X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • april_rae
    • Jul 2013

Metadata for Shoutcast Audio Stream

I am looking for some help. Which is the nice way of saying, I am lost.

I am a front end designer and developer working on a site for an internet radio broadcast. I have a new player put up that doesn't look like 1997 spit it out, but I wanted to update the now playing section.

They were using amptracker- but they were grandfathered into a free service of it. So I can't alter the output code at all, so I can't change it.

I figured I would just write some code to pull the metadata and I'm finding it to be considerably more complicated than I expected.

I am trying to pull Album Art, Track Name and Artist Name.

Is there any prebaked solution out there, or can anyone help or point me to some help for this problem?

TIA

AprilRae
  • DrO
    • Sep 2003

I'd have to assume they're using a v1 based DNAS and so album art is not viable from it, you'd need to use an external service lookup.

there's 2 ways to get the stream metadata, either connect to the stream and extract it from there (which would just be a string you need to split up) or query the DNAS via its admin / public methods e.g. 7.html
    WACUP Project <‖> "Winamp Ramblings" - Indie Winamp Dev Blog

Comment

• alfabravo14
      Banned
      • Feb 2013

For albumart you need to first extract the iDtags/Meta from the stream
      look it up in some database...then present the correct album-art pic.
      Problem will be that you probably dont have the album art yourself.

Existing solutions are to signup as affiliate with:

Amazon
      iTunes

they provide scripts that will allow you to show
      album-art (from their own huge database)
      it will also include "buy this " buttons.
      which can get you some small revenue.

I recently found a 3rd party (paid) service that will do this for you
      so no need to sign up with Amazon or iTunes yourself