Old 21st April 2004, 00:41   #1
Xochitl
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 61
SB Audigy 2 ZS - new install - which should I use?

I just installed a Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS. It came with alot of applications that manage sound - specifically, it has an equalizer.

I have been using Winamp's EQ just fine & have been pleased.

Just wondering - which should I use? Winamp EQ or Creative EQ?

I assume there will be conflicts if I have both running at the same time, no?

Thanks!
Xochitl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2004, 02:14   #2
WHEREamI
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wasabidev
Posts: 606
the only "conflict" you may have is that the sound will be processed twice. My personal suggestion is to leave the Creative EQ alone, since it is a global setting, and will affect all sounds coming out of the card.
WHEREamI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2004, 02:51   #3
Xochitl
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 61
thanks - so I should turn off the Winamp preamp & EQ?
Xochitl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2004, 03:56   #4
Kickboy12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to Kickboy12 Send a message via AIM to Kickboy12 Send a message via Yahoo to Kickboy12
I have the exact same card. I never really messed with the Winamp EQ personally, it's been on the default settings since install and hasn't changed. Same with the Creative EQ system. On occasion I change the settings in Creative, but only when I feel like blasting some music and I want to change the Bass levels.

My suggestion is to use what you feel is best. As WHEREamI pointed out, Creative EQ is global. Just mess around with the settings on both Winamp EQ and Creative, it all comes down to personal preference in the end.

[@imho] man
[@imho] I had dreams about unit testing last night :-(
[@sim`a] i have nightmares about syntax errors, whats your point
Kickboy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2004, 04:11   #5
Xochitl
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 61
gotcha - I think I found what I like. thanks!
Xochitl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2004, 05:54   #6
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Why are you using the equalizer ?

The hardware EQ is best used to compensate for deficiencies in the speaker system (set and forget), you can still use the Winamp EQ for any spur of the momment changes over and above.

Personally, I don't think much of Winamp's EQ quality and never use it

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump