Old 24th November 2021, 04:07   #1
wdadli1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Allow app to make changes

Every time I start Winamp 5.8, I get the UAC question about allowing the app to make changes to my device. Is there any way to stop this from happening? I tried giving full permission to Everyone (one of the solutions I found), but that didn't do the trick.
wdadli1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2021, 11:48   #2
DJ-Garybaldy
Forum King
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 2,952
Best advice I can give you is Switch OFF UAC
DJ-Garybaldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2021, 19:40   #3
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 809
Telling people to turn off UAC is very bad advice as it opens your system up more to security risks, essentially allowing any and all programs to make system changes w/o restriction.

@wdadli1, do you have any plugins that might affect it? Have you tried to see if the problem persists with a clean install of 5.666?

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp: (Winamp 5.8) is not an ongoing project get wacup

5.8 beta issue quick fix - Install 5.666 (there's no further 5.8 releases)
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2021, 10:59   #4
DJ-Garybaldy
Forum King
 
DJ-Garybaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Harpurhey, Manchester UK
Posts: 2,952
Had UAC switched off for a couple of years now and I've never had an issue...
DJ-Garybaldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2021, 20:17   #5
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 809
Just because you haven't had an issue doesn't mean it isn't a security risk (same with things like never applying security patches or never changing the default pw on devices).

By turning off UAC you're giving all program admin rights which opens your computer up to system changes, primarily malware. While you may be cautious or know where programs come from, things happen.

Anyway, if one program is causing constant UAC prompts for no reason, it's usually a very old program (pre-vista), very badly created program (developer issue), a program made to change system settings (e.g. misc windows 10 tweakers), or something else is causing the program to force uac prompts, which is why I wonder if a plug-in might be a cause. I never get UAC prompts on my winamp (5.666) outside of installing plug-ins

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp: (Winamp 5.8) is not an ongoing project get wacup

5.8 beta issue quick fix - Install 5.666 (there's no further 5.8 releases)
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump