Old 3rd October 2007, 15:58   #1
samo_elc
Junior Member
 
samo_elc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
Namelookups

hi guys,

i need help configuring this keeping in mind that im just a beginner, like i see that this namelook up turns the IP into name right!?
so like instead of typing for example 192.168.2.2:80 to connect to my SHOUTcast D.N.A.S. Status i can type for example mymusic:80, is that right?!
so please help me configuring this, and how can i get the name "mymusic", anything to do with the name of the computer im broadcasting from or hosts.msn file..??

plz help..
thanks...
samo_elc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2007, 18:58   #2
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
you are confusing the name lookups with dynamic addresses i think?

name lookups only reverse the incoming ip addresses to your server to DNS names

i think you are looking for your machines to have dynamic names? or am i on the wrong page?
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2007, 19:01   #3
samo_elc
Junior Member
 
samo_elc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
ok i other words

how can i make

192.168.2.2:80/listen.pls

to

mymusic.com:80/listen.pls

?


this is wat i actually mean..

thanks u
samo_elc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2007, 19:30   #4
deppy
Banned
 
deppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1982
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 306
You need to purchase a domain and point the domain name at your ip address. However you will need to point it at your public ip through your ISP rather than your 192.168 ip address.

If you are unfamiliar with DNS hosting and/or how to go about buying a domain, use google. This isn't an actual SHOUTcast issue.

Please don't PM me for technical support. Other users can't search through PM's so it does the other users no good.
deppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2007, 20:01   #5
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
lol off topic//... deppy got banned
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2007, 20:04   #6
samo_elc
Junior Member
 
samo_elc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
mmm i can c he is banned

but i hav one more thing, deppy said that i have to buy a domain, but i already have a domain, ftp server, everything basically, can u help me wit this one?
samo_elc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2007, 21:39   #7
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
if you have a website all you need to do is create a .pls file and upload it to your webserver.

http://forums.streamsolutions.co.uk/...ead.php?t=2458

im assuming this is for outside of your own network so people can link to your station through your website?
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 18:24   #8
samo_elc
Junior Member
 
samo_elc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 8
OK guys, thanks alot for your help and concern, mmm, so basically all i have to do is to point the domain name at my ip address, ok i will try to manage that.

Once again thanks a million
samo_elc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump