Old 19th January 2004, 09:00   #1
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Skin and Plugin Database Support

SKIN AND PLUGIN DATABASE SUPPORT THREAD


Are you having difficulties uploading your skin or plugin, does your skin or plugin disappear from your list, then this is were you can tell us about it and we'll see if we can help.

Before you go post however, please take a moment to give us some information, the more information you can give us, the quicker we can help you.

The main thing we need from you is a Component ID number (CID) or exact name, without this we can't do much to help you, user names mean nothing, CID or exact names is what we need.

If you don't know what your CID is, look at the component in your user developer area, wave the cursor over the edit link, look in your browser status bar, make a note of the 6-digit number. If that still doesn’t make sense, look at this screenshot.
If your component is not in your list, we need the name exactly as you have it submitted.

You might also want to take five minutes to read over the submission policy of this site, 99 times out of a 100, the reason your skin has been rejected/removed will be listed in there, go on, give it a read.

So, if you have your CID and you've read the FAQ, then feel free to post away.

If none of this is clear, then feel free to press this link...

PM wally



ALL NON DATABASE RELATED POSTS IN THIS THREAD WILL BE DELETED
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 19th January 2004, 09:49   #2
EL-VIS2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 73
El-vis X Cyberpunx

http://www.winamp.com/plugins/details.php?id=106227

I edited this plugin with new images and a new exe-file but the only thing that has changed is my comment - the exe and the images are still the ones of the version before!
EL-VIS2 is offline  
Old 19th January 2004, 09:57   #3
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Yes, this is a known problem with updates to skins/plugins.

When updated, the database does not take your exe, wsz or wal files or your screenshots.
Please give it a couple of weeks and try again.

This is not a problem with new submission, however, so do submit new skins and plugins.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 19th January 2004, 10:13   #4
mrym
Senior Member
 
mrym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: tokyo
Posts: 438
The same problem as EL-VIS2.
Download counts were reset to zero.
So should I delete old skins and resubmit?
mrym is offline  
Old 19th January 2004, 10:18   #5
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
No, wait a couple of weeks if they need updating.
If you make new submissions, that's exactly it, new.
New name, new comments (none), new download count (zero).
Have patience and all the problems will be fixed.

Sorry about the download count you lost, I lost mine also.
They were over one million downloads, so not exactly a small thing,
but I can live with it.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 19th January 2004, 10:47   #6
mrym
Senior Member
 
mrym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: tokyo
Posts: 438
Quote:
I lost mine also.
They were over one million downloads, so not exactly a small thing,
but I can live with it.
They were thousands that I lost. This is not big deal.
I'm sorry for your lost.
mrym is offline  
Old 19th January 2004, 19:34   #7
Niver
Junior Member
 
Niver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Niver Send a message via MSN to Niver Send a message via Yahoo to Niver
I got the same problem with mine [id: 79319]. Do you think we'll be able to get our download count back to what it was before?

And now I'm receiving emails from people telling that my new version doesn't do what's written in the comments on the website... Is it possible to suspend a plugin without removing it, until Winamp.com's database problems are fixed?

Thanks.

Winamp Advanced Controls, the ultimate tray plugin!

Last edited by Niver; 19th January 2004 at 19:55.
Niver is offline  
Old 19th January 2004, 22:24   #8
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
I've given it a try, not sure about the results.
You might have to resubmit the old description for the time being.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 19th January 2004, 23:27   #9
Niver
Junior Member
 
Niver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Niver Send a message via MSN to Niver Send a message via Yahoo to Niver
Thanks for trying.
My plugin is now simply not there anymore, in my control panel. Are you sure you didn't completely deleted it?

Winamp Advanced Controls, the ultimate tray plugin!
Niver is offline  
Old 20th January 2004, 00:07   #10
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Still seems to be there, but I'll keep a record of the number just in case.
http://www.winamp.com/plugins/details.php?id=79319
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 20th January 2004, 00:10   #11
Niver
Junior Member
 
Niver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Niver Send a message via MSN to Niver Send a message via Yahoo to Niver
Thanks. However, now I can't change the description as you suggested before. (Leave it as is, if people can't find it they won't complain about inaccuracy...!)

Winamp Advanced Controls, the ultimate tray plugin!
Niver is offline  
Old 20th January 2004, 00:41   #12
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
In light of all this, updates to skins and plugins will not be published for the time being until the problems with the database are fixed.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 20th January 2004, 00:46   #13
Niver
Junior Member
 
Niver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Niver Send a message via MSN to Niver Send a message via Yahoo to Niver
I don't know if it's possible, but it should be useful to show this clearly in the "My Profile" section, or at least in the Edit page. People won't search in the forum before trying...

Winamp Advanced Controls, the ultimate tray plugin!
Niver is offline  
Old 21st January 2004, 12:46   #14
[ Martin ]
Junior Member
 
[ Martin ]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 37
After editing a published language pack (I would change the thumbnail) I get some script errors above the page. The language pack is still published but after editing my profile the page says it is unpublished now. When it is published again the thumbnail isn't changed. So there are some errors with changing published plug-ins.

And I can't edit my homepage address in my profile. When I fill in my homepage address and push the submit button I get a screen that my profile is successful updated. But if I click on edit profile for the second time the homepage address field is still empty. Is this a bug too?


BTW: these are the errors I get after editing a published or unpublished plug-in:

Warning: move_uploaded_file(/customize/component/2004/1/17/P/resubmitted.Winamp_5-01_dutch.exe) [function.move-uploaded-file]: failed to create stream: No such file or directory in /home/wagamma/site/docs/inc/components/component.inc on line 282

Warning: move_uploaded_file() [function.move-uploaded-file]: Unable to move '/tmp/phpaPRGWz' to '/customize/component/2004/1/17/P/resubmitted.Winamp_5-01_dutch.exe' in /home/wagamma/site/docs/inc/components/component.inc on line 282

Warning: move_uploaded_file(/customize/component/2004/1/17/P/small_image/resubmitted.Winamp_5-01_dutch.jpg) [function.move-uploaded-file]: failed to create stream: No such file or directory in /home/wagamma/site/docs/inc/components/component.inc on line 286

Warning: move_uploaded_file() [function.move-uploaded-file]: Unable to move '/tmp/phpirqYS7' to '/customize/component/2004/1/17/P/small_image/resubmitted.Winamp_5-01_dutch.jpg' in /home/wagamma/site/docs/inc/components/component.inc on line 286

Warning: move_uploaded_file(/customize/component/2004/1/17/P/large_image/resubmitted.Winamp_5-01_dutch.jpg) [function.move-uploaded-file]: failed to create stream: No such file or directory in /home/wagamma/site/docs/inc/components/component.inc on line 288

Warning: move_uploaded_file() [function.move-uploaded-file]: Unable to move '/tmp/phpUqt3KG' to '/customize/component/2004/1/17/P/large_image/resubmitted.Winamp_5-01_dutch.jpg' in /home/wagamma/site/docs/inc/components/component.inc on line 288
[ Martin ] is offline  
Old 21st January 2004, 13:11   #15
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Quote:
Originally posted by wildrose-wally
Yes, this is a know problem with updates to skins/plugins.

When updated, the database does not take your exe, wsz or wal files or your screenshots.
Please give it a couple of weeks and try again.

This is not a problem with new submission, however, so do submit new skins and plugins.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 23rd January 2004, 05:11   #16
dochni
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Hi all

I submitted a new version of my plugin (now for Winamp 5) in the middle of December 2003. Now it is still unpublished. I just wanted to ask if there's was a problem or if the plugin has been submitted successfully. ID is 138321.

Thanks in Advance

Dochni
dochni is offline  
Old 23rd January 2004, 09:11   #17
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Plugins are reviewed by someone from admin, and so far they have not got back to them. Have patience they will.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 28th January 2004, 09:18   #18
[ Martin ]
Junior Member
 
[ Martin ]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 37
Quote:
This is not a problem with new submission, however, so do submit new skins and plugins.
I have submit my language pack (dutch languagepack for Winamp 5.01) again so I can updated it later (without errors). When this new submission is published I delete the old one wich I can't updated without getting errors.
[ Martin ] is offline  
Old 7th February 2004, 02:26   #19
Niver
Junior Member
 
Niver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Niver Send a message via MSN to Niver Send a message via Yahoo to Niver
Any news on the database status? An ETA of the fix? Something?
Thanks!

Winamp Advanced Controls, the ultimate tray plugin!
Niver is offline  
Old 7th February 2004, 16:27   #20
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Database works, review system does not, not fully satisfactory that is.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 16th February 2004, 09:12   #21
crazy_dj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
hi to everybody!
ok i know there are many problems in plup-ins but there are very good things.
i prefer to install them then leave winamp as he is in the normal mode!
crazy_dj is offline  
Old 16th February 2004, 09:17   #22
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
And that means what exactly?
Mr Jones is offline  
Old 16th February 2004, 10:29   #23
crazy_dj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
that i love more plug-ins in winamp then the normal mode after you install it!
the plug-ins makes winamp more beautiful then other programs.
crazy_dj is offline  
Old 16th February 2004, 10:44   #24
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
I don't doubt it, but that comment serves no purpose in this thread, as it's sole purpose is to report bugs and errors in the skin/plugin database, not for you to tell us how you love plugins.

If you have nothing relevant to add, i.e. bugs in the database, please do not post in this thread again, you are only causing more work for the already unpaid reviewers who have to check this thread each time they see a new post in it.
Mr Jones is offline  
Old 16th February 2004, 10:50   #25
crazy_dj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
ok so i am very soryy.
i hope to see you in another forum.
i just wanted to be a friend of this community. that's all.
crazy_dj is offline  
Old 24th February 2004, 02:44   #26
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Database Update:

This might seem a quirky thing, but when you update your skin or plugin, you might find you have trouble uploading the component and/or the screenshots.

I have discovered if you fill in both categories, even if it is with the same thing (like put it in AVS presets twice), it does work. Give it a try.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 24th February 2004, 04:30   #27
mrym
Senior Member
 
mrym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: tokyo
Posts: 438
Good news.
Thanks to all guys for fight against the database problems.

By the way, how about download count?
Is it still reset to zero when we update skin or plug-in?
mrym is offline  
Old 24th February 2004, 04:34   #28
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
No, that has been fixed, download count stays.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 9th March 2004, 21:26   #29
Niver
Junior Member
 
Niver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to Niver Send a message via MSN to Niver Send a message via Yahoo to Niver
Wildrose-wally, can you restore my plugin? See http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....30#post1247630 (10th post on this thread).

Thanks!

Winamp Advanced Controls, the ultimate tray plugin!
Niver is offline  
Old 12th March 2004, 22:13   #30
Yason
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Belarus
Posts: 2
Hello!

Well, I can't find my QuickSearch plugin [CID=133865] neither by search nor by direct link (http://classic.winamp.com/plugins/de...onentId=133865), nor in my profile details.
However, when I tried to re-submit new version, I've got the message "A Component exists with that name please choose another".

Hey, please fix this somehow - make existing plugin accessible, or delete it at all so I can publish a newer version.
Yason is offline  
Old 13th March 2004, 01:01   #31
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Re-published. Let me now if it shows up in your list tommorrow.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 13th March 2004, 10:22   #32
Yason
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Belarus
Posts: 2
Thanks for quick response! Everything works fine now.
Yason is offline  
Old 15th April 2004, 07:44   #33
Th!js
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Hey
When I download the skin: MMD3
It doesn't appear on winamp
I've got Winamp 5.2 and on 5.3 he didn't do it either

Greetz Thijs
Th!js is offline  
Old 15th April 2004, 10:53   #34
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Try installing the full version of winamp, sounds to me like you installed the lite version, only FULL supports modern skins.
http://download.nullsoft.com/winamp/...mp503_full.exe
Mr Jones is offline  
Old 17th April 2004, 03:31   #35
lOw_EnD_g0D
Junior Member
 
lOw_EnD_g0D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1
No modern skins will install for me either. I am using the full pro version. Am I doing something wrong or are there some sort of settings I need to check?

i do have v5.3 btw also...
lOw_EnD_g0D is offline  
Old 17th April 2004, 03:40   #36
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
You'll have to go to tech suppert. This thread is for data-base problems, installing a skin is not a data-base problem.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 29th April 2004, 21:34   #37
cartofgras
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Romania
Posts: 8
Hello,
I have this problem...
So my CID is 138768, the plugin is a scheduler for winamp 2.x and it does not get published... The scheduler did get published in jan or feb, i don't remember.Since then i updated it to a newer version, this time it did not get published. it's been waiting for approval since march. if it was rejected i do not know 'cause i did not get any e-mails telling me it was so. could you help me straighten things up, please ?
cartofgras is offline  
Old 2nd May 2004, 23:56   #38
starship50
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: outer space
Posts: 17
every time i download a skin it says access denied. what's the problem.
starship50 is offline  
Old 3rd May 2004, 00:14   #39
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
I don't know, but I'm quite sure that's not a database problem.

Do you have admin rights on your computer?
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
Old 26th June 2004, 22:51   #40
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
Due to the overwhelming demand for this thread, I propose to remove the scotch tape.
Wildrose-Wally is offline  
 
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Skin and Plug-in Rip Reporting for Removal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump