Old 27th June 2001, 20:12   #1
40T
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: FreAk CiTy 415
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to 40T
ok check it, before you all murder me, i've already read every freakin post known to mankind about ripping mp3s and wavs from cds and all that mess. i know how to do it, it's easy, it's useful, yadda yadda. but i wanna know how to rip a wav straight from a cd, no, not how to rip an mp3 from a cd and then convert the mp3 into a wav, but turning the song into a wav the first time. i don't have time for progz like audiograbber because a) the demo version only lets you burn half of the songs on the cd and b) i can't find the old version anywhere which lets you burn all of the songs. by the way, CDex is so not kickin the funk, it takes FOREVER to convert an mp3 into a wav, WHOA LLAMA!!! i read all the tutorials on how to rip wavs from cd's, yes, i have all the plug-ins i need, but for some reason, it JUST DOESN'T WORK FOR ME!!! for the love of God, someone HELP ME!!!

gratefully,
angie
40T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2001, 20:26   #2
bonj
Major Dude
 
bonj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: HEH!!!! :D
Posts: 920
Send a message via AIM to bonj
More detail would be nice. What happens exactly, when you choose the Nullsoft Disk Writer plug-in for output, then play a track from a CD? If nothing, then download the CD-Reader plug-in that you've probably read about

heh?
bonj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2001, 20:49   #3
40T
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: FreAk CiTy 415
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to 40T
i use the cdreader plug-in for the input and the diskwriter plug-in for the output and NOTHING happens... i read all the READMEs and everything... i have no clue why nothing is happening
40T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2001, 22:04   #4
nateJC
Major Dude
 
nateJC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: an interstella burst i'm back to save the universe
Posts: 953
Send a message via ICQ to nateJC Send a message via AIM to nateJC Send a message via Yahoo to nateJC
Angie,

No need for a conniption, this one's pretty easy. It's just something that isn't mentioned in any README file or FAQ for some odd reason. Open Windows Explorer and go into the "C:\Program Files\Winamp\plugins" directory, find the file "in_cdda.dll" and rename it to "in_cdda.dll.goaway". Upon doing this, it will and your plug-ins will work properly.

A quick warning though, because the CDDB has shut down, you'll need to fix a setting in the CD Reader plug-in. Go into the CD Reader plug-in's configuration window, click the CDDB tab and change the "CDDB Server" to freedb.freedb.org

Yet another warning, if you have two CD-ROM drive ( let's call them X: and Y: ), the CD Reader plug-in is a bit of an idiot about finding them. It will show that you have a drive X: and drive Y:, but it will think they are the same drive. To correct this, go into the CD Reader plug-in's configuration window, then click on whichever drive is displayed incorrectly and click [Configure]. Change the ASPI device to the proper drive and the Read Speed to "Maximum" and that should set things straight.

Hope that helped!
-Nate

This is your brain.
This is your brain on pot.
This is your brain desperately searching for Doritos.

natejc@myrealbox.com || Prosthetic Head || Go ahead, press it, you know you want to!
nateJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2001, 19:20   #5
40T
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: FreAk CiTy 415
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to 40T
ok slight problemo... i upgraded my version of winamp and now the file "in_cdda.dll" isn't even in my plug-ins folder anymore. doh!!! is that a bad thing?
40T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2001, 04:43   #6
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
No, just put the CDReader plugin in that folder instead.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2001, 15:20   #7
nateJC
Major Dude
 
nateJC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: an interstella burst i'm back to save the universe
Posts: 953
Send a message via ICQ to nateJC Send a message via AIM to nateJC Send a message via Yahoo to nateJC
Yeah, renaming the file is kind of a safety precaution, in case for some weird reason, you might want the old CD plug-in back again. You probably won't though, so if it's not there, don't worry. Just follow Sarge's advice and everything will be okay.

This is your brain.
This is your brain on pot.
This is your brain desperately searching for Doritos.

natejc@myrealbox.com || Prosthetic Head || Go ahead, press it, you know you want to!
nateJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2001, 12:18   #8
Charmander
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to Charmander
Whats Your Screen Res. The button For CD -> WAV might be off screen. In this case use the Menu Instead. Try This URL http://www.url*****~copah/cdreader.htm or http://home.hccnet.nl/th.v.d.gronde Cd Reader Line In And http://www.sundin.nu/ VIDAMP And Amarok Plugs. Although You Can Use These Plugs For Recording WAVS/MP3OUT You Should USE Wav then CDEX VBR for voice but whatever you prefer its up to you.

<sig removed>
Charmander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2001, 18:19   #9
POWERSHAKER
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Georgia
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to POWERSHAKER
No problems ever with WINAMP

I just don't get it. I never have problems with WINAMP. But, I'm glad you guys are the type of people who make it better for me. THANKS! I LOVE MY WINAMP!


POWERSHAKER
POWERSHAKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2001, 02:09   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Weyhey! Tell it like it is POWERSHAKER dude
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2001, 02:47   #11
POWERSHAKER
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Georgia
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to POWERSHAKER
HAIL JUSTIN!

HAIL JUSTIN! King of WINAMP! May everyone live long, and gather their mp3s merrily! May the LLAMA reach the CAPITAL! wooooo hooooooooo!

POWERSHAKER
POWERSHAKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2001, 17:05   #12
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,104
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
What you do is download CDex, insert a CD and click the "Extract CD Track to WAV file" button.....

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2001, 00:17   #13
AmpliDex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 543
Send a message via ICQ to AmpliDex Send a message via AIM to AmpliDex Send a message via Yahoo to AmpliDex
One thing about Winamp that drives me up the F**KING wall is that when I try to load up certain SVP's to my AVS editor, it crashes! Can Nullsoft do something about this?

Webgraph

E-mail/MSN: robnet10@mail.com
ICQ: 87028626 (Use with AIM)
Yahoo: webgraph10
AmpliDex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2001, 01:38   #14
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,436
Try Wishlist or Bug Report.
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2001, 03:30   #15
AmpliDex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 543
Send a message via ICQ to AmpliDex Send a message via AIM to AmpliDex Send a message via Yahoo to AmpliDex
Bug Report would be perfect for that! I'll just copy that post to the bug report section!

Webgraph

E-mail/MSN: robnet10@mail.com
ICQ: 87028626 (Use with AIM)
Yahoo: webgraph10
AmpliDex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2001, 11:16   #16
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,436

Who says I'm not helpful?
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 00:55   #17
AmpliDex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 543
Send a message via ICQ to AmpliDex Send a message via AIM to AmpliDex Send a message via Yahoo to AmpliDex
And for your information, ElChevelle, everyone can be helpful, one way or another!

Webgraph

E-mail/MSN: robnet10@mail.com
ICQ: 87028626 (Use with AIM)
Yahoo: webgraph10
AmpliDex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2001, 01:02   #18
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,436
I'm hoping to be helpful in making ribs and jaw muscles hurt
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > The Bitchlist

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump