Old 7th March 2020, 13:11   #1
Evanco2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 8
Winamp 5.8 Doesn't Work

Winamp 5.8 doesn't work. While trying to load a music file, it tells me that I do not have anything in the library; since I know this, I clicked the box to tell it not to tell me this again, and now it doesn't load a music file at all.
Evanco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2020, 14:04   #2
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,234
and what did you do to fix it besides posting here?

did you do a clean install?
did you try to add music by adding a file or map?
did you try to drag and drop a file from the folder?

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

Nope, it's not a radiostation just a non stop darkwave music stream

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2020, 23:56   #3
Evanco2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 8
I did a clean install, and I found that I can load songs from the player itself. However, I should just be able to click on the song and it should play.
Evanco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2020, 09:48   #4
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,234
nope that is not a default winamp setting.
You want to play a song in winamp when you click a file in explorer?

you have to make that setting possible

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

Nope, it's not a radiostation just a non stop darkwave music stream

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2020, 22:37   #5
Evanco2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 8
It was a default setting before, or at least I never had to enable it. I can't find it in the menu.
Evanco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2020, 20:07   #6
ryerman
Major Dude
 
ryerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 703
Try associating whatever files you want with Winamp, using Windows.
In Windows, go to Settings > Apps > Default Apps > (scroll to) Choose default app by file type > (scroll to) .mp3 (or flac or whatever)
s

Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Winamp 5.666, Bento Skin
ryerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2020, 22:05   #7
Evanco2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 8
I did that in the first place, but no joy.
Evanco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2020, 22:24   #8
ryerman
Major Dude
 
ryerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 703
Sometimes, life sucks.
I never bothered "upgrading" to Winamp 5.8 Beta, but I rarely use beta apps anyway. Not that there's anything wrong with that.

Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Winamp 5.666, Bento Skin
ryerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2020, 22:45   #9
ryerman
Major Dude
 
ryerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanco2 View Post
It was a default setting before, or at least I never had to enable it. I can't find it in the menu.
That setting is offered by the JTFE plug-in, which is not included with 5.8 Beta.
See
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.....8#post3177883
and
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....light=jtfe+5.8

Another reason I didn't bother to "upgrade".

Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Winamp 5.666, Bento Skin
ryerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2020, 14:55   #10
myminpins
Member
 
myminpins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 56
Go to Preferences, Media Library, Local Library, Watch Folders and then add folder and "rescan now" and it'll add all your files. Just let it work and walk away for a bit. Then set your music folders as a watch folder and you should be good.

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Winamp Pro 5.8 Build 3660(x86)
myminpins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2020, 12:12   #11
Evanco2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 8
Update: I was using Winamp for running plugins for .nsf and .vgm files. These files do NOT seem to work on the newer versions, but do work on the other versions.
Evanco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2020, 11:08   #12
poundei
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1
and new versions is starting with which?
poundei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2020, 23:39   #13
Evanco2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 8
Up to at least 2007 Winamp Lite works, but I haven't tested them all. To do so would be exhaustive, and while I have OCD, I do not have the patience to deal with it. At least the last 2 versions of Winamp do not seem to work with the stated plugins.
Evanco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 07:59   #14
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,677
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
things are getting conflated. imo 5.8 is fine, see this:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=453692

as to the association issue, its more of a windows issue, see here for how to fix:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=453742

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 22:19   #15
Evanco2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 8
Things are not 'conflated' at all, and while 5.8 may work for your applications, the plugins simply do not work.
Evanco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 22:21   #16
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,677
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Which plugins?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 22:23   #17
Evanco2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 8
I did state it before, but they are for chiptunes such as .nsf and .vgm files.
Evanco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 22:26   #18
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,677
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
U could try 5.666, install the plugins, see if they work, then install 5.8 on top.

Also, I read in other threads sometimes winamp or the plugins installer needs to be run in admin mode, in order to get em to work, but idk if that applies here or not.

That plugin is old tho, it's much more likely a plugin issue than a winamp issue.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2020, 23:06   #19
blackhawk_strand
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1
Go to you Media Library Tab, from there Right click on Local Library, select Preferences and Add Folder - with you Music in it. And Winamp will Add all your Music.
blackhawk_strand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump