Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th January 2003, 01:59   #1
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
Winamp likes to shut down... SAM 1.3 likes to bring it back up.... help!

Hey everyone,

This may have been asked before, but why would Winamp 2.81 like to shut down after a song ends? Repeat and Shuffle are on in Winamp, as well as in SAM 1.3

I shut down my DSP Stacker and the DSP Crossfader. Only Shoutcast DSP 1.8.0 is runing.

Anyone ever had this happen?

Oh yeah, when I turned off SAM to restart it a few seconds ago, I got a error message from SAM.

I installed the WAUpdate and ran it.. .No go. Still problems.

Winamp always runs Null.

Windows XP Pro, Chaintech Motherboard, Athlon 1200, 324mb ram.

Thanks,
Chris
Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 03:10   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
SAM? What is this?

Not sure what's going on here, or what the hell this is all about,
but more than likely the problem is being caused by a dodgy 3rd-party plugin.

[edit]
wow, someone (not me) moved this from WA2 TS to Shoutcast TS
while I was in the middle of typing my reply. Far out!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 03:41   #3
Chris @ RCN
Senior Member
 
Chris @ RCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Rochester, MN US
Posts: 280
1) SAM is a program that helps automate a shoutcast

2) SAM ain't no plug-in

3) It feels more like a Winamp problem because it will also lock-up/freeze/freak out as well.

4) Problems were non-existant until 2 months ago. Been running the same setup for over a year.

Chris
Chris @ RCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 06:55   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Okay, so no-one else has offered any contributions...
so I'll give it another shot.

Could you please provide a link/url for this SAM thing so at least I can do a bit of research on it? Pardon my ignorance, but I've honestly never heard of it before. Then again, I'm no Shoutcast expert either.

What is the exact error message?

What is your soundcard?
Hmm, "Winamp always runs Null"
Therefore soundcard/drivers are probably irrelevant if you're using Shoutcast Null Output.

How many streams are you running? What bitrates?
Are you using Encoder 1 in Shoutcast DSP? If so, don't!
(or has this bug been fixed yet, Tom/Sawg/anyone?)

"I shut down my DSP Stacker and the DSP Crossfader"
And you've removed/disabled ALL other 3rd-party plugins? (if any)

What other programs/processes are concurrently running?

Ran Chkdsk (thorough scan) / Ad-Aware / VirusScan / Defrag recently?

Can't think of much else for now . . .
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 08:41   #5
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
Quote:
Originally posted by DJEgg
Could you please provide a link/url for this SAM thing so at least I can do a bit of research on it? Pardon my ignorance, but I've honestly never heard of it before. Then again, I'm no Shoutcast expert either.
http://www.spacialaudio.com/
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 10:41   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Ok then, the plot thickens...
so what's this then if it isn't a WA plugin?
http://www.spacialaudio.com/products/winamp/index.html

btw, I have visited that site a few times before, a couple of years ago.
Thought it looked/sounded familiar, heyhey.
Looks like they've come a long way since then . . .
I've downloaded SAM2 and I'll check it out later today

Chris, have you tried contacting SAM Support?
http://www.spacialaudio.com/support/index.html
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 17:46   #7
DJ AmPs
Major Dude
 
DJ AmPs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: g
Posts: 1,603
the output 1 bug (among many others) has not been fixed. at least someone addressed it =).

you may want to go into the plugins folde and delete all the unused dll's. sometimes these things manage to stay loaded even when your not using them.

another hint... completely de-install and install winamp again. this saves you from deleting some crutial dll =). and none of the stuff from spacial audio is as stable as winamp alone. basically use at your own risk.

-amps
DJ AmPs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump