Old 1st June 2004, 08:03   #1
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
PulseDriver Skin

Ok, it's time for me to release an unfinished skin to let you have a look and give me feedback. Be honest and tell me what I should add/remove/change.



Hope you got at least anything on your hearts

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0

Last edited by PulseDriver; 1st June 2004 at 09:22.
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 09:36   #2
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
And here is the new link Download (not finished)

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 09:49   #3
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
add stickmode
some definition around the cbuttons, the all black tends to lose any round the edges, maybe some highlights etc to increase the perspective
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 09:54   #4
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Well, all the buttons are placed on a black layer so it looks like its a dock, but I'll try to make them in perspective instead, as a lighter shade will not look like a shade anymore, but I get your point

As for stick mode, it will come, have allready added the button at the drawer of the main player, but I have no idea how the shade mode will look like yet.


09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 11:21   #5
matt_69
Sunshine
(Major Dude)
 
matt_69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brisvegas, Australia
Posts: 1,248
have to agree with slob...if u can't c where to click for the main controls then there pretty hopeless..yeah uve got bright icons but usuablity will b brought down heaps. (believe me...i got 4th in that category over at the GUIO heheheh )

-matt

matt_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 11:22   #6
VAG
Major Dude
 
VAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Greece
Posts: 635
Nice work PD
I would add some "lighness" on the bottom knobs for Gain/Bass etc. Way too dark I think the skin.

BTW, you should make the timer look like 00:00:00 to be able the user watch videos or bigger than 99:59 songs (if there are any).

Keep it up
VAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 17:43   #7
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
If you click my link in the signature, you can see the new brightness level. Is it good, or does it need more or less brightness, or maybe more contrast?

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 18:35   #8
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
The newer one looks better, but try and add some shading near the bottom
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 19:11   #9
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
add another layer for the body parts, cut so that you could have a contrasting panel and main body for numerous colour themes that break up the main body.
the cut line could say be just above the cbuttons, knobs, this would break it up nicely as idea below

also move the necessary buttons to suit, of course you can always keep both sections black for default but for colour theming it would add more to the looks
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 20:00   #10
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Yes... that's a great idea.. I will make it something similar to what you have there That made it more lively

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 20:23   #11
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
the lcd could do with a bit of glass on it
and the emj logo might be better off with a gradiant look to it
i take it your putting in an lcd with eq spline with the bottom section?
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 20:51   #12
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Yes, or a vis, since I run special bands, but in the future, I will make the equalizer bands optional, knobs/bands But yes, think it will be a vis looking equalizer maybe, with rectangles filling up and down like the vis do

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 20:57   #13
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
How do I make the color themes change? Do I have to make a modal to change them?

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 21:26   #14
matt_69
Sunshine
(Major Dude)
 
matt_69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brisvegas, Australia
Posts: 1,248
have a look at the gammasets.xml file of any skins that has themes. you will see that there are gammagroups that the person has defined colours for that particular group. the image that gets change is recognised by adding gammagroup="green" or sumthing like that to the end of the bitmap definition in you elements files. one of the best editors to make themes is rperterclarks's gamma worker available here. its pretty simple to use, if u need help with it just reply back here.

-matt

matt_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 21:34   #15
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Thanks. Might as well add gamma now, so I have less to sort out later, cause it's a lot of adjusting I belive lol

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 22:59   #16
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Haha... funny when you play around with colors and layers, even though it's a crap example, this one really play with your mind lol


09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2004, 23:26   #17
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Or how about this! LOL!



Going to call this theme BunnyRabbit for all those sleeping with those in your beds haha...

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2004, 00:19   #18
Krynis
Major Dude
 
Krynis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada B.C. Posts: 666
Posts: 771
Send a message via ICQ to Krynis Send a message via AIM to Krynis Send a message via Yahoo to Krynis
i dont like the color u have there but theming it like that would be great but the lighting on the buttons is off they look like they lean down right
Krynis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2004, 12:13   #19
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
as its a fairly easy background you could add some other versions with overlays for even more variety
its easy to play around with the overlayers
copy a layer and use this so ya dont muck yer original one up <-- always a good thing
select that layer with a double click so you get the properties up so you can add a pattern overlay, scroll through the many texture options, make sure the mode is set to overlay (default is normal) and this texture will now be a part of your main selection, you can scale it etc..
once youve got that you need to give it a variation, any colour variation will do to start with, you can then alter the hue etc after youve done this

so you could get some tiger stripes to go with that pink easy tiger

with the different styles available you could put this into a button to cycle through the different styles
make another one for the bottom for mix & match
ive got different backgrounds on my Abducted skin which is a similar effect
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2004, 12:39   #20
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Yes, it's two new layers upon the old black, which you can see in the ditch which separate them

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2004, 12:47   #21
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Krynis, if you mean the shadows of the knobs, they are looking better on dark background... but it's suppose to look like the knobs are a bit highten from the base

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2004, 15:38   #22
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Ok, I have a question. Since I am going to make themes, I wonder about the buttons... I have several options, but I want some thoughts about it first.

Here is the options of how I can do the buttons..

- 1 -

I could make 6 images for each button, 2 layers with normal/hover/pressed state, the two layers would be the button face and the button itself.

- 2 -

I could make either the button or the buttonface never to move only one of them function as a button.. so one layer basically with normal/hover pressed state, the other just function as a static layer.

- 3 -

I could do like they have done on the winamp Modern Skin, which is never crossing the contrast of the buttons with the buttonface. On the Winamp Modern skin, the buttonface is always black, except for the playstatus layer that shows when it's in Play/Pause/Stop state.

Which option would you guys think would be the best? Would you like to control the button face AND the button background?

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2004, 20:07   #23
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
I need some help debugging, if someone cares to...
The problem is as following...

I have one Knob named Gain, which controls the Preamp band on the equalizer, and I have one Knob named Bass, which controls the bands 1, 2 and 3 one the equalizer...

I have a bug somewhere which I can't find, so I hope anyone experienced with maki finds it.

The bug is as following:

The when the skin is reloaded, the gain knob rotates from some data of the bass knob...

This only happens when I reload the skin, and the gain knob position at the same position as the bass knob, but it's only the visual, not the preamp slider, only the gain knob.

Anyone care to help me with this?
Attached Files
File Type: m pulsedriver.m (15.9 KB, 198 views)

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2004, 22:28   #24
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
KnobRotate(b, Gain);
KnobRotate(b, Bass);

SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2004, 23:36   #25
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
No it's not that... I uploaded a version which I altered for debugging... to see what happens

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2004, 23:40   #26
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
This is the version
Attached Files
File Type: m pulsedriver.m (15.9 KB, 203 views)

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2004, 17:45   #27
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
I found out what was causing the errors, both the inverted values on skin load, and the error that made the gain knob(not the slider) to adjust after the bassknob.

I used System.getEqBand(0) on preamp, and the highest EqBand as System.getEqBand(10), but I should have checked closer... lol

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2004, 17:50   #28
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
heh not checked any mails yet, too busy for that
but i thought you'd sort it b4 i looked

it doesnt hurt to go over code a few times to make sure its all doing what its intended to do, well as near as dammit
if the problem is still staring u in the face have a break and a cup of tea (or whatever your tipple is ) and then take another look
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2004, 17:56   #29
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Well, that's exactly what I do, though I drink coffee. But I never got any errors about getting the 10th Eq band so I thought it was right, but tonight I though: I won't lift my bum of the chair until I have solved both of them, cause it have to be SOMETHING.

And so I did, after reading the script quite many times, I suddenly remembered something about onEqPreampChanged() and that's how I checked if the preamp had all the functions separated, and they were lol, but it's solved now, so I am going to contiune adjusting my standardframe for video, pledit and mlib... I kinda lost the spirit when I couldn't find the error but now the spirit is back...

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2004, 09:34   #30
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Anyone know if I can change the font in the playlist? All I got now is arial or something...

and another thing is, is it possitble to have an overlay on the playlist content?



09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2004, 10:11   #31
matt_69
Sunshine
(Major Dude)
 
matt_69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brisvegas, Australia
Posts: 1,248
u can't change the text in the playlist editor and yeah u could have an overlay over the playlist content, just make it with ghost="1" to the layer thats going over the top of it.

-matt

matt_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2004, 10:13   #32
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
You see the frame around the playlistcontent. It's placed last in the XML, but still it appears behind the playlistcontent. It's not that easy...

The frame is a grid with 9 parts, and there is content for the middleframe too...

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2004, 11:07   #33
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Hey Jones, can you help a little?

I am trying to make the Media Library look good, and as for now, it looks like crap. And I wonder, is there anywhere I can find a list of what wasabi objects the Media Library is made of and what they control?

This is an example... the background... but I am missing many, and I want to color most of it...

<color id="wasabi.window.background" value="132,193,198"/>

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2004, 12:35   #34
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
afaik you cant put an overlay on top of the playlist, dont think thats changed for some while, unless its in 5.04?
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2004, 21:57   #35
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
I hope you can help me on this one guys...

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=182822

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2004, 23:10   #36
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
i think playlists work either way for some people, some like the toggle playlist button, others like playlist in a draw, others like the playlist shade mode

you could have all 3
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2004, 23:32   #37
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
Hum...

I have had a thing in mind for a long time, and I don't think it's such a bad idea... that is to make a shade like this:



And make a script and a config dialog where you can add or remove or change buttons, almost like the "Standard Buttons" setup on Internet Explorer... I don't know if this is done before, but if not, it would be a cool thing to add. What do you think about it?

Included buttons you can add would be the most common as playlist, shuffle, crossfade, repeat blablabla.... maybe even +/- for balance... if someone think that's important enough

Would that be nice?

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2004, 09:06   #38
WHEREamI
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wasabidev
Posts: 606
not a bad idea. It's definitely been done with other buttons, eg, invicta has a couple customizable buttons, but nothing like this.

You could have a sort of widget set, including buttons, spacers, and possibly a song ticker. I think it might be hard to code, but it would be very cool.
WHEREamI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2004, 09:20   #39
Hawk
Senior Member
 
Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 157
Great idea. But please include a song ticker option.
Hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2004, 09:40   #40
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
I will, most special, though volume and balance will be buttons (+/-), songticker will be like most songticker are, same with position (maybe a bit shorter than normal ones)

And most whatever CAN put there will be an option even if I don't use 10% of even...

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump