Old 26th January 2006, 14:24   #1
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 7,999
I cant say Fire - Fox as one word.

Why?

Because the IT department has decided to blacklist it.

WHY?!

And they have blacklisted the exe! (Well current version, going to see if I've got a legacy version still.) So I'm currently running Opera, wich is better than IE but dose not realy do what I need.

Ignorant and Arogant bastards, just because they are incompitent they block legitimate programs.


Should be in the bitch list I guess... ..but I just wanted people to sujest other Browsers to fall back on once they block Opera.

I know they run a keyloger on thease computers, so I know they will block it soon enough.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 14:27   #2
MStar
Major Dude
 
MStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hardcore Heaven
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via ICQ to MStar Send a message via AIM to MStar Send a message via Yahoo to MStar
Can't you rename the firefox exe?

MStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 14:30   #3
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 7,999
That worked the first two times... ..now there blocking the exe all together.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 14:32   #4
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Why would they block Firefox?. Uniformity or a problem with it?.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 14:43   #5
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
I renamed it to firefox.com and it still loaded.

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 15:27   #6
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
Download Flock, it's based on Firefox and is pretty swish.

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 15:54   #7
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
where the hell are you VIE....and why?

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 16:07   #8
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,436
I cant say Fire - Fox as one word.

Thank you for spelling it right, Vie
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 16:25   #9
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
My company filters on the user agent of the browser so that only IE is allowed. I got round that one in about 5 minutes so I could continue using Mozilla.

I can't download any exe files so I brought in my external HDD ¬_¬

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 16:29   #10
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
My company doesn't filter anything, my workstation is my own responsibility. Hurrah!

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 16:33   #11
Mattress
Forum King
 
Mattress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 4,577
Quote:
Originally posted by zootm
My company doesn't filter anything, my workstation is my own responsibility. Hurrah!
Mattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 16:49   #12
Mrs_Mia_Wallace
has a crush on Bilbo
(Forum Queen)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Switzerland Posts: The starting points at a racetrack.
Posts: 3,060
I don't work. Hurrah!

Mia
Mrs_Mia_Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 17:03   #13
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
My company filters on the user agent of the browser so that only IE is allowed. I got round that one in about 5 minutes so I could continue using Mozilla.

I can't download any exe files so I brought in my external HDD ¬_¬
Lemme guess: ranamed mozilla to iexplorer.exe?

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 18:33   #14
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
We use FireFox at work......

user agent changer?

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 18:41   #15
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
Quote:
Originally posted by SSJ4 Gogitta
Lemme guess: ranamed mozilla to iexplorer.exe?
Nope.

Create a config of general.useragent.override and then set it to the IE user agent string.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 18:43   #16
SSJ4 Gogitta
Followed by Gnomes
(Forum King)
 
SSJ4 Gogitta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: West Virginia Googolplex: 10^10¹°° FB:/SSJ4.DominusDeus DeviantArt: DominusDeus XboX GT: A Wild Meeseeks Playstation 4: DominusDeus
Posts: 7,161
Send a message via AIM to SSJ4 Gogitta
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
Nope.

Create a config of general.useragent.override and then set it to the IE user agent string.
Ah, cool.

I have no idea what you just said.

SSJ4 Gogitta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 19:25   #17
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
Nope.

Create a config of general.useragent.override and then set it to the IE user agent string.

THAT is why i like Firefox:customization

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 19:50   #18
xzxzzx
Forum King
 
xzxzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,254
Quote:
Originally posted by dlichterman
THAT is why i like Firefox:customization
You mean... as opposed to IE?

Freedom of speech is the basic freedom of humanity. When you've lost that, you've lost everything.
1\/\/4y 34|<$p4y 1gp4y 33714y, 0d4y 0uy4y? | Roses are #FF0000; Violets are #0000FF; chown -R ${YOU} ~/base
The DMCA. It really is that bad. : Count for your life.
xzxzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2006, 20:12   #19
ScorLibran
Resident Floydian
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,222
I'd quit that job just for imposing the use of a keylogger. Those things are resource hogs and security risks. Think about if someone broke into your company's network and copied a key log file...now they have that user's password. In fact, depending on what your company does, it may be breaking federal legislation to use a keylogger there for that very reason. (Graham-Leech-Bliley, Sarbanes-Oxley, etc.)

I'd never make, or even let, anyone in my IT department use a keylogger. If the managers under me have a problem with their people abusing internet access, they need to be better managers. Only a gestapo-like organization feels the need to use keyloggers to monitor their employees...there are better ways to do it.

In my opinion, some personal internet use at work is OK, as long as the employees don't (a) violate any laws, or (b) impact network or intranet/internet performance. It falls into the same theme for personal use of work phones. Everyone does it, and it's fine as long as they don't abuse it.

Give me your IT director's name, Vie. I'll set him/her straight. (Or at least I'll know not to hire them if they ever apply to work for me.)

I'm a psychosomatic sister running around without a leash.
ScorLibran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2006, 09:33   #20
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 7,999
The IT people seem to be roughly in the know actualy, now I've looked around. It seems that it was somthing to do with there service contract with dell, though thats just based on rumour.

Oh well, Opera still works... ..I'ed prefer Firefox, but Opera works.

I'm at Colledge, wich I have said at least 4 times before now.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2006, 14:49   #21
ScorLibran
Resident Floydian
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,222
There's no service contract with a system provider that says what software a company can or cannot run internally, as long as it's all properly licensed. It wouldn't be enforceable.

It's entirely the decision of your infrastructure manager or IT director. And they'll have their reasons, of course.

I still think their imposition of keylogger is insane, though.

I'm a psychosomatic sister running around without a leash.
ScorLibran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2006, 15:03   #22
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
At big companies a uniform OS and utilities is pretty normal. Most places have rules against running anything on company computers at all.

I've even seen people get in trouble for installing freecell.

I could see the advantage to such a policy if I was the IT manager. Keeping everyone up and running would be easier if you had uniform software packages. Especially if you were trying to maintain some security.

Look what happened when some government employees did something harmless like playing a CD at work?. Just happening to be one of the Sony rootkit ones...
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2006, 15:13   #23
ScorLibran
Resident Floydian
 
ScorLibran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,222
Quote:
Originally posted by rockouthippie
I could see the advantage to such a policy if I was the IT manager. Keeping everyone up and running would be easier if you had uniform software packages. Especially if you were trying to maintain some security.
Indeed. But in my recent experience, this approach is being outdated and outmoded. Executive management is realizing two things: (1) they'll never have 100% security, and (2) there's a delicate line between strict policies and employee morale. This is why more company execs are leaving those guidelines in their employee manuals, but we're not enforcing them with the strictness we used to. Because even if we used a level of covert observation that would shame the CIA, we'd still get hit with security breaches every now and then. Something always gets through. And it's not worth making your employees endure that kind of environment, especially since they won't...the grass will be greener at another company, so they'll go to it.


edit:
The bottom line is this: Employees are a company's number one asset. Period. Without its employees nothing else in a company matters, and nothing else holds a higher priority. Ever.

Any company that thinks otherwise isn't long for failure. The good ones are treating their employees like they are the number one asset. And because their grass is greener than companies not doing that......well, you know what happens then.

I'm a psychosomatic sister running around without a leash.
ScorLibran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2006, 03:22   #24
ShyShy
Amazon Bush Woman
Forum Queen
 
ShyShy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Sticks, Queensland
Posts: 8,067
My work computer is being run on Windows '98

There are only mayber 5 computers out of 20 that have XP
ShyShy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump