Old 18th November 2020, 17:54   #1
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Devices don't support this type of audio file...

Hi fellas,
Been a long time & I hope you're all well & good.
I'm having an issue that is proving difficult to resolve.

I have got my server to the point where devices can 'see' it, however, only my old iPhone can actually connect & listen to the music. Everything else (Android phone, Android tablet), prompts me to either open the file or download it but whatever I do, I get messages saying:

Open... 'Couldn't play the track that you requested.'
Download/Open... 'Sorry, the player does not support this type of file.'

This happens regardless of whether the encoder is switched to MP3 or AAC & it's got me kind of stumped & I don't even know what to look for in the forums...

Also, rather strangely the forum seems to have gone all Polish..! Solidarnosc..!!
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2020, 03:54   #2
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
I managed to resolve the site being in Polish but my other issues were doing my head in, so I went on a pretty robust mission to sort 'em. I couldn't get on the YP, the DSP had some features locked & I had the above network issues with pretty much every device I've got except a beat up iPhone 5C.

Anyway, it didn't work out, I ended up in some sort of network loop-of-death, the stream was distorted on the iPhone & everything built after 2012 wouldn't recognize the file or would see it as some sort of audio but refuse to play it. So as my version was old I decided to install a later version & see if it would solve the networking probs.

Well, I've got it to the point of registering for the authhash & that's as far as get. Clicking on the clickables takes me to https://radiomanager.shoutcast.com/ & nothing comes up. I just get a blank page or 'rmo.shoutcast.com’s server DNS address could not be found.'

Could it be that I've overwritten my privileges for the authhash, or is it a case of having to register the new install? Would it have something to do with an IP clash? I took it round my mates to check if I could get it working on her network & I got sent a 'suspicious email' inquiry... would that be the problem? How should I proceed with this?
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2020, 11:04   #3
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Small update. I reinstalled the DSP & I have got it so that all five channels are not auto firing at once & they are all rigged to MP3. The stream is good so the only issue seems to be acquiring an authhash & working out why I can only connect with a 'period' iPhone.
I have registered but it still sends me to Coventry when I click the create authhash link...
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2020, 18:32   #4
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Bump

Just bumping this...
Still can't access the rmo & I don't think I can resolve this without some sort of mod intervention...
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2020, 19:15   #5
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
De-bump

I spoke too soon..! I randomly logged in to the rmo from a different device & I can change stuff & I got an authhash sorted that way but I can't access from the device that runs my server... Bizarre..! So I'm thinking my problems stem from my IP.

Stream's public though! Cool..!
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2020, 19:41   #6
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Phoned a mate & they still can't connect either using my IP or via the Shoutcast Directory listing. They can't get any of the listed stations to play... weeeird..!
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2020, 20:02   #7
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Do you fellas reckon I should delete the rm entry & start again..?
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2020, 04:56   #8
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Crap update... I reckon my install has been corrupted by a previous install that was uninstalled without using the uninstaller. So half the conf file has old IP info & the radiomanager can't link to the new install. It's a mess!
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2020, 14:24   #9
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Been reading loads of stuff & I'm starting to understand things & develop context...
That is the biggest issue for noobs on here - we have no context, so we all end up with a blue pill/red pill moment
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2020, 23:42   #10
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Can you read this?

Am I just talking to myself here? A fucking reply would be nice...
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2020, 00:02   #11
LStratmann
Senior Member
 
LStratmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 371
Hello Boo Levard,
Do you have the IP plus the port of your stream for us? Because I think there has never been such a problem here in the forum before. I also never had problems with the SHOUTcast server, which is hosted by myself. (Except advertising and YP problems)
LStratmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2020, 02:15   #12
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Hi mate & thanks for getting back to me.
My IP & port is 172.20.10.7:8000.
The IP & port listed on the radiomanager is 92.40.188.232:8000.
That IP belongs to my ISP.

I had problems related to a previous install & previous entry on the rmo but I have uninstalled & reinstalled everything including the cacert.pem & I think that has sorted my connection to the rmo but no one can reach me.

Here's a snippet of the log... Thanks for looking!

2020-11-22 00:11:11 INFO [ADMINCGI sid=1] Title updated [Surf & Roll Session II]
2020-11-22 00:11:11 ERROR [METRICS sid=1] Request failed on YP with error setting certificate verify locations:
CAfile: C:\Documents and Settings\Admin\My Documents\Downloads\cacert.pem
CApath: none
2020-11-22 00:11:11 DEBUG sleeping for 15s on YP
2020-11-22 00:11:26 ERROR [METRICS sid=1] Request failed on YP with error setting certificate verify locations:
CAfile: C:\Documents and Settings\Admin\My Documents\Downloads\cacert.pem
CApath: none
2020-11-22 00:21:11 DEBUG [METRICS sid=1] push to YP requested "Surf & Roll Session II"
2020-11-22 00:21:14 INFO [YP sid=1] Stream #1 has been updated on the Shoutcast Directory.
2020-11-22 00:24:57 INFO [DST 127.0.0.1:4453 sid=1] HTTP client connection accepted. User-Agent: `Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/49.0.2623.112 Safari/537.36', UID: 3, GRID: 3
2020-11-22 00:25:05 INFO [DST 127.0.0.1:4453 sid=1] HTTP client connection closed (8 seconds) [Bytes: 350772] Agent: `Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/49.0.2623.112 Safari/537.36', UID: 3, GRID: 3
2020-11-22 00:31:11 DEBUG [METRICS sid=1] push to YP requested "Surf & Roll Session II"
2020-11-22 00:31:14 INFO [YP sid=1] Stream #1 has been updated on the Shoutcast Directory.
2020-11-22 00:40:02 INFO [MAIN] Exiting threads...
2020-11-22 00:40:02 INFO [MAIN] Terminating sources...
2020-11-22 00:40:02 INFO [CONFIG] Kicking source for stream #1.
2020-11-22 00:40:02 DEBUG [METRICS sid=1] push to YP requested "Surf & Roll Session II"
2020-11-22 00:40:02 INFO [SRC 172.20.10.7:3886 sid=1] Shoutcast 1 source disconnected.
2020-11-22 00:40:03 INFO [STATS] Peak numbers: #1:1,Total: 1
2020-11-22 00:40:03 INFO [BANDWIDTH] Total: 104085499, Sent: 2391921, Recv: 101693578
2020-11-22 00:40:03 INFO [MAIN] Shutdown after 2 hours 22 minutes 14 seconds running
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2020, 02:38   #13
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
I had a really early install but a couple of years ago I got hit with gandcrab so I couldn't use this machine. I have only just got around to using it again & I thought I'd resurrect the sc_serv.

So I tried to register but the rmo merged my details with the previous install meaning that I couldn't delete myself - the server was called something else & the passwords were different but I think my previous authhash & stream ID was set & everything went awry from there.

I should have just reinstalled Windows but I was waiting for a 'cure' for the gandcrab virus, 'cos I want some of the infected files...
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2020, 03:00   #14
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
I don't know whether you are gonna get my first reply with the log file 'cos it was sent for moderation & my second reply has leapfrogged it.
So my IP & port is 172.20.10.7:8000 but the IP listed on the rmo is that of my ISP 92.40.188.232

Thanks for the reply mate.
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2020, 03:56   #15
LStratmann
Senior Member
 
LStratmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 371
Both IP addresses do not work.
LStratmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2020, 13:30   #16
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
I know. Nothing I've tried works. It's bizarre because connecting devices know they are connecting... sometimes their screens go black, sometimes you can even see a play button, but no cigar.

The IP on the rmo tells me that it's from up north (of England), & sometimes from the midlands - it's like I'm behind two routers. I'll leave the stream playing anyway & maybe contact support again but sometimes a man just has to take no for an answer, I guess...
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2020, 13:44   #17
LStratmann
Senior Member
 
LStratmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 371
If you host SHOUTcast on YOUR server and do not let SHOUTcast host it, there is a problem with your firewall or provider.
LStratmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2020, 14:38   #18
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Thanks for trying though...
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2020, 15:14   #19
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Levard View Post
My IP & port is 172.20.10.7:8000.
The IP & port listed on the radiomanager is 92.40.188.232:8000.
That IP belongs to my ISP.

the 172 is an internal IP most likely your router.
The 92 IP is the external IP you get from your provider. ( whatismyip.com)

If you use a router you must use a port forward to get your stream out.
portforward.com gives you your guides to do so.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

Nope, it's not a radiostation just a non stop darkwave music stream

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2020, 18:47   #20
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Thanks for the reply, I shall try that. My ports seem to be ok & I dunno whether I can open ports on my ISPs IP but I shall read through it & try.

I can't seem to access the RM just now but here's what I'm gonna send support. It makes sense to paste it here for you guys too:

Hi guys,
I have a problem that is difficult to resolve. My station is up & public & I have no issues in my logs. I'm running the latest DNAS, DSP & Winamp but nobody can connect to my station. The IP that is listed on the RM is that of my ISP, not me. My IP & port is172.20.10.7:8000 but the IP & port on the RM is 92.40.180.147:8000

I don't think that it will work whilst configured like that & I need to know why the IP is being generated by my internet provider & not my stream.
Is there some way you can manually overwrite my IP from your end?
How should I proceed with this?

One of the dudes on the forum has tried to connect to both IPs with no success & I can't connect myself through any device. Bizarrely, some devices 'see' that they are supposed to play an audio file but mostly the screens just go black & I get various messages saying 'can't play audio file' & such like. Anything you can do? I can run my stream for a couple of hours if that helps. There's no point in forwarding a log report 'cos I have no errors & it seems my problem is beyond the scope of what I can do & seems to be between yourselves & my ISP.

I have had email messages from you noticing the parent IP as part of an 'update' change & I'm also getting messages from Google asking me to perform unreasonable amounts of recapcha bot checks.
Could it be my ISP is seeing the program as a potential security threat & blocking connectivity?

Many thanks,

Boo.
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2020, 11:48   #21
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Ok. So I've been doing some reading & searching & port forwarding & I would rather stick pins in the end of my junk than do it again. I kid ya not...
I couldn’t get along with portforward.com, which doesn't list my router. Nor does PcWinTech but I did get the general gist & a download of a free port forwarding tool from them.
There’s also a fairly recent & comprehensive article on the subject at www.comparitech.com on net admin & port forwarding, which helped a lot… I do networking applications like old people have sex – never, badly, with lots of grumbling, moaning & farting… so if you’re like me, read that article first.

Anyway, I had to do it round my mate’s place ‘cos my heating has packed up, so I will have to do it all again back at mine…  I don’t know whether the ports were at fault - they were ‘in use’, so failed all the tests until I put my firewall back to the default settings & then I got some success:
Connection received from PcWinTech.com to 192.168.1.5 port 8000 TCP (23/11/2020 07:17:45)
Connection received from PcWinTech.com to 192.168.1.5 port 8001 TCP (23/11/2020 07:17:45)

So, now I can connect & get a stream running round at her house. Cool!
So thanks for the help fellas. LStratmann & NJK, I raise my glass… prost & proost! I know it must be a ball ache having to babysit novice DJs & it ain’t over yet…
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2020, 11:51   #22
Boo Levard
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Thanks guys, it's working..!
Explanatory post pending moderation...
Boo Levard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump