Old 10th April 2011, 16:33   #1
retroman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 43
Taskbar Text Mod ATF: Show Radio Station Data?

Recently I began using Dr. O's neat plug-in with great success (thank you, sir!), but one issue has me stumped. My ATF string is:

[%artist% - ]$if2(%title%,$filepart(%filename%))

This works perfectly for local music files. However, when I play a stream from a Web radio station, only the URL shows on the task bar. This occurs even when the station details are shown correctly in the Winamp playlist pane and the songticker. In other words, my ATF string in the Titles tab gives different results than the same string in the Taskbar Text Mod dialog. This was a surprise.

Thinking that %streamtitle% might be needed, as a test I put that alone in the taskbar ATF. Unexpectedly, this caused the button to be completely blank, whatever was playing. At that point, I was out of ideas. I would be grateful if someone can post a sample ATF string that will show station info on the taskbar button.

I'm using Winamp Pro 5.61 and Taskbar Text Mod 2.0.1 on Vista Home Premium.

Doug M. in NJ
retroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2011, 22:02   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
although there's some stream related ATF options, most of the time they aren't filled in properly (either due to the source not providing the issue or things not being hooked up fully) or the information is hard coded leading to some of the issues you're seeing.

will look into it a bit more whilst tinkering with some SHOUTcast title updates over the next few weeks, as i'm not sure if the plug-in is passing things correctly for streams to work (never tried it with it).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2011, 00:07   #3
retroman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 43
...will look into it a bit more whilst tinkering with some SHOUTcast title updates over the next few weeks, as i'm not sure if the plug-in is passing things correctly for streams to work (never tried it with it).

Thanks for the info, Dr. O. The URL's tend to be long and so the button shows mostly gibberish, which is sometimes disconcerting. As a practical matter, I usually remember what stream is playing, so it's not a big deal for me.

Regards,
Doug M. in NJ
retroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
atf, stream, taskbar text mod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump