Old 30th April 2001, 18:02   #1
Mako111
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
I get this message when inserting an audio CD:
"Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item."
-But Winamp will start playing it anyways. Does anyone know why this is happening?
Mako111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2001, 20:50   #2
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
WinNT 2k?
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2001, 22:56   #3
Mako111
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
I'm using Windows ME and this started to happen, I think, after I installed the CDreader plugin, because I wasn't able to use the EQ with CD's. I'm pretty sure I didn't get this error previously. Any Ideas?
Mako111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 00:33   #4
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Did you disable the old CD plug-in as stated in the CDReader readme file?
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 00:43   #5
Mako111
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
Yes, I disabled the old plugin by renaming it like it says to do. I don't know why this is happening! I'll just have to keep trying different things until I figure it out. If you have any other suggestions, I'd be glad to hear them. Thanks
Mako111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 00:49   #6
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Do you have more then one CD drive (CD-RW maybe?)
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 01:10   #7
Mako111
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
I have a dvd drive and a cdrw. I only use the cdrw for burning, not for playback. I just installed Winamp yesterday to try it out and see what all the rave was about.
It seems like everyone under the sun uses it, but I'll have to go back to my old player if this message keeps coming up everytime I put in a cd.
Mako111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 01:17   #8
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
And you are using the normal CD player plug-in and didn't install anything called CD reader?
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 01:21   #9
Mako111
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
I installed this plugin from Copah's project page:
wacdr191.exe - CDDA plugin Ver 1.91 for Winamp 2.xx
Mako111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 01:26   #10
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
good, getting somewhere

Go to:
preferences (ctrl-p) > Plug-ins > input > select the CD reader Plug-in > Hit Configure > Repeat for each drive: Click on a drive > Hit Confiure >IF ASPI is selected, make sure the Right drive is selected for that drive letter. If NOT, select ASPI and select the right drive for that letter.

Play with that.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 01:49   #11
Mako111
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
All the settings are correct. I also have the buffer size set to "24", Command is at "SCSI-3" and speed is set to "Maximum". Well, It was a good idea though! Thanks for replying so quickly.
Mako111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 02:48   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
This is nothing to do with Winamp.
It's a WinME specific error message, explained here:
http://support.microsoft.com/support.../Q264/4/81.asp

Exactly which method are you using to play cd's in Winamp?
(there's at least 3 different options)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....831#post248831
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 03:39   #13
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
damn, I even search Ms KB with no luck. I have been in a real slump lately. Most of my responses have been sucking
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2001, 14:22   #14
Mako111
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
I checked out that article and this is not the case with me.
It says:
"This behavior can occur if you click to select multiple icons on the desktop and include the Internet Explorer icon, and then press ENTER."
I certainly don't select multiple icons for God's sake. I don't know where they come up with this crap! I was finally able to get rid of that error message by using Creative's Disk Detector and assigning Winamp as the default audio player. Now, I'm not sure why this worked, but it did. I had assigned Winamp as the default player when I set it up.
Now I'm having a problem with autorun. When I put in a CD, I don't recieve that error message any more(Thank God!), and I just get a question mark(?) in the playlist. So, to answer your question about which method I use to play CD's, I can't use the first option obviously, so I use:
" #2- Winamp main menu -> Play -> Audio CD "
I've tried to make it autoplay, but am having no luck. At least I got rid of that error message! Thanks for taking time to help me out here, I really appreciate it.

Mako111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2001, 02:31   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Glad you sorted it out!
Yeah, I thought that MSKB page was a load of crap too!
Did you fill in the feedback form to let them know?

What's this Creative Disk Detector all about then?

Firstly:
Goto : System Control Panel -> Device Manager:
CD-ROM -> CD-ROM device/type -> Properties -> Settings tab
Make sure "auto insert notification" is checked.
(probably already is, but make sure anyway)

If you've got TweakUI, goto Paranoia tab & make sure both "Autoplay Music & Data CD's" are checked.

Winamp Prefs -> FileTypes : checkmark "Associate with AudioCD's"
Also, if it's there, select CDA from list.

Windows Folder Options -> FileTypes tab -> AudioCD -> Edit
"Play" action -> Edit
Command line = "C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe"

nb. This is the command line for the default plugin (in_cdda.dll)
Even I can't get it to work with CDReader!
I just get Winamp opening & then the "Open file/s" box.
It works ok when I disable CDReader & re-enable in_cdda.dll
Anyone else experienced this?
Ha, first time I've ever tried to make Winamp my default CD Player!
My default player will always be CDSpectrum Pro!
/mmmm . . . psychedelic/kinemorphic/hypnogenic screensavers in Winamp vis plugin format . . . mmmm yummy!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2001, 03:56   #16
Mako111
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
I think I will go back there and fill out that form just to relieve some agg******ons! :-)

Disk Detector is just a small utility that came with my soundcard that lets you assign an audio device to a drive(never thought I'd have to use it!)

Anyways, all those settings checked out ok except that, for the life of me, I can't find "AudioCD" in - Windows Folder Options -> FileTypes tab -> AudioCD. I can't imagine why it wouldn't be in there, unless I'm just going blind or had too much to drink! I might have to make a new entry in there or something.

Oh, by the way, I installed CDspectrum Pro to try it out, but It only plays out of the front 2 speakers, nothing from the rears! Granted, I only messed around with it for a few minutes, so I'm sure I'm just missing a setting somewhere.

Peace!
Mako111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2001, 03:09   #17
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=48777

Basically, I think we've discovered a bug in Winamp 2.74

btw, all previous versions are available here:
http://www.winampheaven.com
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump