Old 13th August 2007, 06:53   #1
Dane1989
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Volume Problems

Hi when i open my winamp it makes all my wave sounds turn down... Just wondering if there is a way to fix it?

Dane1989
Dane1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2007, 06:58   #2
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Preferences > Plugins > Output
Select DirectSound

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2007, 10:35   #3
Dane1989
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Thanx for you help i new it was simply just could not work it out
Dane1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2007, 22:35   #4
slick_1232
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
I'm having the same problem as he was, although when i go to the output page under plugins as you suggested i only have waveout, there's no direct sound plugin to select... do i have to download the plugin myself or am i missing something?

this is with strictly what is provided with the free full package of the newest winamp.
slick_1232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2007, 23:29   #5
slick_1232
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Direct Sound Output

ok. to start off, the main problem i have is that when i change the winamp volume it also changes the Wave volume on my computer which interferes with other programs yada yada. i've been trying to fix this and it seems the solution would be to switch the output to DirectSound instead of Waveout. this is where my problem is. i go to pref. > plugins > output. this is where everyone says to switch it from waveout to direct sound. my problem is there is no direct sound to select. so is there a direct sound plugin i need to go find? and yes i've uninstalled and reinstalled winamp twice, so this is with default settings, bar the 1 plugin i use - sneakyamp

thx
slick_1232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2007, 00:05   #6
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
The DirectSound output plug-in is included with all packages of Winamp. It may have been accidentally unchecked when Winamp was installed.

Try reinstalling Winamp. In the Choose Components (2nd window/page) of the Winamp installer, make sure 'DirectSound output support' is check-marked in the 'Extra Audio Output/Effect Support' branch/heading.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2007, 21:34   #7
slick_1232
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
huh. well that worked wonders lol. i've been searching through anything i could find about direct sound tryin to find somewhere to download a plugin for it. don't know how that got unchecked, i don't usually bother with stuff i don't know about but eh. thanks so much for the help, was dreading i'd have to try and find something else to play my music on
slick_1232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump