Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th October 2001, 02:04   #1
pamfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5
Winamp Exiting but still in running processes on win2k?!

I am running Win2k Sp2 and winamp 2.77 full.
And when i click on exit with winamp either on screen or minimized it goes from the taskbar and you think its gone but then you look @ task manager and processes and winamp.exe is still there!,I have waited 10 minutes to see if it eventually unloads itself properley but no it doesnt manage it.also it appears to be stuck because on the task manager the cpu usage is @ 99% all the time,at this point i have to end the task via task manager to stop this.
I have tried reinstalling and got the same result.


My Spec is as follows

Win2k Pro sp2

Intel PIII 650mhz (retail Boxed)
Abit SE6 Rev 1
384meg ram
1x 21gb IBM hdd
1x 60gb IBM hdd
Guillemot geforce 1 DDR -DVI 3d Prophet
SBLive! 1024
Scsi Teac cdrom
Tdk 12x10x32 cdrw
Direct x 8
Attached Images
File Type: jpg winamp closed---or is it.jpg (86.1 KB, 148 views)
pamfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2001, 02:19   #2
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Bad plug-in, delete any third party plug-ins

My spidey sense tells me gen_mircx
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2001, 12:49   #3
pamfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5
cheers Dude

Sorted it out.


it was in fact gen_mircex.dll


cya



steve
pamfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2001, 13:29   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Sticky: Common "bugs" (please read before posting)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2001, 06:36   #5
bgirl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2
Similar problem

I'm having a similar problem, though I don't have any of the dll's that seem to cause most of the problems.

I've got WinAmp 2.77, Win2K SP2, 512MB RAM, Creative SB PCI 64/128, Dual PIII 450's.

The problem is that every time I pop in a CD, or play an MP3, WinAmp will play about 2 tracks then freeze. When I go to Task Manager to End Task, I get a message that WinAmp is being debugged and to wait for the debugger to finish and click OK to go back to the program. This is not the usual Windows debugger (Dr. whatever the hell it's name is) doesn't open and WinAmp goes into this not open, not closed state. I'm forced to re-boot, but can't even complete a normal re-start because Win2K can't end the task.

This happens every time I use WinAmp. I'd hate to go back to Sonique over something like this...
bgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2001, 19:39   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Not a bug, otherwise Winamp would be pretty useless for everyone. Agreed?

Have you installed any extra 3rd-party plugins?
If so, remove/disable them all, leaving just the default setup.

From TSGH -> Useful Links

RE: How do I remove 3rd-party plug-ins
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=26872
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=26610
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=35601

Troubleshooter Guides:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....827#post275827
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....166#post308166

Basic Uninstall -> Reinstall procedure:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=50818

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

btw, it's Dr. Watson

what's this other debugger?
Is it a component of some Anti-Virus Suite, eg. Norton Utilities / McAfee crap?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2001, 21:22   #7
bgirl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2
Thanks for the quick reply...

I don't run any of those bothersome utilities that try so hard to "help" and all they do is "fix" what wasn't broken so it that doesn't work right and it forces you to go screaming into the night and pull out your credit card to buy more bad software. No, never. Not me. It's Dr. Watson, I had a little brain fart and couldn't remember the name last night.

I don't have any 3rd party WinAmp plug-ins installed. It did this from the get go, from a clean install. I did change the skin to CA-5000, but that's about it. I've got a lame SB sound card, but I haven't updated any drivers since installing WinAmp, so I'm kinda at a loss.

So what happens is I play a couple of songs and any time I either a) let it play through a list, or b) try to switch songs, WinAmp will crash/freeze. Dr. Watson doesn't open like it usually does when an NT app crashes. I try to end task, but get an error message that says the program is being debugged, wait for the debug to finish, only option is to click OK. The Dr. Watson process isn't even running. So it all gets caught in this loop. Whatever WinAmp was trying to do it can't, and whatever Windows is trying to do to debug/close the program it can't. I can't even shut down Windows properly after that, I've got to do a hard re-boot.

I've gone through the message boards and bug reports, searched for the problem .dlls (sabotage, etc.), but can't find any of those little pests on my system. If only it were that easy.

Is this a feature?
bgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2001, 17:08   #8
DreamlandBlues
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to DreamlandBlues
Count me in with having similar problems.

My 2.77 Full install under Win2K Server (sp2) with no plug-ins croaks 'randomly'. I'm using the NULL output plug-in 'cause there is a brain-dead sound card in this machine and I'm only using it for originating a stream.

in Boston
DreamlandBlues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2001, 19:24   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Quote:
Originally posted by DJEgg
Basic Uninstall -> Reinstall procedure:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=50818
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump