Old 8th August 2001, 19:55   #1
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
Website Registering

I don't get it. Why do I have to pay $70 for two years for a website name? Isn't the Internet free? And what's the deal with the things that say like, $19 a year for ever. How do those work? Where's the best place to register a site? Any thoughts/answers/suggestoins?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 00:07   #2
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
You don't have to pay $70US for two years of DNS service. There are a lot of domain registrars now, several of which will register a domain for less than $10US per year.
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 05:05   #3
Nofx Guy
Major Dude
 
Nofx Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: under a rock
Posts: 998
Send a message via ICQ to Nofx Guy
or if your lucky like me and have a friend who deos web hosting, then you get it for free!! hehehe freeeeeee. its sooooo great

www.audioflo.ath.cx
All music, All the Time
Nofx Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 15:28   #4
Ice
Moderator Alumni
Americas Favorite Smut Peddler
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sun Prarie, WI
Posts: 3,303
it's all about who your friends are.

do your friends work for a design/hosting company?

I'd like to meet a mad man who makes it all seem sane
To work out all these troubles and what there is to gain
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 19:07   #5
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
Quote:
Originally posted by sawg
you can just give out your IP.
Explane/expand on what you just said.
Quote:
Originally posted by Curi0us_George
several of which will register a domain for less than $10US per year.
What are they and are they reliable?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 20:30   #6
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
Quote:
Originally posted by sawg
DNS (Domain names just point to IPs)
Everyone has an IP, correct? How can I use mine?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 20:37   #7
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
So how can I use my IP?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 20:46   #8
zorpidus
Major Dude
 
zorpidus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 1,137
Send a message via ICQ to zorpidus
http://youripnumber

where youripnumber= xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

zorpidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 21:40   #9
Nofx Guy
Major Dude
 
Nofx Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: under a rock
Posts: 998
Send a message via ICQ to Nofx Guy
my friend just does web hosting from his home for different people, he has two servers , one in cali and one where i live,

you can use your ip but you will have to find out what your ip is,

to do that us winip, just search for it on your comp.

also if u wanna us your ip as your webpage url, you will need to be connected to the net on the computer your webpage is on, 24/7 so that people can accesse your website, all the time, or else it will be sorta buttish. also you would have to set up your computer as a server. my suggestion would be if you wanna do that is make sure you have highspeed. also buy a crappy old computer, like a 166, and use that as your server, that way you home computer wouldnt have to be on 24/7, your server computer would be, also just network those 2 computers for ICS.

www.audioflo.ath.cx
All music, All the Time
Nofx Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 21:45   #10
zorpidus
Major Dude
 
zorpidus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 1,137
Send a message via ICQ to zorpidus
But before you even consider hosting your site yourself, keep in mind that this also implies many risks. My brother runs a server too at home and luckily he's installed a firewall. He get attacked daily, and now with the Code Red virus, the server isn't even accesible, because there are too many connections all the time

If you're gonna host a site yourself, you should do it on a seperate box...

zorpidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 21:53   #11
Jstalilwyrd
Major Dude
 
Jstalilwyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 948
Send a message via AIM to Jstalilwyrd Send a message via Yahoo to Jstalilwyrd
Hmm, I've been wanting to host a site as of late.

I looked at http://www.hostrocket.com/ because they offer a nice $9.95/month plan for 2 years (and $20 domain registration). However, I'm kind of skeptical if I'll get ripped off if they somehow bite the dust within my 2 years or something else happens. Anyone know of any other hosts that offer a decent price with the same kind of features at another place? Mucho thanks.
Jstalilwyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2001, 23:53   #12
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
If you need a host (and you will unless you have a static IP), I suggest yahoo's web-services. Simplenet was bought by Yahoo, and it was the best. The new Yahoo! thing isn't quite as good, but it's close. (Simplenet gave unlimited bandwidth and storage )

If you just need to register a domain, look at www.tucows.com, www.yahoo.com (both are accredited registrars) or search for a domain registrar. You can go to http://www.internic.net/regist.html to get a list of all accredited registrars. The registrars will all have different prices.
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2001, 20:26   #13
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
So if I have a shitty computer in my basement, and I might get a DSL soon, how do I set it up as a server?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2001, 20:28   #14
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
So should I like wipe clean the crappy computer, put in like a 10 gb hard drive?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2001, 20:32   #15
fish
Pretty Cool Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cle, OH, USA
Posts: 4,847
Send a message via AIM to fish
What OS are you using?
fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2001, 20:35   #16
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
Currently Win95 on it but what should I use for it?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2001, 20:38   #17
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
So the Linux/BSD thing would be the OS and the Apachee would be the sever?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2001, 20:45   #18
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
So how does Apachee work?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2001, 20:48   #19
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
Could I just get this Red Hat Professional Server thing?
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2001, 20:55   #20
Nofx Guy
Major Dude
 
Nofx Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: under a rock
Posts: 998
Send a message via ICQ to Nofx Guy
hmm not to br rude, but i think you might need some help on this. your best bet would be to find someone who knows linux and get them to set it up, it's kinda tricky. and if you dont know what your doing, you could fuck stuff up easily. but if you know lots about computers and are up to the challenge , buy a linux book, or get a redhat linux tutorial, i would recommend red hat, i prefer it to mandrake. also if you wanna stick with your win95 on that box and not use linux for you server, i know a friend who has a sweet server prgrm for 95, i'll get the name. but you will need to buy a firewall, you dont want those pesky hackers to gettin in and foolin with stuff!

www.audioflo.ath.cx
All music, All the Time
Nofx Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2001, 22:38   #21
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
Well, like they said, Linux would e your best bet. You could run one on Windows 2000 (better yet, NT4 sp6) if you prefer. You won't actually need 10g of space if it is going to be a dedicated server. In fact, unless you are distributing videos, you could probably get by with 2g (with full Linux server install).

Be advised, DSL doesn't guarantee a static IP (or a fast upload: ADSL). You might have to pay for a static IP.
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2001, 09:15   #22
Kevin
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 582
Send a message via AIM to Kevin
Quote:
Originally posted by zorpidus
He get attacked daily, and now with the Code Red virus, the server isn't even accesible, because there are too many connections all the time

If you're gonna host a site yourself, you should do it on a seperate box...
...with a *Nix based or BSD based operating system.

Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2001, 09:36   #23
zorpidus
Major Dude
 
zorpidus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 1,137
Send a message via ICQ to zorpidus
Well, yes, that would be the perfect solution Kev

Damn Microsoft

zorpidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2001, 11:23   #24
Bilbo Baggins
Wind Chime of the Apocalypse
 
Bilbo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Forest
Posts: 17,229
At least they tried...
Bilbo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2001, 21:36   #25
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
What's the Apachee website? And I was thinking of a large hard drive so I could let others use my hosting capabilities. And I know about the Static IP it's like $15 buck extra a year or something.
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2001, 22:03   #26
Matt
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: England
Posts: 3,396
http://httpd.apache.org/

and http://www.******.com*
will*solve*your*dynamic*ip*problem*thing
Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2001, 20:53   #27
tjb2004
Major Dude
 
tjb2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Rocky River, Ohio.
Posts: 1,881
Send a message via AIM to tjb2004
Thanks for your help guys.
tjb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2002, 19:34   #28
thehostingspot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 21
rip off

most places are a rip off! Charging over $30year for a domain.
There is no reason why you should spend over $15 year.

Discounted web hosting and shoutcast shells
thehostingspot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2002, 22:59   #29
DuaneJeffers
Major Dude
 
DuaneJeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,776
Holy Shit .... Are you advertising .... Ummm .... STOP IT!!!!!!!!!!!

-Duane

Website

Yeah, that's pretty much it. :-\
DuaneJeffers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2002, 23:28   #30
n_ick2000
Forum King
 
n_ick2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: -
Posts: 2,501
Send a message via AIM to n_ick2000 Send a message via Yahoo to n_ick2000
Seriously, for my domain, I only pay $8.50 a year. I think you have to order it with a webhosting package though.

|
n_ick2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2002, 10:33   #31
Curi0us_George
Forum King
 
Curi0us_George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Oxford, MS Posts: -1
Posts: 5,179
Send a message via AIM to Curi0us_George Send a message via Yahoo to Curi0us_George
Hell, my domain is free. I just pay $15 a month for the hosting service.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.

47 65 6C 61 65 64 2E 63 6F 6D 00
Curi0us_George is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump