Old 21st November 2014, 08:44   #1
ShanghaiTimes
Junior Member
 
ShanghaiTimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 49
Neat use of two streams from DSP.

Just thought I'd share. I have both a Windows 8.1 box, and a Mac Mini Yosemite box.
Winamp on the Windows box is the only place I can make the Shoutcast Source DSP work - there doesn't appear to be one for the OS X platform.
So just out of interest I now have one stream configured coming from the Windows machine, like this.

http://192.168.0.11:8080/;stream.mp3 (Note the use of the ; as in 8080:/;stream.mp3, allowing it to play in Safari)
... or, of course I can use 192.168.0.11:8080/listen.pls, however ... Safari doesn't like this,and downloads the pls file. Clicking that plays it in iTunes. Not really what I want just now.
but basically, its on IP 11.

Now I also have on on the OSX machine, streaming on a different port and IP. Like this:

192.168.0.15:8000/listen.pls?sid=2
Note that this one is on IP 15


So, this means I can have the same stream coming through up to 5 different IP addresses. Can't think of a use for that yet, but what the heck. It's pretty neat.

I am actually getting stuff set up for the coming release of SAMBroadcaster on Mac.
Incidentally, it creates two listing on shoutcast.com? Not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing?


Quote:
Stations Genre Listeners Bitrate Type
Quantum Radio Misc 1 48 AAC
Quantum Radio Misc 0 48 AAC
However, if there was a Shoutcast DSP for Winamp for Mac, I could change that?

Oh well. That's why I moved to Mac. Windows Watchdog Error, and the machine shut down. What a piece of rubbish that OS is.

Last edited by ShanghaiTimes; 21st November 2014 at 08:50. Reason: Windows box died again ...
ShanghaiTimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2014, 10:13   #2
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
wow, that's crazy!!! ... streaming to 5 different private IP addresses all from one stream ... you must be a witch or something

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2014, 11:14   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
[QUOTE=ShanghaiTimes;3013453However, if there was a Shoutcast DSP for Winamp for Mac, I could change that?.[/QUOTE]it doesn't really matter since there is no means to run like that. as that client had no plug-in system and there were never any plans to do so for it - if that changes assuming that client comes back in some form I don't know but I still doubt it.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump