Old 22nd November 2003, 11:14   #1
mrk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 50
LAME encoder for winamp?

I've been playing with WA5 RC8's cd ripping in aac/ogg and mp3 modes but am wondring if it is possible to get the LAME 3.9x engine into the mix as I much prefer that over any other encoder

Any ideas?

Cheers!

Kenwood component AVR / JPW Radius modified series towers / Sennheiser HD485 / Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
mrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 11:47   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
The MP3 Encoder in Winamp 5 is LAME (I think it's v3.90 ?)
Except, afaik, it only becomes available in the registered Pro version...
a service which is not officially/legally available yet.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 11:47   #3
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
it isnt called enc_lame.dll for nothing.

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 11:48   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
^what he said^
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 11:49   #5
mrk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally posted by CraigF
it isnt called enc_lame.dll for nothing.
in the encoder options it only says version 1.1 though which is why i though it was not lame...?

Kenwood component AVR / JPW Radius modified series towers / Sennheiser HD485 / Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
mrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 12:06   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Winamp MP3 Encoder v1.1
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:24   #7
mrk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 50
so...it isn't lame then...

Kenwood component AVR / JPW Radius modified series towers / Sennheiser HD485 / Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
mrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:46   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Yes, it is! The Winamp MP3 Encoder v1.1 uses Lame 3.9x (enc_lame.dll)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:48   #9
mrk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 50
so, it IS lame 3.9x (which exact version anyone know? but doesnt matter, I replaced the 100KB original with 3.93 dll) but its renamed in winamp to winamp encoder..

Kenwood component AVR / JPW Radius modified series towers / Sennheiser HD485 / Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
mrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2003, 13:51   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
The MP3 Encoder in Winamp 5 is LAME (I think it's v3.90 ?)
Someone else will need to confirm the exact version...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 00:16   #11
Firebrand
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64
I find the MP3 encoder to be confusing. When using LAME, many people just use their own parameter (like --alt-preset standard) but Winamp doesn't let you specify your own.

I also find the list of quality settings to be confusing. There's 6 of them and I'm not exactly sure what they do. For example, how can the R3mix setting be used with CBR?
Firebrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 00:18   #12
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It's funny how easily people admit to using a keygen.

MP3 Ripping is only available in the Winamp pro version, which is not currently available. Yet you seem to have it. Hmmmmm......
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 00:21   #13
Firebrand
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64
Or I got Winamp2 off of download.nullsoft.com and it came with it. I don't use Winamp5.

Just tring to provide some input it helping it come along, geez...
Firebrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 00:22   #14
mrk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
It's funny how easily people admit to using a keygen.

MP3 Ripping is only available in the Winamp pro version, which is not currently available. Yet you seem to have it. Hmmmmm......
it could be a bug !

Kenwood component AVR / JPW Radius modified series towers / Sennheiser HD485 / Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
mrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 01:42   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Quote:
Originally posted by Firebrand
Or I got Winamp2 off of download.nullsoft.com and it came with it. I don't use Winamp5
Hmm . . . but only Winamp 2.91 is available at download.nullsoft.com
and there's no cd ripper with 2.91

Maybe you got 2.92beta or 2.95rc from somewhere (eg. winampheaven)
but these were both illegal unsupported leaks. Though iirc, one of 2.92 or 2.95 was up briefly on the nullsoft server when it was first released, but only for a day or so before it was taken down...

Whatever the case, you should upgrade to Winamp 5 when 5.0 Final is released in a few days time, mainly because
1) it's an updated version of Winamp 2.x (ie. it's not an updated Winamp3, although it does support Winamp3 skins),
2) neither Winamp 2.x or Winamp3 will be supported any more, and
3) it's frickin' awesome!

Re: mp3 ripper
Yup, I think you'll find that most of us agree.
There should be --alt-presets
which is why we've already added this to the Official Wishlist

Media Library

--alt-preset support for MP3 writing
Hell, use the CDex Encoder Options layout for enc_mp3.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2003, 01:58   #16
Firebrand
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64
I did stumble across 2.95 when it was linked from these forums -- that's how I saw the MP3 Encoder.

I do plan on switching to Winamp 5 when it becomes final. I've read much better reviews than I expected about it.

And I'm glad that the --alt-presets have been added to the wishlist -- hopefully they'll make it in. Thanks for addressing that.
Firebrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump