Old 20th November 2021, 01:13   #1
riverofwind
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
Unicode NsProcess dll

Hi I just setup a new computer and transferred all my data. I installed NSIS 3.08. The NSIS script for my program no longer works as desired. The page that checks for a running process of the program to be installed no longer runs. I'm guessing backward compatibility broke somehow. I am using the NsProcess plugin; I downloaded version 1.6 and threw the dll's in the x86-unicode plugins directory and the nsprocess.nsh file in the include directory. The script compiles perfect but just somehow totally skips over the code that checks for the running process. Am I missing something obvious? I could have sworn I saw an NSIS page the other day saying how old scripts can get broken but for all my efforts could not find again. I'm not sure what version I had installed previously but can find out tomorrow.
Thanks!
riverofwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2021, 02:45   #2
Anders
Moderator
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ${NSISDIR}
Posts: 5,418
Download the .zip again, extract the dll ending with a W and rename it by removing the W and place it in the Unicode plug-in folder.

IntOp $PostCount $PostCount + 1
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2021, 04:48   #3
riverofwind
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
Just found a copy of the compilation output; the old setup was using x86-ansi and the new one is using x86-unicode. Now to find out how to fix....
riverofwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2021, 04:51   #4
riverofwind
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
@Anders Just found your reply, tried it and it worked! Thanks a bunch dude! Hopefully this thread goes on Google for other peeps with the same issue.
riverofwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2021, 19:42   #5
riverofwind
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
@Anders A quick related question - I don't have to modify my script at all transitioning from ansi to unicode support right?
riverofwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2021, 23:31   #6
Anders
Moderator
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ${NSISDIR}
Posts: 5,418
That depends on your script, most things should work. Some System::Call lines might not be Unicode compatible if you got very old code from the wiki.

IntOp $PostCount $PostCount + 1
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump