Old 26th September 2016, 11:29   #1
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
Winamp Tools [Your tools for Winamp]

This thread will describe Winamp Tools. A project that brings simple applications for Winamp.
In short, Winamp Tools is a collection of several tools that perform tasks associated with Winamp. Each tool is designed to do strictly defined job.
You can read more here.

Here you can download Winamp Tools installer. Installer includes all components.

Winamp Tools 8.0

Release date: 17.07.2017
File Size: 8,25 MiB (8647952 bytes)
License: Freeware
Requirements: Windows 7+, Winamp
SHA256: f161028afaf5742fd70b7c92b52be3a2b27f488eda70f6bbd39530a46afc6446

Download Winamp Tools




You may also download separately each component. For now there are few applications in the project:

- Winamp Tools Launcher
This is a simple app that starts selected application. It is designed only to manage and run chosen component. It is central application that binds the whole package and is installed by the installer (not available separately).

- Winamp Information Tool
Winamp Information Tool application allows to get and display all relevant informations about Winamp. Results are presented in a compact and readable report file based on text or HTML format.

- Winamp Backup Tool
Winamp Backup Tool application allows to create backup of all Winamp files and settings and if it is neccessary restore it.

- Winamp Translation Tool
Winamp Translation Tool application allows to simplify and organize Winamp interface translation. It is possibly to generate Winamp Language Pack.

I hope I can add in future some useful small applications that will help using Winamp everyday.
I hope maybe one of the tools will be useful for you...

[Translation]
All tools are multilingual. For now it supports 3 languages:
- English - English
- Polish - Polski
- Portuguęs Brasileiro
If someone of you would like to translate it to your language just let me know.
Default, reference english file can be find in Lang dir for each tool.

-Pawel

Last edited by Pawel; 17th July 2017 at 08:47.
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2016, 21:25   #2
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
Hello Paweł,

I just downloaded your Winamp Tools, gave it a try and must admit it is impressive!

In case it is not inconvenient to you I would like to ask to add the skin's preview under the SKIN tab within the WINAMP INFORMATION TOOL.

Thanks.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2016, 21:37   #3
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
Thanks,
I will add this to my todo list...
(I didn't add it and use static images as some skins are packed. Some skins also has no image of skin, etc...)
-Pawel
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2016, 15:45   #4
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
Was it your intention to "forget" the close button on ABOUT dialog?

I cannot discover any besides the donation button

Some notes so far:

1) The text size on the ABOUT dialog is slightly bigger than on the main window. And if you ask me, I would really appreciate if I had ALL text in all windows in that size.

2) And it would be swell if the click on a skin in the list would change the look of the window instantly WITHOUT hitting OK first. (kinda like in our COLOR THEMES window )

3) If you choose Windows 10 as your skin the window gets light grey, but the WINAMP INFORMATION TOOL window is black. Is this supposed to be like that?

And WINAMP BACKUP TOOL uses my own .msstyles-file instead of the chosen Windows 10 Look. Checking "Use Application Skin" changes the appearance of that particular window to something completely different.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2016, 18:53   #5
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
Was it your intention to "forget" the close button on ABOUT dialog?

I cannot discover any besides the donation button
Yes
You need to click on form (not Donation button :P) or press escape button.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post

1) The text size on the ABOUT dialog is slightly bigger than on the main window. And if you ask me, I would really appreciate if I had ALL text in all windows in that size.
Will check it. To be honest don't remember if I made it intentionally or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post

2) And it would be swell if the click on a skin in the list would change the look of the window instantly WITHOUT hitting OK first. (kinda like in our COLOR THEMES window )
Hmm, will think about it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post

3) If you choose Windows 10 as your skin the window gets light grey, but the WINAMP INFORMATION TOOL window is black. Is this supposed to be like that?
Could you please provide some screenshot? I can not see this behavior at my PC. It should not be black.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post

And WINAMP BACKUP TOOL uses my own .msstyles-file instead of the chosen Windows 10 Look. Checking "Use Application Skin" changes the appearance of that particular window to something completely different.
Every application use own skin. There is no possibility to set one skin for all tools at one time (if I understand it well).
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2016, 19:23   #6
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawel View Post
Every application use own skin. There is no possibility to set one skin for all tools at one time.
So now I understand why I got different colors on different windows.

But is it necessary Pawel? Why would I, as a user, wanna have 5 different skins/color themes on 5 different windows WITHIN THE SAME PROGRAM? I am afraid you made your program unnecessarily complex. Don't you think? It's a nice gimmick though but also useful?
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2016, 19:50   #7
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
So now I understand why I got different colors on different windows.

But is it necessary Pawel? Why would I, as a user, wanna have 5 different skins/color themes on 5 different windows WITHIN THE SAME PROGRAM? I am afraid you made your program unnecessarily complex. Don't you think? It's a nice gimmick though but also useful?
I think you are right. I will add option to installer. It will set one skin for all, if user choose it. So, this is the next to do job...
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2016, 19:57   #8
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawel View Post
... I will add option to installer. It will set one skin for all, if user choose it ...
Now this sounds exciting ...
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 14:57   #9
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
Hello Paweł,

I installed your program on my new laptop with a FullHD display and would like to ask you to make your entire program dpi-aware.

Either the text lines are blurry or microscopic small.

And while running the System Information Tool I get the message "Gathering CPU Information: Done" but the progress bar is not at the end, nothing happens and I have to kill the process via Task Manager.

The icons look gorgeous though. I love them.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 15:21   #10
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
Could you please write here:
- what is the resolution of your screen?
- do you use 100% scaling or more?
- what operating system do you use?

To be honest I only tested it on 2k display with 100% scaling.
Please makes some screenshot. I would like to see described problems (scaling, cpu).

CPU info... could you please send me your dxdiag.exe log (via private msg)? I would like to see why this is not working for you... maybe I can figure it out.

Ps: If you open config file (SIT.ini) and edit [App] -> RealTime_Update=1 -> 0
Is it start now?

-Pawel
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2016, 19:02   #11
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
Thanks for taking the trouble ...

1) display resolution: 1920x1080 on 15.6" (=> 141 ppi)
2) display scaling set to 150%
3) Windows 10 (1607)

Please have a look at this screenshot.
On the left size there is icon text in standard font size on my system. And now compare this to the "Version"-lines on the right size: they are about 1/3 smaller. 80% of your program contain text lines in this tiny look:



And this is how it (approximately) looks like on my display:



In this following screenshot you can see a technique which is used in a program which I translate. In addition with a proper manifest file ALL text lines are fine on my display regardless of the display scaling settings.



Would it be possible to implement this into your program?

This is the installation routine which stretches the fonts and bitmaps and thus makes them look blurry:



And this is all I could find in the .ini file:



The requested log file comes via PM.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fontsize.png
Views:	735
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	52818   Click image for larger version

Name:	DlgFonts.png
Views:	733
Size:	4.0 KB
ID:	52819   Click image for larger version

Name:	ini.PNG
Views:	737
Size:	10.8 KB
ID:	52820   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fontsize2.png
Views:	739
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	52821   Click image for larger version

Name:	blurry.PNG
Views:	738
Size:	40.5 KB
ID:	52822  

PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2017, 17:53   #12
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
New version of Winamp Tools!

Winamp Tools 7.0

Release date: 07.01.2017
File Size: 10,40 MiB (10909482 bytes)
License: Freeware
Requirements: Windows 7+, Winamp
SHA256: 447910170ea8f3625e986c8f3bc84503e0ba89c5d6def959c5e5c7587318869e

Download Winamp Tools



I would like to thanks to the following people:
PeterK - for tests!
Anderson Silva - for his translation!


Changelog:

Winamp Tools 7.0.0.2000
Winamp Information Tool (7.0.0.2000)
* New: Support for High-DPI (custom display scaling)
* New: Possibility to restore default colors (Settings)
* New: Support for WACUP (Winamp Community Update Pack by DrO)
* New: Command line support (/? or /HELP to learn more)
* Fixed: Columns resizing
* Misc: Tweaked Winamp Advanced Info window
* Misc: Updated: Language files
* Misc: General tweaks, improvements and optimizations

System Information Tool (7.0.0.2000)
* New: Support for High-DPI (custom display scaling). Still not complete!
* New: Possibility to restore default colors (Settings)
* New: Possibility to set data update speed, 500-30000ms - default=2000ms (Settings)
* Misc: Updated: Language files
* Misc: General tweaks, improvements and optimizations

Winamp Translation Tool (7.0.0.2000)
* New: Support for High-DPI (custom display scaling)
* New: Possibility to restore default colors (Settings)
* New: Support for WACUP (Winamp Community Update Pack by DrO)
* Misc: Updated: Language files
* Misc: General tweaks, improvements and optimizations

Winamp Backup Tool (7.0.0.2000)
* New: Support for High-DPI (custom display scaling)
* New: Possibility to restore default colors (Settings)
* New: Support for WACUP (Winamp Community Update Pack by DrO)
* New: Advanced detection of running Winamp for Restore Mode (ask to only close Winamp from restore directory)
* New: Command line support (/? or /HELP to learn more)
* Improved: Full Auto Backup Mode
- Added option to permanently delete all files from destination directory (and Winamp settings) before restoration
- Added possibility to move deleted files to the trash (files can be restored manually if something goes wrong)
* Misc: Updated: Language files
* Misc: General tweaks, improvements and optimizations



Ps: First post of the thread has been updated...
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2017, 18:40   #13
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
New version of Winamp Tools!

Winamp Tools 7.1

Release date: 14.02.2017
File Size: 10,41 MiB (10911396 bytes)
License: Freeware
Requirements: Windows 7+, Winamp
SHA256: b68ab3ea326c2a8d9e37395ff4156195464ca3a40541b6e3e133f9863cbc7ff2

Download Winamp Tools



I would like to thanks to the following people:
PeterK - for tests!
Anderson Silva - for his translation!


Changelog:

Winamp Tools Installer (7.1.0.2500)
* Fixed: Support for High-DPI (custom display scaling)
Winamp Tools Launcher (7.1.0.2500)
* Fixed: Controls transparency
* Fixed: No posibility to disable styles (set default Windows style)
* Misc: General tweaks, improvements and optimizations

Winamp Information Tool (7.1.0.2500)
* Fixed: Controls transparency
* Fixed: No posibility to disable styles (set default Windows style)
* Misc: General tweaks, improvements and optimizations

System Information Tool (7.1.0.2500)
* Reverted: Support for High-DPI - for now disabled!
* Fixed: Controls transparency
* Fixed: No posibility to disable styles (set default Windows style)
* Misc: General tweaks, improvements and optimizations

Winamp Translation Tool (7.1.0.2500)
* Fixed: Controls transparency
* Fixed: No posibility to disable styles (set default Windows style)
* Misc: General tweaks, improvements and optimizations

Winamp Backup Tool (7.1.0.2500)
* Fixed: Controls transparency
* Fixed: No posibility to disable styles (set default Windows style)
* Fixed: Added CREATE_NO_WINDOW flag to dwCreationFlags of CreateProcess() function
* Misc: General tweaks, improvements and optimizations




Ps: First post of the thread has been updated...
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 08:51   #14
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
New version of Winamp Tools!

Winamp Tools 8.0

Release date: 17.07.2017
File Size: 8,25 MiB (8647952 bytes)
License: Freeware
Requirements: Windows 7+, Winamp
SHA256: f161028afaf5742fd70b7c92b52be3a2b27f488eda70f6bbd39530a46afc6446

Download Winamp Tools



I would like to thanks to the following people:
PeterK, MarkRH - for tests!
Anderson Silva - for his translation!


Changelog:
* New: Removed System Information Tool from project
* Updated: Winamp Information Tool, Winamp Backup Tool and Winamp Translation Tool have been updated to v8.0
* Misc: General tweaks, improvements and optimizations


Ps: First post of the thread has been updated...
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2017, 18:58   #15
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
Hello Pawel,

great release. I am really enjoying every tool.

But I have some short questions though:

1) While making a backup a confirmation line is shown below EVERY copied file. I know it because I made a screenshot while your program was copying a bunch of files. During the copy process the user will never ever see if the particular file was successfully copied or not because the lines more very quickly. Would it be a better idea to put such confirmation lines at the end of the pile of copied files? Would removing those confirmations lines speed up the entire copying process?

2) As I said, I made a screenshot, so I could read what was copied. And I discovered an empty line:



Is it good, bad or neutral?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	empty line.PNG
Views:	82
Size:	13.9 KB
ID:	53384  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 07:52   #16
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post

great release. I am really enjoying every tool.
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post

1) While making a backup a confirmation line is shown below EVERY copied file.
Yes. This is by design. You can always wait for end and then check your log. You can generate report (HTML or TXT) and check the log. And finally you can set the verbosity of log (it is possible to show only warnings and errors - it indeed speed up copying files).

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post

2) As I said, I made a screenshot, so I could read what was copied. And I discovered an empty line:
Heh, it should't be empty This is a mistery. The case for X-Files...

-Pawel
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 13:23   #17
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
Mystery solved!

Stop worrying about the empty line. It is caused by the program PicPick, which made the screenshot. In that second when I hit FN+PRINT in order to make a screenshot an empty line appears in the back up list.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 13:49   #18
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
I was just trying to create my own language file, which I could add to my skin so users would have Quinto's new context menu options translated.

So I clicked on the BROWSE button hoping to open the standard translation file:



And then the standard Open/Save Dialog Box popped up on my desktop demanding either a .dll- or .exe-file, which is weird because the extension of a language file is .wlz.



Am I not understanding here something or should it be *.wlz in here Paweł?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Translation Tool.png
Views:	47
Size:	81.9 KB
ID:	53389   Click image for larger version

Name:	Translation Tool2.png
Views:	46
Size:	23.8 KB
ID:	53390  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 21:33   #19
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
Hmm, it depends what you want to do. What language file you want to create?


BUILD action (the one you made screenshot) creates a language file with *.lng extension from passed dll (library) or exe (executable) file (usally a plugin).


To create a wlz file you would have to use ZIPUP action (first one on the list) - it creates a WLZ file from passed winamp language files already translated by user (*.lng).

Maybe this will help: http://pawelporwisz.pl/winamp/wtt_en.php
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2017, 07:50   #20
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
My initial intention was creating an additional lng-file within my skin. I added some new context menu entries, which are (no doubt here) in English. In asked Koopa whether it was possible to add such a file to my skin. In case it is I will definitely come back to this topic and the Translation Tool so we can talk about every single step I am supposed to make in order to create such an additional translation file.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2017, 08:36   #21
Pawel
Moderator
 
Pawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 510
Send a message via ICQ to Pawel
If you want to add a translation support for your skin (not a plugin) you would have to edit this file: \WLZ_FILE\freeform\Wasabi.xml
Just add your translation strings to this file.

---
The fastest way (to check if translation of your skin works) is:

1. Use German Language Pack (WLZ) made by Koopa: C:\Program Files (x86)\Winamp\Lang\Winamp-de-de.wlz

We will use unpacked WLZ file (Winamp support WLZ in folder), to be able to make fast changes. So:

2. Unpack this WLZ file and change name of the folder to (for example): Winamp-de-de_SKIN_TEST
3. Run Winamp and choose this WLZ in folder as default Winamp Lang: "Winamp-de-de_SKIN_TEST"
Preview: http://www.meggamusic.co.uk/shup/1500798699/ssu.png

4. Now, close Winamp. Open Wasabi.xml file and add your translation there:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Winamp\Lang\Winamp-de-de_SKIN_TEST\freeform\Wasabi.xml
Save changes.

5. Run Winamp. Check if your skin uses correct translation.

-Pawel

Ps: Winamp Translation Tool may help you to automate this action. Just use "ZIPUP" command.
Pawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2017, 09:03   #22
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawel View Post
If you want to add a translation support for your skin (not a plugin) you would have to edit this file: \WLZ_FILE\freeform\Wasabi.xml
Just add your translation strings to this file.
O.K. I do understand, that in order to see translated terms in the context menu an edit of Koopa's translation is needed. I think it would not be a crime if I did it for private purposes only. But altering his file and sharing it with my skin is not what I am going to do.

I was just hoping I could create a small translation file which would add some lines to the main translation but still "sitting" within my skin. Obviously this approach cannot be made without a special plug-in. What a pity!

Thanks for the clarification Paweł.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Tags
app, tools, winamp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump