Old 12th March 2005, 16:43   #1
tobey
Junior Member
 
tobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
new skin: Karo Block

i have just finished my first skin - so here it is

yes i know it's very simpel, but how do you like it?

think im going to upload it in the next days - have to go through everything again

thanks again to Bizzeh and axialix who helped me with some problems i had
Attached Images
File Type: jpg main and eq.jpg (42.1 KB, 433 views)
tobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2005, 16:45   #2
tobey
Junior Member
 
tobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
didnt know how to upload two images
Attached Images
File Type: jpg windows.jpg (75.3 KB, 321 views)
tobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2005, 00:40   #3
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
The equalizer is interesting looking. You can add the same 'torn edge" effect to your PL and ML windows by adding another image to your "wasabi.frame.layout.base" and giving it a "sysregion="-2" tag. If you do this, I would set it to "tile="1" instead of stretch so it doesn't get blurry when you stretch it out. There's my 2¢.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2005, 13:18   #4
tobey
Junior Member
 
tobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
thats a good idea - it's locking better now
Attached Images
File Type: jpg windows 2.jpg (49.3 KB, 283 views)
tobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2005, 13:24   #5
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
Cool concpept That looks pretty buff - not sure if i like the look of the eq though, the lines and boxes seem to turn me off.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2005, 13:35   #6
tobey
Junior Member
 
tobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
lol
worked this over a bit
Attached Images
File Type: jpg eq.jpg (26.1 KB, 270 views)
tobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2005, 15:48   #7
Michgelsen
Major Dude
 
Michgelsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,416
I like it, cool idea!
Michgelsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2005, 17:37   #8
tobey
Junior Member
 
tobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
thanks, good to see someone else than myself likes it

have just uploaded it, but somehow i didn't need the 200x150 .jpg is this normal or have i done anything wrong
tobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2005, 19:38   #9
Michgelsen
Major Dude
 
Michgelsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,416
You only need two images, the thumbnail and the larger screenshot, that is normal.
Michgelsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2005, 22:24   #10
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
You might want to re-zip it, you have zipped a folder into a folder. That's a no no for winamp skins. Classic skins get away with it though, but modern skins don't.

[Karo_Block]
|__[Karo Block]
|__[eq]
|__[player]
|__[pledit]
|__[scripts]
|__[standardframe]
|__[xml]
|__screen.jpg
|__screenklein.jpg
|__skin.xml

You'l have to lose that red folder.

It might be a good idea to get rid of the thumbs.db files also, you have 6 of them in there, adding to the size of the file.
Wildrose-Wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2005, 10:01   #11
tobey
Junior Member
 
tobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
thanks

Winrar must have made this thumbs.db up corse i haven't registert it yet i think

so i just load it up again now
tobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2005, 10:24   #12
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Nah, thumbs.db is usually created by windows, do you have your folders set to preview images as thumbnails when you view them by any chance?

I think photoshop might also create the same thing, not sure, more than likely it's something that XP is creating for you.
http://www.tweakxp.com/article139381.aspx
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2005, 10:34   #13
tobey
Junior Member
 
tobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Talking

oh, then it was the windows (have image preview activated)

couldn't belief it myself, that winrar did something like that to me
tobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2005, 10:53   #14
tracerh
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 84
Intersting and original (I think?) although simple. I wouldn't want to use it though. It's OK for a 30 second novelty but I don't know how many Winampers would keep it.
tracerh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump