Old 3rd November 2015, 11:24   #1
myminpins
Junior Member
 
myminpins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 48
iPod not showing as device

I have been using Winamp with my iPod for many, many years. I plug in my iPod, it shows up as a device and I manage my playlists, etc., from there. Send playlists to the iPod, remove them, alter them, etc.

I got a new iPod and it was a 5 which I realize now can't be used with Winamp but, in trying to figure that out, somehow my Winamp got messed up.

Now when I plug in my iPod, it comes up as an iPod, not a device, and I can't send anything to it at all. It says I can but it doesn't work.

I can set it to sync when connected and then it's fine but I don't want to use it that way and only that way - I want to send playlists to it and have them go, showing the transfers and all that like it always used to.

I've checked my plugins and everything seems fine. Installed and uninstalled then reinstalled my plugins but nothing changes and I can't get it back to the way it was.

I'm using Windows 7, an iPod classic, and I just want it back the way it was.

I even formatted my iPod and started again but it will NOT show under device, only as iPod (so it's there under device but it doesn't work the same way at all)

I send a playlist to it and it says it goes but it doesn't show up in the lists of playlists. So I have to set up the sync then plug it in and sync it.

I want my old functionality back!!! Any idea where I went wrong?????

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
Winamp Pro 5.666 Build 3516
myminpins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2015, 05:05   #2
arawra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Can you use your iPod normally with the computer?

Even if so, I'd try reinstalling the driver the iPod uses. Download the itunes installation file, and then use an archival program like 7-zip to open the .exe. From there, run the driver inside the archive.
arawra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2015, 10:55   #3
myminpins
Junior Member
 
myminpins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 48
I did everything - formatted my iPod more than once, reinstalled iTunes and updated everything. No luck. The only way to get it to work now with Winamp is to click sync when it's plugged in and then it updates everything fine. "send to" doesn't work any more and it still doesn't show as a device but it does show. It's annoying as heck but at least I can still use Winamp, but not as easily as I used to be able to, with my iPod

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
Winamp Pro 5.666 Build 3516
myminpins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2015, 15:06   #4
arawra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Another solution I'm not sure if you're open to is getting custom firmware for your iPod. I have been using Rockbox on my iPod classic basically since I have had my iPod.

The main difference you'll see is that it will change the UI of the iPod, allows for different codec playback (I like my lossless formats =p) and you can drag/drop your music onto your iPod without ever having to sync it.
arawra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2015, 15:08   #5
myminpins
Junior Member
 
myminpins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 48
Thanks for the suggestion but the iPods I have are ones NOT supported by Rockbox, unfortunately, and I'm not interested in buying new iPods. I love my Classic and cannot afford a new one!!! LOL

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
Winamp Pro 5.666 Build 3516
myminpins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump