot for changes to take effect).

This should fix your problem & there should now be an "AudioCD" entry in Folder Options.
Now try again (as described in previous posts)

[Edited by DJEgg on 05-25-2001 at 06:45 PM]
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2001, 18:41   #9
diablo19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14
Winamp 2.64 Bug

Dj Egg thanks for the reply .I tried your second suggestion and it did not work.I don't have a windows 98 cd but a resource cd which came with the system and does not seem to work.Anyway can you send me the Reg fix, I know how to use it.
diablo19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2001, 07:53   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Start -> Run -> REGEDIT

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT
Edit -> New -> Key
Key name = AudioCD
Edit -> New -> String
String name = (Default)
Edit -> Modify -> Value data = AudioCD
Edit -> New -> Binary Value
Name = EditFlags
Edit -> Modify -> Value data = 02 00 00 00

Left pane -> Hi-lite: AudioCD
Edit -> New -> Key
Key name = DefaultIcon
Edit -> New -> String
String name = (Default)
Edit -> Modify -> Value data = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Shell32.dll,40

Left pane -> Hi-lite: AudioCD
Edit -> New -> Key
Key name = shell
Edit -> New -> String
String name = (Default)
Edit -> Modify -> Value data = play

Left pane -> Hi-lite: AudioCD -> shell
Edit -> New -> Key
Key name = Play
Edit -> New -> String
String name = (Default)
Edit -> Modify -> Value data = &Play

Left pane -> Hi-lite: AudioCD -> shell -> Play
Edit -> New -> Binary Value
Name = EditFlags
Edit -> Modify -> Value data = 01 00 00 00

Left pane -> Hi-lite: AudioCD -> shell -> Play
Edit -> New -> Key
Key name = command
Edit -> New -> String
String name = (Default)
Edit -> Modify -> Value data = "C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe" %1

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\AudioCD
Repeat all of above entries
(though these should get created automatically)

Please note that the (Default) string should already exist in the right pane after you create a new key, so you shouldn't have to create a new (Default) key, but just modify the existing one!
ie. instead of:
Edit -> New -> String
String name = (Default)
You should just be able to hi-lite (Default) string in right pane:
Edit -> Modify -> Enter correct Value data (as above)

Please note that keys are in the left pane, strings are in the rt pane

Phew!

This is the manual "fix" using RegEdit

This should at least make the entry for AudioCD appear in Folder Options -> FileTypes
You can edit it further from there (add more command options, etc)
Best of luck & let me know if it works.

I know it would've been much easier if I'd posted an actual AudioCD.reg file that you could have just copied & merged into your registry, but . . . if you know what you're doing, this should be pretty much straightforward.

ps.
btw, if the AudioCD entry already exists in the Registry,
just make sure that the key&string/names&values are the same as above.
Naturally, if you installed Winamp to a different dir than the default, you'll have to edit the path accordingly (for "command" key).

Also, if you're using Win2k/NT, the path to shell32.dll (for Default Icon key) will also be different (usually: C:\WinNT\System32\).
Confirm these values first by using Windows Explorer.

However, for Win2K users only, I recommend you go here instead of editing the registry, and follow M$ Support's instructions:
http://support.microsoft.com/support.../Q259/4/73.ASP
__________________________________________________________________

UPDATE:

For the benefit of those who are not confident enough to use Regedit to edit the registry, I've devised an auto regfix which you can freely download in zip format. Please note that this is for use with Win9x/ME only. Be sure to read the accompanying text file for details/instructions first.

Download the auto regfix for Win95/98/ME
__________________________________________________________________

[Edited by DJEgg on 06-20-2001 at 08:43 PM]
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2001, 18:10   #11
diablo19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 14
Winamp 2.64 Bug

Dj EGg thanks a lot.The fix worked and everything is up and running.You ROCK man.!!!
diablo19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2001, 06:21   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Weyhey! Glad it worked
. . . knew it would
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2001, 09:36   #13
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
Talk about awesome tech support !
Nice work, Egg
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2001, 20:13   #14
joaomgcd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 3
Now this is what what I call a dedicated moderator! He didn't give up unitl the problem was fixed and went into all that trouble! HORRAY FOR DJEgg!!
joaomgcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2002, 17:12   #15
Merlin
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
(Forum King)
 
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,209
He's done that before. DJEgg not only rules, but you get all this help toll-free. He deserves major thanks!


as he faced the sun, he cast no shadow
Merlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2003, 03:00   #16
Don Nickell
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: northern Idaho, U.S.A.
Posts: 12
Is DJEgg still around? I'm having the same "won't autoplay with V.2.91. Things used to work until I installed Dazzle (VHS>CD software) then Windows Media Player and Winamp 2.7 quit. I uninstalled and removed all references (registry, etc.) to Dazzle and Media Player and upgraded to Winamp 2.91. It opens when I click on any 'music' file AND auto plays. If I insert a CD it opens, loads the tracks and just sits there.

I've loaded/removed/re-loaded, made sure all the switches are right, but still no auto play. I still fear that Dazzle overwrote an important *.dll, but which one? Registry: CDAudio: (Default) = (value not set); Shell: (Default) = "play".

Thanks for any help on this.

Don
Don Nickell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2003, 04:11   #17
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Hi. Yes, I'm still here (but not 24/7)

What is your Windows OS ?

What version of Windows Media Player is/was installed?

The relevant registry key is not CDAudio, it's AudioCD (see above for details).

And to what "switches" were you referring to?
Please provide as much detail as possible.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2003, 11:01   #18
Don Nickell
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: northern Idaho, U.S.A.
Posts: 12
Hi, DJEgg, not 24/7? What do you do in your spare time? ;-) Not trying to be a smart ass, but latest message was 2/2002 so I didn't know if Forum was still alive or not.

Sorry for the incomplete info. I've described this problem to so many people, so many places, I tend to forget you don't know "everything" from my messages that you've never seen.

WIN98SE, 125M RAM, 14G HD free, 6/2000 HP Pavilion 9600 530(?) MHz.

Media Player was V6.4, then 7.1; neither will run any longer & crash OS.

Winamp was 2.80 is 2.91 and neither will auto run. If I d-click on a 'music' filename it opens Winamp, loads file and plays. If I insert a CD it opens only displays track info w/'My Computer' type window; I must then open Winamp, Add Dir, highlight tracks for loading, and then click on Play.

"Switches" refered to include:
AIN (Data & Audio), Winamp's config (Ctrl-P) File Assoc (41), "Assoc. w/audio CDs", Enable Winamp agent w/Maintain File Assoc; I don't know what you want/don't want.

Somthing happened to this system when I loaded Dazzle, a VHS>CD software; although that may cloud the issue here; I've since removed it via Ctrl Panel & Registry.

Your help would really be appreciated, I feel my 73 year old pea brain has about had it. I've been in computers (mainframes, minis, PCs) since 1957 at all levels (R&D), repair, upgrades, programming, support, etc., but this is turning me every which way but loose.

Don
Don Nickell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2003, 14:22   #19
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Did you try any of the above fixes?

Uninstall & Reinstall the Windows "CD Player" via Add\Remove Programs -> Windows Setup

Run the auto reg fix . . .
(aah, I see, the regfix is on my old webspace, and is no longer available, oops)

Here, try the attachment below
(be sure to read the readme.txt in the zip first)
Attached Files
File Type: zip audiocd.zip (945 Bytes, 565 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2003, 00:16   #20
Don Nickell
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: northern Idaho, U.S.A.
Posts: 12
Hey! Mr. Egg, I'm a little old to use terms like "You da boss man" and such but my ex-step-son used to use a term I still use when I'm really feeling good:
"nifty, keno, basso, jazzy". That applies to you in my book.

I finally got around to using your "AudioCD.ZIP" contents and it worked beautifully! I hesitated becasue I don't like messin' with the Registry via a "*.reg" file, but after exhausting all other avenues I backed up the Registry, closed my good eye and ran your AudioCD.reg file.

I've saved it in several folders on my HD and just finished a 3 CD backup of my major folders/files, with your file in it!!! <grin>

Thanks, Don
Don Nickell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump