Old 27th February 2012, 11:15   #1
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
You might want to hold up your windows 7

My laptop just did a massive windows service pack update. It fried. I went back to the restore point. I stopped the update on my desktop machine.

Err... I think it's one of those deals where you might want to hold your windows update off for a week or so. Wait for the next couple patches........
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2012, 11:34   #2
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
^ o.o
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2012, 13:16   #3
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
No sign of any massive update here, just the usual NET framework 4, is this a machine you haven't touched in a long time perhaps.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2012, 17:31   #4
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
No I use the machine every day and I'm a bit confused about this. It reports as Windows 7 SP2?. It also crashes a lot. My other windows 7 machine doesn't seem to have the patch in the pending list I stopped. I didn't think the next service pack was due till May.

Hmm....
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2012, 18:21   #5
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,082
I just checked. Indeed, there's no SP2 yet.

That's exactly why I hate how the fact that you don't get an installation DVD anymore. Restore points and recoveries usually don't work like you'd expect and if your harddrive fails on a bad day, then there's no way to re-install your OS. What do people do? grab the Ultimate version from 'somewhere' online.

/ in before the Linux vs Windows debate

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2012, 22:40   #6
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Sounds like a virus situation to me...
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2012, 16:19   #7
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
agreed

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2012, 17:10   #8
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Yeah. That's what I was thinking too. No evidence of that though.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2012, 09:27   #9
maxepotter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
If you cannot boot into normal Windows mode or cannot troubleshoot because of errors in normal mode boot into Safe Mode. Windows Safe Mode bypasses startup programs and drivers that are not required for Windows to load and will allow you to fix Windows problems.
maxepotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2012, 17:43   #10
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
Sometimes even a boot int safe mode flops.

I recently installed XP SP3 on a very old laptop. Rebooted, installed standard stuff (Office, what ever). Rebooted. Windows wanted to update. Sure sure. Rebooted. BSOD. Eh? Rebooted. BSOD. Reboot. Safe mode. BSOD. Eh? Reboot. Safe mode. BSOD.

Wipe hard drive again. Install XP SP3, turn off updates. Install software. Yea!

Maybe something was actually going on. This happened to me around the same time this thread was posted.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2012, 18:11   #11
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Oddly I've just had a machine freak out on me for no good reason a day or so back at work, locked into an eternal boot loop, with no amount of repair disks fixing it, luckily it did drop into safe mode and a restore point did resurrect it.

Probably coincidence as I have 4 other identical machines With exactly the same multi users set up on them, they are behaving as expected.

Doubt it's a sp issue for us however, our it department don't fuckin deploy them! They live in hope that virus definitions are enough, but just in case they provide us with portable Linux drives to run avast on shoud we need to isolate and clean an individual drive.... Yes our main corpate virus scanner is synaptics crap that has more holes in it than enough....huff said
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2012, 19:06   #12
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
I backed off to the restore point before the upgrade. The machine was completely unstable after the patch. Now it's glitchy. I have scanned it a couple different ways for viruses.

This is the factory windows install on a 3 year old machine. Maybe it's just due for a wipe. That or I've got some kind of a hardware problem coincidence going. Whatever happened to this machine (including the weird update behavior) seems to not be happening on my other windows 7 box.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2012, 22:22   #13
NJK
The Frisian
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,999
me still is using XP on most of my systems.
Only two Vista computers and only WIndows 7 on the virtual box ( with mac OS/ linux and others)

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2012, 13:48   #14
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,436
I just stol.....errr, acquired a copy of Windows 7 and it seems like I get a ton of lag with it.
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2012, 17:23   #15
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
It's probably the damn flash player. Adobe has a special uninstaller. R&I flash with the special uninstaller. You might also R&I Silverlight if you have that on there. You might just want to leave flash plugins uninstalled and use Chrome. It has the flash player built in, which seems to be less of a problem.

I don't know if this is your problem, but I've had the problem before and this solved it.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump